The research in brief
CrossCountry Mortgage is a good fit for an owner-occupant buying a duplex, triplex, or fourplex, with verification required. Six of seven platforms named it during the ranking stage (86% of included platform responses), at an average listed rank of 3.7 and a best rank of 1. Its strongest advantage is breadth of documented program paths: FHA 2-4 unit, conventional Fannie Mae 5% down multifamily, VA, and the CCM ZeroDown second-lien structure [27]. The main limitation is transparency: CrossCountry publishes no borrower-specific pricing, no universal rental-income percentage, and no stated reserve overlays for 2-4 unit loans, so cost and eligibility must be confirmed through a Loan Estimate [10].
Research Snapshot
| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Platform mentions in ranking stage | 6 of 7 platforms (DeepSeek, Gemini, Grok, Kimi, ChatGPT, Perplexity) |
| Share of included platform responses | 86% (6 of 7) |
| Average listed rank | 3.7 |
| Best listed rank | 1 (Gemini, ChatGPT) |
| Mortgage offering | Conventional and FHA owner-occupied 2-4 unit purchase mortgages; Fannie Mae 5% Down Multifamily; FHA 203(b) 2-4 unit; VA 2-4 unit; CCM ZeroDown |
| Overall use-case fit | Strong (1 platform); Good (3 platforms); Mixed (3 platforms) — 7 platforms analyzed |
| Research date | 2026-09-29 |
Why CrossCountry Mortgage Qualified for This Study
Questions explored
- Why did CrossCountry Mortgage qualify as a finalist for owner-occupied multi-unit purchase?
- How many AI platforms named CrossCountry Mortgage for a duplex, triplex, or fourplex purchase?
CrossCountry qualified because six of seven platforms named it during ranking discovery, and because its own public materials describe the exact product category this study covers. CrossCountry states that FHA multi-family purchases cover 2-4 unit homes when the borrower occupies one unit for at least the first year [27]. Its home-style content lists FHA 2-4 Unit and DSCR options for multi-family properties and states that rental income potential can improve qualification [21]. A separate CrossCountry page describes a 5% down Fannie Mae pathway for owner-occupied 2-4 unit properties and discusses FHA self-sufficiency for 3-4 unit purchases [25].
Independent and third-party sources corroborate product existence rather than performance. Bankrate describes CrossCountry as offering low-down-payment government loans and conventional loans requiring as little as 3% down, and reports lending in all U.S. states with more than 700 branch locations [50]. ConsumerAffairs describes it as a full-service lender offering conventional, FHA, USDA, VA, and jumbo loans [51]. Yelp's business listing for a CrossCountry branch states its products include multifamily and mixed-use mortgages [61].
Ranking placement varied widely. Google and OpenAI listed CrossCountry at rank 1, Grok at rank 2, DeepSeek and Kimi at rank 4, and Perplexity at rank 10. That spread is itself a finding: platform confidence in CrossCountry for this niche is uneven, and the entity's final rank of 1 in this study reflects aggregated placement rather than unanimous first-choice status.
This review sits inside a broader comparison of home purchase mortgage lenders evaluated for the same buyer profile.
The mortgage offering in focus
Questions explored
- Which CrossCountry Mortgage loan program is best for a buyer who wants to live in one unit of a duplex, triplex, or fourplex?
- Does CrossCountry Mortgage offer a conventional 5% down option for owner-occupied 2-4 unit properties?
- Is CrossCountry Mortgage's CCM ZeroDown program available for 2-4 unit owner-occupied properties?
The most relevant CrossCountry offering is a conventional Fannie Mae 5% down multifamily loan, with FHA 2-4 unit and VA as alternate paths. CrossCountry describes a Fannie Mae pathway allowing 5% down on owner-occupied 2-4 unit properties, and notes the 5% option may not apply in high-cost areas [25]. Google's platform response states this program eliminates the FHA self-sufficiency evaluation that applies to 3-4 unit FHA purchases [3].
