The research in brief
NASB is a good, but not clearly best, fit for a self-employed buyer whose tax write-offs suppress documented income but whose bank deposits show consistent cash flow. Four of the seven platforms in this study named NASB during the ranking stage, and those four split between "strong" and "good" fit ratings. The strongest reason to consider NASB is its dedicated, in-house Bank Statement Loan program, which uses 12 or 24 months of personal or business bank statements instead of tax returns and advertises down payments as low as 10% in qualifying cases. The main limitation is that NASB publishes no standard rate, rate premium, APR, expense factor, reserve formula, or complete fee schedule, so every cost figure must be quoted for your specific file.
Research Snapshot
| Field | Finding |
|---|---|
| Platform mentions in ranking stage | 4 of 7 platforms (Claude, Gemini, ChatGPT, Perplexity) |
| Share of included platform responses | 57.1% |
| Average listed rank | 4.25 |
| Best listed rank | 1 (Perplexity) |
| Mortgage offering | NASB Bank Statement Loan for self-employed borrowers |
| Overall use-case fit | Good, with material scenario-specific uncertainty |
| Research date | 2026-09-29 |
Why NASB Qualified for This Study
Questions explored
- Why did NASB qualify for this self-employed bank statement loan study when only 4 of 7 platforms named it?
- Is NASB a legitimate bank statement lender, or was its inclusion based on an unverified domain match?
NASB qualified because it cleared the study's minimum-mention threshold and because its own published materials describe a dedicated bank statement program rather than a generic non-QM offering. Four platforms named NASB during ranking discovery: Claude, Gemini, ChatGPT, and Perplexity. The remaining three platforms (DeepSeek, Grok, and Kimi) still produced full fit evaluations, but platform_mentions counts only platforms that named the entity during ranking discovery, so they are excluded from the mention count.
The qualification process was not clean. The deterministic identity audit reports that official-site retrieval failed for one or more mentions, that identity was resolved through an exact-name fallback, and that the matching reported domain was retained downstream but remains unverified. A direct fetch of [3] timed out during the audit and returned a "not_checked" verification status. Buyers should treat NASB's legal entity identity and official domain as items to confirm in application disclosures and through NMLS Consumer Access rather than as settled facts [26].
The mortgage offering in focus
Questions explored
- Which NASB product should a self-employed buyer with heavy tax write-offs ask about first?
- Does the NASB Bank Statement Loan require tax returns, and how many months of statements does it accept?
The relevant product is the NASB Bank Statement Loan for self-employed borrowers. NASB describes it as a non-QM mortgage that qualifies borrowers using personal or business bank statements instead of tax returns or W-2s, and it markets the program directly to business owners, freelancers, and 1099 contractors whose deductions reduce taxable income below what their deposits demonstrate [19].
Documentation is generally 12 consecutive months of statements from the same account, with 12- and 24-month options referenced across NASB pages [19]. NASB also lists a separate P&L Mortgage using a CPA-prepared profit-and-loss statement, which may fit better when deposits are inconsistent but CPA-prepared financials are strong [17]. A separate 1099 Mortgage Loan program exists and requires 20% down [5].
What the AI Platforms Agreed About
Questions explored
- What do AI platforms agree NASB offers self-employed borrowers who cannot qualify on tax returns?
- Is NASB's bank statement program available nationwide, and which markets are excluded?
Agreement was strong on program existence and structure, and mixed on overall fit. Four platforms (ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity) independently described a dedicated NASB bank statement program with published parameters, and Grok did as well. The recurring, cross-platform agreed points are:
- Bank statements replace tax returns or W-2s for qualification [19].
- 12 consecutive months from the same account is the baseline, with 24-month options referenced [19].
- Minimum 700 credit score [17].
- Maximum 50% debt-to-income ratio [17].
- Down payment as low as 10% with approved mortgage insurance, up to 90% LTV [17].
- No prepayment penalty on the bank statement loan [19].
- Geographic exclusions covering New York State, the Chicago metropolitan area, and the Baltimore metropolitan area [17].