The FHA path is also documented. CrossCountry states FHA down payments can be as low as 3.5% and that FHA multi-family purchases cover 2-4 unit properties subject to owner occupancy [27]. CrossCountry's FHA requirements page states the home must be a primary residence, can be a multi-family home up to four units if one unit is occupied, and that 3-4 unit properties carry additional self-sufficiency requirements [19].
CCM ZeroDown is a third path. CrossCountry describes it as an FHA first mortgage paired with a repayable second lien covering 3.5% or 5% of the purchase price, lists 2-4 unit properties as eligible, and states the second lien has a 10-year amortization schedule and a fixed rate 2% higher than the first mortgage rate [12]. Google's response confirms CCM ZeroDown extends eligibility to 2-4 unit multifamily properties [3].
VA financing applies for eligible borrowers. CrossCountry describes VA loans as requiring personal occupancy and available to eligible veterans, active-duty service members, and other qualifying borrowers [17]. VA guidance permits owner-occupied multi-unit properties and describes rental-income, landlord-experience, and six-month PITI reserve requirements [36].
Renovation financing may also apply. CrossCountry's FHA 203(k) page states eligible properties may include single-family homes with up to four units and owner-occupied multi-unit properties up to four units [14].
What the AI Platforms Agreed About
Questions explored
- What do AI platforms agree on about CrossCountry Mortgage for owner-occupied multi-unit purchase?
- Does CrossCountry Mortgage publicly support FHA and conventional financing for 2-4 unit owner-occupied homes?
Platforms agreed unanimously on program existence. All seven platform responses describe CrossCountry as offering FHA and conventional financing relevant to owner-occupied 2-4 unit purchases, and six of seven named it during ranking. Company-owned pages are the primary evidence base for this agreement, which means the consensus reflects consistent public documentation rather than independent verification of underwriting performance.
Specific points of agreement:
- FHA 2-4 unit availability with owner occupancy. CrossCountry's booklet states FHA multi-family purchases cover 2-4 unit homes when the borrower occupies one unit for at least the first year [27].
- A conventional 5% down pathway. CrossCountry describes the Fannie Mae 5% down option for owner-occupied 2-4 unit properties [25].
- Rental income can support qualification. CrossCountry states rental income potential can improve qualification for multi-family properties [21]. Fannie Mae separately permits rental-income analysis for two- to four-unit principal residences and identifies required documentation such as Form 1007 or Form 1025 [31].
- House-hacking is explicitly addressed. CrossCountry publishes content defining duplex, triplex, and fourplex owner-occupied multifamily housing and naming FHA and conventional loans as options [22].
- National footprint. Bankrate reports CrossCountry lends in all U.S. states with more than 700 branch locations [50]. Wikipedia states it is licensed in all 50 states and operates more than 1,000 branches [62]. These two counts conflict and neither is independently verified here.
Where the AI Platforms Disagreed or Were Uncertain
Questions explored
- Is CrossCountry Mortgage a strong fit or a mixed fit for owner-occupied multi-unit purchase?
- Does CrossCountry Mortgage publish its multi-unit reserve requirements and rental-income calculation rules?
Fit ratings split. Grok rated CrossCountry a strong fit. OpenAI, Google, and Perplexity rated it good. Anthropic, DeepSeek, and Kimi rated it mixed. That three-way split is the single largest disagreement in the study, and it tracks how much weight each platform placed on published pricing and underwriting detail versus documented product availability.
Cost evidence is the sharpest conflict. Anthropic's response cites 2024 HMDA-derived data showing CrossCountry's average 30-year fixed rate at 6.84%, 0.29 percentage points above the 2024 market average of 6.55% [41]. The same response cites Fair Price Check data showing median total closing costs of $7,737 across 110,335 homebuyer-submitted Closing Disclosures, approximately 135% above a $3,290 national peer median [53]. Yahoo Finance data cited in the same response shows a 2024 average loan cost of $8,174.70 [63]. Google's response cites independent reviews describing higher origination fees and less competitive rates [44]. Tomo's review, cited by Anthropic, found a $1,490 lender fee on a $400,000 loan producing modest first-year savings but about $2,643 in added cost over 10 years versus the median lender [46]. These figures are platform-reported and were not independently verified for this review.
Service quality evidence conflicts internally. Anthropic's response cites a J.D. Power 2025 mortgage origination satisfaction score of 735 out of 1,000 against an industry average of 760, described as below average [60]. The same response cites a Zillow customer rating of 4.97 out of 5 [60] and a J.D. Power 2025 servicing score of 606 against an average of 596 [60]. Bankrate reports a "Poor" Trustpilot score with complaints about reaching live agents, alongside 2025 borrowers praising loan officer service [50].
Underwriting detail is missing across the board. CrossCountry does not publish a single universal rental-income percentage or reserve policy for all owner-occupied 2-4 unit loans, and the reviewed sources do not establish whether it imposes lender-specific overlays above FHA, Fannie Mae, or VA minimums [10]. Kimi's response flags that CrossCountry advertises "Fannie Mae 5% Down Multifamily" without clarifying unit-count tiering, and that independent sources indicate 10-15% down is more common for 3-4 unit conventional purchases [29]. DeepSeek's response states it found no dedicated public product page specifically for owner-occupied 2-4 unit purchase loans [6].
Branch and state variation is unresolved. A branch-specific CrossCountry page advertises financing for mixed-use and multi-unit properties in specific states, suggesting market-level variation [66].
Mortgage features for this borrowing need
Questions explored
- How does CrossCountry Mortgage treat rental income from the units a buyer does not occupy?
- What down payment options does CrossCountry Mortgage offer for a duplex, triplex, or fourplex?
Rental income treatment is program-driven, not lender-published. CrossCountry states rental income potential can improve qualification for multi-family properties [21]. Fannie Mae requires documentation such as Form 1007 or Form 1025 for subject-property rental income and applies program-specific calculation limits [31]. Fannie Mae also states rental income qualification is subject to documentation, stability, and program-specific restrictions [30]. The exact percentage CrossCountry applies, and its treatment of projected versus existing rents, is not published.
FHA self-sufficiency is the key constraint on 3-4 unit purchases. CrossCountry's Fannie Mae comparison states FHA purchases of 3-4 unit properties require a self-sufficiency test [25]. HUD materials describe the test as requiring net rental income to meet or exceed the projected monthly mortgage payment, subject to vacancy, collection, and maintenance adjustments [2]. Independent sources describe the same requirement in similar terms [48].
Reserve requirements come from agency rules, not CrossCountry publications. HUD materials identify three months of verified PITI reserves after closing for FHA three- and four-unit purchases [2]. VA guidance identifies six months of PITI reserves when projected rent is used for a multi-unit VA property [36]. CrossCountry's public FHA materials do not state a universal reserve requirement for every 2-4 unit scenario.
Down payment floors by program:
| Program | Documented down payment | Source |
|---|---|---|
FHA 2-4 unit owner-occupied | As low as 3.5% | |
Conventional Fannie Mae 2-4 unit owner-occupied | 5%, may not apply in high-cost areas | |
VA 2-4 unit owner-occupied | 0% for eligible borrowers | |
CCM ZeroDown | FHA first mortgage plus repayable second lien for 3.5% or 5% |
Property condition matters more on FHA. Independent sources note FHA has stricter safety and habitability standards than conventional loans, with appraisers checking structural integrity, functional systems in all units, and lead-based paint in pre-1978 properties [49]. Appraisal timelines for multi-unit properties run 40% to 60% longer than single-family homes per an Appraisal Institute survey cited in platform research [49].
Rates, fees, and ongoing costs
Questions explored
- How much does a CrossCountry Mortgage owner-occupied multi-unit loan cost in closing fees and origination charges?
- Does CrossCountry Mortgage charge a prepayment penalty on a 2-4 unit owner-occupied mortgage?
No reliable public, borrower-specific pricing exists for an owner-occupied 2-4 unit purchase at CrossCountry. CrossCountry publishes product descriptions and examples, but actual rate, APR, points, lender credits, mortgage insurance, and underwriting adjustments depend on the application, property, occupancy, credit profile, loan program, location, and lock period [10]. Pricing confidence across platform responses was low to moderate.