- In-house underwriting and processing rather than brokering [17].
Fit ratings were not unanimous: Claude and Grok rated NASB "strong," while ChatGPT, Gemini, and Perplexity rated it "good," and DeepSeek and Kimi rated it "uncertain." Agreement among platforms does not establish product quality; it establishes that multiple independent research passes converged on the same published program description.
Where the AI Platforms Disagreed or Were Uncertain
Questions explored
- Why do some AI platforms rate NASB as uncertain for bank statement loans while others rate it strong?
- Does NASB accept a CPA letter as standalone income documentation for a self-employed bank statement loan?
The sharpest disagreement is whether NASB's program is verifiable at all. Deepseek and Kimi both rated NASB "uncertain," reporting that no NASB-specific bank statement program terms could be confirmed in the sources they reviewed, and Kimi stated that no dedicated bank statement product page, program guidelines, or pricing details were found [3]. That conflicts directly with ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity, and Grok, which all cited NASB-owned pages describing the program in detail. The most likely explanation is retrieval failure rather than program absence, but the conflict is unresolved in the supplied evidence and buyers should not treat either position as settled.
Other unresolved items:
- Minimum loan amount. NASB pages state $200,000 in most places, but $175,000 appears on one landing page and $170,000–$175,000 is cited in some product pages, with exceptions noted for the Kansas City metro [17].
- Credit score floor. Most sources say 700, but one NASB landing page states a 680 minimum [13].
- Maximum DTI. Listed as 50% in most materials and 45% in others [17].
- CPA letter treatment. NASB says a business license or CPA letter may be requested to verify business activity, and that a CPA-verified expense factor may be used, but the public pages do not establish whether a CPA letter can substitute for bank statements, what credentials are required, or how much it changes qualifying income [19].
- Expense factor methodology. The standard expense factor percentage is not publicly disclosed and may vary by industry or business type [17].
- Mortgage insurance cost. Required for 700–740 FICO at 10% down, but the premium amount is not published [19].
- Gift funds. Older NASB documentation from 2020 disallowed gift funds for down payment; whether that restriction persists under current guidelines is unclear [6].
Mortgage features for this borrowing need
Questions explored
- What credit score, down payment, and loan amount does NASB require for a self-employed bank statement loan?
- Can a self-employed borrower use business bank statements instead of personal statements to qualify with NASB?
NASB's published baseline for the bank statement program is a 700 minimum credit score, 50% maximum DTI, 10% down with approved mortgage insurance, up to 90% LTV, a $200,000 minimum loan amount, and a $1,250,000 maximum [17]. Borrowers may use personal or business bank statements, but not both [19]. Tax and insurance escrow is required [19].
Self-employment history is a minimum of two years, with a possible one-year exception when the borrower previously worked in the same line of business [17]. Investment properties require a 20% minimum down payment [17]. At 740+ FICO, NASB materials indicate 10% down may be available without mortgage insurance, subject to conditions including no prior bankruptcy and a 12-month housing history [21].
Income is calculated by averaging deposits over 12 or 24 months and applying an expense factor, either standard or CPA-verified [4]. NASB also offers a 1099 Mortgage Loan that considers 100% of 1099 income without an expense factor reduction, but that program requires 20% down [19].
Rates, fees, and ongoing costs
Questions explored
- How much does a NASB bank statement loan cost per month, and what rate premium applies over a conventional mortgage?
- Does the NASB Bank Statement Loan have a prepayment penalty or cancellation fee?
NASB does not publish a standard bank statement interest rate, rate premium, APR, points, or complete fee schedule on the reviewed pages. Pricing confidence is low across every platform that examined it [16]. NASB states only that bank statement rates are usually higher than conventional mortgage rates and are priced using credit, LTV, reserves, documentation type, property type, and occupancy [16].
Known cost elements:
- Down payment: as low as 10% with approved mortgage insurance [17].
- Mortgage insurance: required for 700–740 FICO at 10% down; premium amount not disclosed [19].