Known cost components:
- FHA financing generally includes upfront and annual mortgage insurance. CrossCountry's CCM ZeroDown page states a 1.75% upfront FHA mortgage insurance premium plus monthly annual mortgage insurance [12].
- CCM ZeroDown's second lien carries a 10-year amortization schedule and a stated fixed rate 2% higher than the first mortgage rate [12].
- Closing costs and prepaid expenses remain payable even when the down payment is reduced or eliminated. CrossCountry's CCM ZeroDown page estimates typical closing costs at 2%-6% of purchase price [12].
- VA funding fees may apply depending on eligibility, down payment, prior use, and exemption status [17].
Independent cost estimates, all platform-reported:
- Median total closing costs of $7,737 across 110,335 submitted Closing Disclosures, about 135% above a $3,290 national peer median [53].
- 2024 average 30-year fixed rate of 6.84% versus a 6.55% market average [41].
- Origination fee estimated at about 1% of loan amount, not disclosed on the website [65].
- No prepayment penalty for paying off all or part of the loan before term end [65].
- Fixed-rate terms between 10 and 40 years, plus ARMs with 3, 5, 7, or 10-year initial fixed periods [65].
Contract terms are not published for the relevant 2-4 unit products. CrossCountry states loans are subject to underwriting approval and restrictions [10]. Rate-lock, extension, cancellation, and commitment terms are not stated generally. Public materials do not establish whether the CCM ZeroDown second lien carries a prepayment penalty [12].
Best Suited For
Questions explored
- Who is CrossCountry Mortgage best suited for in an owner-occupied multi-unit purchase?
- Is CrossCountry Mortgage a good choice for a veteran buying a 2-4 unit property with no down payment?
CrossCountry is best suited for borrowers who want multiple mainstream program paths available before choosing one. Its documented range spans FHA 2-4 unit, conventional Fannie Mae 5% down multifamily, VA, CCM ZeroDown, and FHA 203(k) renovation financing [27].
Specific buyer profiles that fit:
- Borrowers seeking a national lender with FHA and conventional owner-occupied 2-4 unit options [21].
- Buyers needing a low-down-payment route, including potentially 3.5% FHA, 5% conventional, or CCM ZeroDown if eligible [27].
- Eligible veterans considering owner-occupied multi-unit VA financing [17].
- House hackers who want a lender that explicitly discusses duplex, triplex, and fourplex primary-residence purchases [22].
- Buyers who value local branch access, given the reported 700-plus location network [50].
- Buyers who may need FHA 203(k) renovation financing on an owner-occupied multi-unit property [14].
Probably Not Best Suited For
Questions explored
- Who should not choose CrossCountry Mortgage for an owner-occupied multi-unit purchase?
- Is CrossCountry Mortgage a poor choice for a cost-sensitive buyer comparing multiple lender quotes?
CrossCountry is probably not best suited for cost-sensitive buyers who need published pricing before applying. The reviewed materials do not provide a borrower-specific interest-rate quote, lender-credit schedule, origination-fee schedule, or complete 2-4 unit pricing grid [10]. Independent cost data cited by platforms places its median closing costs well above a peer median [53].
Other profiles that may not fit:
- Borrowers needing fully transparent, property-specific pricing and fees before submitting an application [10].
- Borrowers whose qualification depends on unusually flexible rental-income treatment or nonstandard reserves [21].
- Investors seeking a pure non-owner-occupied multi-unit loan. CrossCountry's Signature Expanded Investor Cash Flow loan is directed at investment-property financing and generally cites higher down-payment expectations; it is not interchangeable with FHA or conventional owner-occupied financing [24].
- Buyers who need a lender with a public, dedicated house-hacking or 2-4 unit product page. DeepSeek's response states no dedicated public product page for owner-occupied 2-4 unit purchase loans was located [6].
- Buyers prioritizing superior origination customer service. Anthropic's response cites a below-average J.D. Power origination score of 735 against a 760 average [60].
- Buyers in high-cost markets where a 3-4 unit FHA purchase is likely to fail the self-sufficiency test [2].
When Another Option May Be Better
Questions explored
- What is a better alternative to CrossCountry Mortgage for a buyer who needs published multi-unit reserve and rental-income rules?
- When should a buyer choose a different lender than CrossCountry Mortgage for a 2-4 unit owner-occupied purchase?
Another lender may be better in five documented situations. Each comes from platform-reported alternative conditions rather than verified performance comparisons.
- A competing lender provides a lower Loan Estimate after comparing rate, APR, points, lender credits, mortgage insurance, and total cash to close [10].
- The buyer needs a lender with demonstrated high-volume underwriting for triplexes or fourplexes and clearer rental-income or reserve overlays [21].
- The buyer is VA-eligible and another lender offers more favorable VA multi-unit underwriting or lower lender fees [36].
- The property is non-owner-occupied or the borrower wants DSCR-based qualification; an investor-focused lender may be more appropriate [24].
- The buyer needs a renovation loan tailored to a severely distressed 2-4 unit property and CrossCountry cannot confirm the required FHA 203(k) execution [14].
Additional platform-reported conditions: a local credit union or multi-family-focused lender may offer closer hands-on guidance on duplex and triplex underwriting [66]. A specialist VA lender may have more experience with multi-unit reserve documentation [36]. A conventional-only or portfolio lender may be better where a 3-4 unit FHA purchase is likely to fail self-sufficiency [2]. Buyers seeking the absolute lowest origination fees may prefer a direct, digital-first online lender [44].
The full set of lenders evaluated for this buyer profile is indexed in the owner-occupied multi-unit purchase consensus ranking.
Questions to ask before choosing a lender
Questions explored
- What should a buyer confirm with CrossCountry Mortgage before signing a contract on a 2-4 unit owner-occupied loan?
- Which CrossCountry Mortgage program should a buyer choose for a triplex or fourplex?
Verify these items directly with a CrossCountry loan officer before committing. Each item maps to a documented gap in the public record.
- Will this branch approve an owner-occupied duplex, triplex, or fourplex in the property's state and county? [10]
- Which exact program is recommended: FHA 203(b), conventional, VA, CCM ZeroDown, or another product? [27]
- For the proposed rents, what percentage will underwriting count, and will Form 1007, Form 1025, leases, rent rolls, or landlord experience be required? [31]
- For an FHA triplex or fourplex, does the property pass the current self-sufficiency test after vacancy, maintenance, and collection adjustments? [2]
- What are the required post-closing reserves for this exact program and property type? [36]
- What are the current 2-4 unit loan limits, loan-level price adjustments, mortgage-insurance costs, and minimum borrower contribution? [55]
- For CCM ZeroDown, what is the exact second-lien payment, APR, maturity, repayment schedule, subordination terms, and prepayment policy? [12]
- What are all lender fees, broker or origination charges, appraisal costs, discount points, rate-lock charges, and other cash-to-close items? [10]
- Can CrossCountry issue a Loan Estimate for the same property and compare it with at least two competing lenders? [10]
- Are there property-condition, appraisal, insurance, zoning, utility, or occupancy requirements that could disqualify the building? [49]
- If the buyer is VA-eligible, how will prior landlord experience and six-month PITI reserves affect use of projected rental income? [36]
- If the buyer plans future refinancing or conversion to non-owner occupancy, are there program-specific occupancy or seasoning restrictions? [17]
The consensus assessment
Good fit, with verification required. CrossCountry Mortgage has credible public evidence of relevant FHA, conventional, VA, and specialized low-down-payment options for owner-occupied 2-4 unit purchases. Its strongest use case is a borrower who wants multiple mainstream program paths and can satisfy documented rental-income, reserve, occupancy, appraisal, and property requirements. It is not demonstrably the lowest-cost or most flexible option without obtaining and comparing a property-specific Loan Estimate.