- Escrow: taxes and insurance must be escrowed [19].
- Origination costs: one independent review cites 2023 HMDA data showing an average NASB origination charge of $4,092, roughly industry average for conventional loans; non-QM costs may differ and the figure may not reflect current pricing [24].
- Prepayment penalty: NASB states the Bank Statement Loan has no prepayment penalty [19].
- Rate lock, extension, and cancellation terms: not published; must be reviewed in the Loan Estimate and closing disclosures [19].
For sector context only, one competitor-published source states bank statement loans typically carry a 1.25%–2.00% rate premium over conventional, with well-qualified borrowers around 8.0%–8.5% versus 6.5%–7.0% conventional in the 2026 market [7]. That is non-QM category data, not a NASB quote.
Best Suited For
Questions explored
- Who is the ideal NASB bank statement loan borrower among self-employed business owners?
- Is NASB a good choice for a self-employed buyer who wants a 10% down bank statement loan?
NASB is best suited to self-employed business owners, freelancers, and 1099 borrowers with consistent deposits and low taxable income caused by legitimate business deductions [19]. The profile that fits the published requirements most cleanly is a borrower with at least 700 credit, at least 10% down, two or more years of self-employment history, a loan amount between $200,000 and $1,250,000, and a property outside New York State, the Chicago metro, and the Baltimore metro [17].
It also suits buyers who want a regulated, federally chartered, FDIC-insured bank handling underwriting and processing in-house rather than a brokered or wholesale arrangement [17]. Borrowers who want to optimize qualifying income through a CPA-verified expense factor are a stated target of the program [19].
Probably Not Best Suited For
Questions explored
- Who should not choose NASB for a self-employed bank statement loan?
- What loan amounts and credit scores fall outside NASB's bank statement program?
NASB is probably not the best choice for borrowers who qualify conventionally and prioritize the lowest possible interest rate, since bank statement pricing is described as usually higher than conventional [19]. It is also a poor fit for:
- Borrowers with credit below 700 [17].
- Borrowers with less than 10% down or less than two years of self-employment history without a same-field exception [17].
- Borrowers needing loans below $200,000 or above $1,250,000 [17].
- Borrowers in New York State, the Chicago metropolitan area, or the Baltimore metropolitan area [17].
- Borrowers with inconsistent or declining deposit patterns that make cash-flow analysis unfavorable [17].
- Investment property buyers who cannot meet the 20% minimum down payment [17].
- Borrowers who need confirmed CPA-letter-only qualification, since that pathway is not publicly established [17].
When Another Option May Be Better
Questions explored
- What is a better alternative to NASB for a self-employed buyer who needs a loan under $200,000 or a credit score below 700?
- When should a self-employed buyer choose a different non-QM lender instead of NASB?
Another option may be better in several defined situations. If the buyer can qualify with full tax returns under standard QM underwriting, a conventional lender will almost certainly price lower [19]. If the buyer needs a loan below $200,000, less than 10% down, a credit score below 700, or a property in an excluded market, NASB's published requirements rule it out [17].
If the buyer's deposits are inconsistent but CPA-prepared financials are strong, NASB's own P&L Mortgage may be a better internal alternative [17]. If the buyer wants published, comparable program terms before contacting a lender, several competitors publish explicit guidelines: LendSure cites up to $3.5M and a variable expense factor as low as 10% with no CPA letter required [2]; Lendz Financial cites a 50% standard expense factor reducible to 10% with an accountant letter [9]; Abo Capital publishes up to $20M [1]; Lendmire publishes up to $6M [8]; and Save Financial publishes a 21-day average closing timeline for California bank statement loans [7]. Buyers who want to compare several non-QM lenders on the same scenario should do so before committing [19].
Questions to ask before choosing a lender
Questions explored
- What should a self-employed buyer confirm with NASB before signing a bank statement loan contract?
- Which NASB bank statement loan terms are not published and must be quoted directly?
The following items are not resolved by public NASB materials and should be confirmed in writing before proceeding:
- The exact rate, APR, points, lender credits, and total cash to close for your credit, LTV, property, occupancy, and documentation profile [19].