Platform fit ratings split three ways: one strong, three good, three mixed. That split reflects a real evidence gap rather than a disagreement about product existence. Every platform agreed CrossCountry offers relevant FHA and conventional multi-unit programs. Platforms diverged on whether documented product availability is enough to call the lender a good fit when pricing, reserve overlays, and rental-income calculation rules are not published.
AI-platform agreement here does not prove product quality. Six of seven platforms naming CrossCountry during ranking reflects consistent public documentation of program availability, not verified underwriting performance, pricing competitiveness, or borrower outcomes.
How This Review Was Produced
This review was produced from platform fit-research responses collected for the owner-occupied multi-unit purchase use case, with a research date of 2026-09-29. Seven platforms supplied fit-research responses: Anthropic, DeepSeek, Google, Grok, Kimi, OpenAI, and Perplexity. Six of those seven named CrossCountry Mortgage during the ranking stage.
Each platform response included entity identification, a relevant product or plan, use-case findings by factor, strengths, limitations, pricing and terms, questions to verify before buying, and a final verdict with a fit rating. This review aggregates those responses, preserves conflicts, and cites factual claims to the platform-supplied citation IDs.
Platform fit ratings for CrossCountry: Grok strong; OpenAI, Google, and Perplexity good; Anthropic, DeepSeek, and Kimi mixed.
Research limitations
- Company-owned citations materially outnumber independent citations in the supplied evidence. CrossCountry's own pages are the primary basis for program-availability findings, and company claims should not be read as independently verified.
- Platform-reported research dates differ from the authoritative run date. DeepSeek's response carries a research date of 2026-06-30; all other platforms report 2026-09-29. Platform-reported dates are provenance metadata and do not independently prove freshness.
- DeepSeek's response was produced with search disabled, so its findings rest on model knowledge rather than retrieved pages. Its claims require explicit verification before being treated as current facts.
- The supplied URLs were collected from platform responses and were not independently validated by the writer stage.
- Citations are platform-reported evidence, not independently verified facts.
- CrossCountry does not publish a complete, standardized matrix of 2-4 unit loan limits, reserve requirements, rental-income percentages, or branch overlays.
- Public pricing examples are not sufficient to infer current rates or total costs for a 2026 transaction.
- Branch, state, property-condition, appraisal, insurance, and investor eligibility may affect whether a listed program is actually available.
- Conflicting branch counts appear in the evidence: Bankrate reports more than 700 locations [50] while Wikipedia reports more than 1,000 [62]. Neither was independently verified.
- No independent data was located on CrossCountry's 2-4 unit origination volume, approval rates, or average closing timelines for multi-unit purchases specifically.
See the broader Multi-Unit Owner-Occupied Purchase (2-4 Units) consensus index for comparisons across qualified options.
Sources
Company-Owned Sources
- Financing 2–4 Unit Multifamily: How the Math Differs from a Single-Family Rental: https://4homes.com/blog/financing-2-4-unit-multifamily
- HUD HOC Reference Guide: Rental Income: https://archives.hud.gov/offices/hsg/sfh/ref/sfhp2-10.cfm
- CrossCountry Mortgage Homepage: https://crosscountrymortgage.com/
- About CrossCountry Mortgage: https://crosscountrymortgage.com/about