- Whether NASB will use 12 or 24 months of statements, and which deposits or transfers will be excluded [19].
- The expense factor that will apply, and whether a CPA-verified factor materially improves qualifying income [19].
- Whether a CPA letter is accepted for your file, what wording and credentials are required, and what other business-verification documents are needed [19].
- Minimum reserves after closing and how reserves affect pricing or maximum LTV [19].
- Mortgage insurance availability and cost for your specific loan amount and property [19].
- Whether your property location, property type, occupancy, and loan purpose satisfy current NASB eligibility rules [19].
- Any origination, underwriting, processing, appraisal, broker, rate-lock, or extension fees not shown on the public page [19].
- Whether the final note contains any prepayment, occupancy, balloon, or adjustable-rate provisions [19].
- Whether gift funds are permitted for the down payment under current guidelines [6].
- Whether NASB is the direct lender or a correspondent for your file, and which investor guidelines apply [3].
- How NASB's quote compares with at least two other non-QM lenders using the identical loan scenario [19].
The consensus assessment
NASB is a good, but not clearly best, fit for a self-employed buyer using a bank statement loan. Five of the seven platforms that produced fit evaluations described a dedicated, published NASB bank statement program with consistent core parameters: 12 or 24 months of statements, no tax returns, 700 minimum credit, 50% maximum DTI, 10% down with mortgage insurance, up to 90% LTV, $200,000–$1,250,000 loan amounts, no prepayment penalty, and geographic exclusions in New York, Chicago, and Baltimore. Two platforms rated the program unverifiable and assigned an uncertain fit, a conflict that remains unresolved in the supplied evidence.
The decisive limitation is pricing opacity. NASB publishes no rate, rate premium, APR, expense factor, reserve formula, mortgage insurance cost, or complete fee schedule, and every platform that examined pricing assigned low confidence. A buyer should treat NASB as a credible candidate, obtain a written Loan Estimate, and compare it against at least two competing non-QM lenders on the same scenario before committing. For broader context on how this lender compares with others in the category, see the self-employed bank statement loan consensus index, and for the wider set of home purchase mortgage lenders reviewed in this study, see the category directory.
How This Review Was Produced
This review was produced from seven AI platform research responses collected for the self-employed bank statement loan use case, using the authoritative run research date of 2026-09-29. Each platform independently evaluated NASB's fit and supplied citations. Platform mentions in the ranking stage count only platforms that named NASB during ranking discovery; all seven platforms produced fit evaluations regardless of whether they named the entity. Fit ratings, pricing summaries, and program parameters were taken from the supplied platform outputs and their cited sources. No independent testing, customer experience, or verification was performed at the writer stage. Company-owned citations materially outnumber independent citations in the supplied evidence, and company claims are reported as company claims rather than independently verified facts.
Research limitations
- Platform-reported research dates differ from the authoritative run date: Claude reported 2026-01-20 and DeepSeek reported 2026-02-14, while the remaining platforms and the run date are 2026-09-29. Platform-reported dates are provenance metadata and do not independently prove freshness.
- The deterministic identity audit reports that official-site retrieval failed for one or more mentions, that identity was resolved through an exact-name fallback, and that the matching reported domain was retained but remains unverified. A direct fetch of [3] returned a timeout and a "not_checked" verification status.
- Deepseek ran with search disabled, so its findings reflect model knowledge rather than retrieved evidence and should be treated as platform-reported.
- The supplied URLs were collected from platform responses and were not independently validated at the writer stage.
- Company-owned sources materially outnumber independent sources in the supplied evidence. NASB program parameters are drawn primarily from NASB's own pages.
- Material conflicts remain unresolved: minimum loan amount ($170,000, $175,000, or $200,000), credit score floor (680 or 700), maximum DTI (45% or 50%), CPA letter treatment, expense factor methodology, mortgage insurance cost, and gift fund eligibility.