- CrossCountry Mortgage — About Us: https://crosscountrymortgage.com/about-us/
- CrossCountry Mortgage — Loan Programs: https://crosscountrymortgage.com/loan-programs/
- Conventional Loans - CrossCountry Mortgage: https://crosscountrymortgage.com/loan-programs/conventional
- FHA 2-4 Unit Loans - CrossCountry Mortgage: https://crosscountrymortgage.com/loan-programs/fha/2-4-unit-loans
- VA Loans - CrossCountry Mortgage: https://crosscountrymortgage.com/loan-programs/va-loans
- Loan Product Disclosures: https://crosscountrymortgage.com/mortgage/licensing-and-disclosures/loan-product-disclosures/
- Conventional Loan - CrossCountry Mortgage: https://crosscountrymortgage.com/mortgage/loans/conventional-loans/
- Fha 203(k) Pros And Cons: https://crosscountrymortgage.com/mortgage/loans/fha-loans/fha-203k/
- Home Purchase Loans | CrossCountry Mortgage: https://crosscountrymortgage.com/mortgage/loans/home-purchase-loans/
- Easy Move Program: https://crosscountrymortgage.com/mortgage/loans/programs/easy-move-program/
- Fannie Mae's 5% Down Payment for Multi-Family Homes | CrossCountry Mortgage: https://crosscountrymortgage.com/mortgage/resources/fannie-mae-5-down-multi-family/
- FHA Loan Requirements Checklist 2026: https://crosscountrymortgage.com/mortgage/resources/fha-loan-requirements/
- How To Invest in Real Estate: https://crosscountrymortgage.com/mortgage/resources/how-to-invest-in-real-estate/
- Types of Homes: Find Your Home Style: https://crosscountrymortgage.com/mortgage/resources/types-of-homes-style/
- What Is House Hacking in Real Estate?: https://crosscountrymortgage.com/mortgage/resources/what-is-house-hacking/
- Hometown Heroes - Amy Harvell - CrossCountry Mortgage: https://crosscountrymortgage.com/why-amy-harvell/hometown-heroes-info/
- DSCR Mortgage Loans: https://es.crosscountrymortgage.com/mortgage/loans/non-qm/dscr-loans/
- Fannie Mae’s 5% Down Payment for Multi-Family Homes: https://es.crosscountrymortgage.com/mortgage/resources/fannie-mae-5-down-multi-family/
- Buying a 2-Flat or Multi-Unit in Illinois: https://lysinski.com/practices/real-estate/multi-family-purchase-illinois/
- Worthington Homebuyer Booklet: https://media.crosscountrymortgage.com/app/uploads/2026/03/25LO_86b7cx9bh_2047_Worthington_HomebuyerBooklet_R4.pdf
- FHA 2-4 Unit House Hacking: Finance a Duplex with 3.5% Down (2026: https://mortgage-info.com/blog/fha-multifamily-2-4-unit-house-hacking-financing-2026
- How to Buy a Multi-Unit Property and Live in One Unit (2026 Guide: https://mortgagemayo.com/blog/buy-multi-unit-property-live-in-one-unit
- General Rental Income Information: https://selling-guide.fanniemae.com/sel/b3-3.8-01/rental-income
- Rental Income from the Subject Property: https://selling-guide.fanniemae.com/sel/b3-3.8-02/rental-income-subject-property
- Buying a Duplex/Triplex to Airbnb: The 'Owner-Occupied Multi-Unit' Playbook: https://strspecialist.com/buying-a-duplex-triplex-to-airbnb-the-owner-occupied-multi-unit-playbook
- Buying a Duplex-Triplex or Fourplex With an Owner-Occupied Mortgage: A Complete Guide to FHA, VA, Conventional, and Rental Income Rules: https://trustedamerican.com/buying-a-duplex-triplex-or-fourplex-with-an-owner-occupied-mortgage-a-complete-guide-to-fha-va-conventional-and-rental-income-rules/
- FHA Multifamily Loan Rules for 2-4 Unit Homes: https://www.360-mortgage.com/loan-programs/fha-loans/fha-multi-family-rules/
- VA Home Loan Eligibility: https://www.benefits.va.gov/homeloans/purchaseco_eligibility.asp
- VA Lender’s Handbook, Chapter 4: https://www.benefits.va.gov/WARMS/docs/admin26/m26-07/m26-07-chapter4.pdf
- How to Buy a Multifamily Property and What to Look For: https://www.sofi.com/learn/content/buying-a-multifamily-home/
- Official pricing and terms source: https://crosscountrymortgage.com/mortgage/licensing-and-disclosures/terms-and-conditions/
Independent Sources
- Owner-Occupant Multi-Family Mortgage Guidelines: https://gustancho.com/owner-occupant-multi-family-mortgage-guidelines/
- Multiunit Mortgage: How to Buy a Duplex, Triplex or Fourplex | Mortgages | U.S. News: https://money.usnews.com/loans/mortgages/articles/multifamily-mortgage-how-to-buy-a-duplex-triplex-or-fourplex
- Crosscountry Mortgage Rates, Fees & Info: https://originationdata.com/institution/549300VZVN841I2ILS84
- Fannie Mae Selling Guide — B2-2-03 Multiple Financed Properties and 2-4 Unit Principal Residence: https://selling-guide.fanniemae.com/
- CrossCountry Mortgage Review 2026: https://smartasset.com/mortgage/crosscountry-mortgage-review
- CrossCountry Mortgage Review for 2026: Rates, Loan Options and Customer Feedback: https://themortgagereports.com/
- CrossCountry Mortgage Review for current_year : Rates, Loan Options and Customer Feedback: https://themortgagereports.com/49461/cross-country-mortgage-lender-review-rates-loans-credit-score
- 2025 Mortgage Review: CrossCountry Mortgage - Tomo Mortgage | Reports: https://tomo.com/blog/review-crosscountry-mortgage/
- Using Rental Income to Qualify for a VA Loan (2026 Rules: https://valoannetwork.com/va-loan-rental-income/
- How to Qualify for a Multi-Unit FHA Loan - Dallas Home Loans | Wade Betz NMLS#: 280613 | Mpire Financial Group, LLC: https://winningwithwade.com/multi-unit-fha-loan/
- FHA Multifamily Loans: Complete 2026 Guide to Financing Multi-Unit Properties: https://www.amerisave.com/learn/fha-multifamily-loans-complete-guide-to-financing-multiunit-properties
- CrossCountry Mortgage Review 2026 | Bankrate: https://www.bankrate.com/mortgages/reviews/crosscountry-mortgage/
- CrossCountry Mortgage Reviews: Written By Customers: https://www.consumeraffairs.com/finance/crosscountry-mortgage.html
- Consumer Financial Protection Bureau — Consumer Complaint Database: https://www.consumerfinance.gov/complaint/
- Fairpricecheck: https://www.fairpricecheck.com/lenders/crosscountry-mortgage
- crosscountry mortgage review: https://www.fool.com/the-ascent/mortgages/crosscountry-mortgage-review/
- HUD — FHA Mortgagee Letters / Loan Limits: https://www.hud.gov/program_offices/housing/sfh/fha_loan_limits
- HUD Handbook 4000.1 — FHA Single Family Housing Policy Handbook: https://www.hud.gov/program_offices/housing/sfh/handbook_4000-1
- FHA Multifamily Loans: Finance 2-4 Units With 3.5% Down | Lower Mortgage: https://www.lower.com/mortgages/fha-loan/fha-multi-family-loans
- FHA Rental Income Guidelines 2026 | Use Future Rent To Qualify: https://www.mortgageresearch.com/articles/fha-rental-income-guidelines/
- How To Get Owner-Occupied Multifamily Financing In 2026: https://www.mortgageresearch.com/articles/owner-occupied-multifamily-property/
- CrossCountry Mortgage Review 2026: https://www.nerdwallet.com/mortgages/reviews/crosscountry-mortgage
- CROSSCOUNTRY MORTGAGE - Updated July 2026: https://www.yelp.com/biz/crosscountry-mortgage-brooklyn-2
Other Sources
- CrossCountry Mortgage - Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CrossCountry_Mortgage
- CrossCountry Mortgage review 2026: https://finance.yahoo.com/personal-finance/mortgages/review/crosscountry-mortgage-review-214940100.html
- Mortgages for 2- to 4-unit Properties: https://sf.freddiemac.com/working-with-us/origination-underwriting/mortgage-products/mortgages-for-2-to-4-unit-properties
- CrossCountry Mortgage review 2025: Down payment grants and diverse loan options: https://www.cnbc.com/select/crosscountry-mortgage-review/
- CrossCountry Mortgage Metro Team — New York & New Jersey: https://www.crosscountrymortgagemetro.com/