- No platform published a NASB-specific rate, APR, or complete fee schedule, so all pricing statements are either company descriptions of pricing factors or non-QM sector benchmarks from competitor sources.
- AI-platform agreement on a program description does not establish product quality, approval likelihood, or suitability for any individual borrower.
See the broader Self-Employed Buyers Using Bank Statement Loans consensus index for comparisons across qualified options.
Sources
Company-Owned Sources
- Bank Statement Loans for the Self-Employed | Abo Capital: https://abocapital.com/bank-statement-loans/
- Bank Statement Loans - LendSure Mortgage Corp: https://lendsure.com/specialty-loan-solutions/bank-statement-loans/
- NASB Mortgage / Non-QM lending information (official site: https://nasb.com/
- Bank Statement Loan FAQs: https://nasb.com/learning-center/mortgage/bank-statement-loan-faqs
- Bank Statement Loan for Self-Employed Borrowers: https://nasb.com/learning-center/mortgage/bank-statement-loan-for-self-employed-borrowers
- Bank Statement Loans: https://nasb.com/mortgage-loans/bank-statement-loans
- Bank Statement Loans CA | Self-Employed OK — Save Financial: https://www.iloanca.com/loan-programs/bank-statement/
- Bank Statement Loan | Self-Employed Mortgage | Up to $6M: https://www.lendmire.com/loanoptions/bankstatementloan/
- Mortgage Options and Bank Statements for Self-Employed | Lendz Financial: https://www.lendzfinancial.com/program/bank-statements-loans
- Self-Employed Mortgage Loans Oregon & California | Bank Statement Loans | Lumen Mortgage: https://www.lumenmortgage.com/loans/residential/self-employed
- What is a Bank Statement Loan? | NASB Blog: https://www.nasb.com/blog/detail/what-is-a-bank-statement-loan
- Bank Statement Loans for Small Business Owners: https://www.nasb.com/landing-pages/bank-statement-loan-bing
- Bank Statement Loans for Self-Employed Borrowers | NASB: https://www.nasb.com/landing-pages/bank-statement-loans-for-self-employed-borrowers-adwords-broad
- Bank Statement Mortgage Lender for Self-Employed Borrowers | NASB: https://www.nasb.com/lending/bank-statement-mortgage-lender
- Non-QM Mortgage Rates | Portfolio Loan Rates | NASB: https://www.nasb.com/lending/resources/mortgage-rates
- Non-QM Loan FAQs | Non-Conforming Loan FAQs | NASB Home Loans: https://www.nasb.com/lending/resources/non-qm-loan-faqs
- Bank Statement Loans: https://www.nasb.com/lending/solutions/home-loans/bank-statement-loan
- Texas Bank Statement Loans | Self-Employed Mortgage Loans | NASB: https://www.nasb.com/lending/solutions/home-loans/bank-statement-loan-texas
- Bank Statement Loan FAQs | NASB Non-QM Loan for Small Business Owners: https://www.nasb.com/lending/solutions/home-loans/bank-statement-loan/bank-statement-loan-faqs
- Non-QM loans | Non-Qualified Mortgages: https://www.nasb.com/lending/solutions/non-qm-loans
- Can I Get a Non-QM Loan With 10% Down?: https://www.nasb.com/real-estate-investment-loans/resources/transactions/transactions-detail/can-i-get-a-non-qm-loan-with-10--down
- Self-Employed Mortgage Loans | Bank Statement & 1099 Loans | NASB: https://www.nasb.com/resource-center/tools/solutions-finder/how-to-get-a-home-loan-if-self-employed
Independent Sources
- NASB Mortgage Review 2026 | U.S. News: https://money.usnews.com/loans/mortgages/reviews/nasb-mortgage
- NASB Mortgage Review 2025: https://www.businessinsider.com/personal-finance/mortgages/nasb-mortgage-review
- CFPB: Ability-to-Repay and Qualified Mortgage Rule (non-QM context: https://www.consumerfinance.gov/rules-policy/regulations/1026/
- NMLS Consumer Access (lender licensing and identity lookup: https://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org/