Independent research. A clearer mortgage perspective.
MortgageConsensus Index

PROVIDER FIT REVIEW/

Knock Review for Buying Before Selling

Knock is a good fit for equity-rich homeowners who must close on a new home before the current one sells, if the property is in an eligible market and the sale is expected within about six months. Its 0% interest bridge loan, non-contingent offer, and Bridge Loan Plus DTI relief come with a non-refundable 2.

Multiple AI perspectivesEvidence-led comparisonsOur editorial independence

RECOMMENDATION COVERAGE

Knock

Recommended by 3 of 7 AI platforms in this study.

42.9%Consensus coverage · not a customer rating

The research in brief

Knock is a good fit for an equity-rich homeowner who must close on a new home before the current one sells, provided the property is in an eligible market and the seller expects to sell within roughly six months. Three of seven platforms named Knock during the ranking stage, with an average listed rank of 2.33 and a best rank of 1. The strongest reason to consider it is the combination of a stated 0% interest bridge loan for up to six months, a non-contingent purchase offer, and Bridge Loan Plus, which can pay off the departing mortgage and remove it from debt-to-income calculations. The main limitation is cost and rigidity: a non-refundable 2.25% fee, an undisclosed post-six-month rate, a balloon repayment, and no automatic conversion to permanent financing.

Research Snapshot

FieldDetail
Platform mentions in ranking stage3 of 7 platforms (Gemini, Kimi, ChatGPT)
Share of included platform responses42.9%
Average listed rank2.33
Best listed rank1 (Kimi)
Mortgage offeringKnock Bridge Loan; Knock Bridge Loan Plus
Overall use-case fitGood, with meaningful qualifications
Research date2026-09-29

Why Knock Qualified for This Study

Questions explored

  • Is Knock a good choice for bridge loan buy before sell?
  • Why did only three of seven AI platforms rank Knock for buying before selling?

Knock qualified because it sells a product built specifically for the buy-before-sell scenario rather than a general-purpose loan adapted to it. Knock advertises a Bridge Loan for buying a new home before selling the current one, secured by existing-home equity and subject to property, title, income, employment, credit, and value underwriting [18]. The company also states that a Knock affiliate can issue a purchase offer on the departing home so the buyer can drop the home-sale contingency [18].

Three of the seven included platforms named Knock during ranking discovery: Gemini, Kimi, and ChatGPT. The other four platforms evaluated the use case but did not place Knock in their ranked recommendations, which is why the mention share is 42.9% rather than unanimous. Knock's fit ratings across the seven platforms ranged from "strong" (Gemini, Grok) to "good" (ChatGPT, Claude, Perplexity, Kimi) to "mixed" (DeepSeek).

Knock also cleared the study's minimum-mentions threshold of two, and its product naming was consistent enough across platforms to collapse onto one canonical brand. The deterministic identity audit flagged that official-site retrieval failed for at least one mention and that the matching reported domain was retained as an exact-name fallback rather than a verified domain key. That qualification is disclosed here and again in the methodology limitations.

The mortgage offering in focus

Questions explored

  • Which Knock product should a buyer choose for buying before selling, the Bridge Loan or Bridge Loan Plus?
  • Does Knock Bridge Loan Plus pay off my current mortgage so I can qualify for a new one?

The most relevant offerings are Knock Bridge Loan and Knock Bridge Loan Plus. The standard Bridge Loan keeps the existing mortgage in place and advances cash against the equity in the current home, while Bridge Loan Plus pays off the departing mortgage upfront [31]. Platforms describe Bridge Loan Plus as launched in November 2025 [21].

The distinction matters for qualification. Knock states that Bridge Loan Plus can remove the departing mortgage from the new mortgage's debt-to-income calculation, which can increase buying power for qualified homeowners [13]. Independent coverage reports the same DTI effect [37].

Naming is not fully stable across sources. Knock's current public pages use Knock Bridge Loan and Knock Bridge Loan Plus, while older third-party references use Home Swap or Equity Advance [18]. One platform noted that whether Bridge Loan Plus and Knock Bridge Loan™ are distinct products or marketing names is unclear [5]. Buyers should confirm the exact product name and terms on their application documents rather than relying on older reviews.

What the AI Platforms Agreed About

Questions explored

  • What do AI platforms agree Knock offers for buying before selling?
  • Is Knock's bridge loan really interest-free for six months?

Agreement was strong, though not unanimous, on four points.

First, Knock offers a bridge loan explicitly for Buying Before Selling. OpenAI, Claude, Gemini, Grok, Perplexity, Kimi, and DeepSeek all describe a Knock product aimed at this scenario [18].

Second, the loan is stated as 0% interest for up to six months. Knock's own materials state 0% interest for up to six months with single-payment repayment when the home sells [14]. Independent reviews repeat the 180-day interest-free period [39].

Third, Knock charges a 2.25% fee tied to the departing home's listing price. This figure appears in company materials and independent reviews alike [14].

Fourth, Knock provides a fallback purchase offer if the home does not sell within the program window. Knock states that if the current home has not sold after six months, Knock will buy it at a pre-agreed price [18]. Independent reviews describe the backup offer as typically around 85% of list price [20].

Where the AI Platforms Disagreed or Were Uncertain

Questions explored

  • What is unclear or disputed about Knock's bridge loan terms for buying before selling?
  • Does the Knock Bridge Loan convert into permanent financing when my old home sells?

The platforms diverged on several material points, and buyers should treat each as unresolved.

Approval speed. Knock markets a quick qualification process, but no independently verified approval-time guarantee was located [18]. One platform reported a two-step evaluation of around four days [39], while another found no published closing timeline and noted competitors advertising 5–14 day closings [5]. Deepseek found approval speed unverifiable from its sources [1].

Post-six-month cost. The interest rate after the interest-free period is not disclosed in the sources reviewed. One platform noted an APR example of roughly 2.485% on a $150,000 loan [5], but this is an example, not a published universal rate.

Permanent financing conversion. The public materials describe the bridge loan as temporary financing repaid from the departing-home sale; they do not establish that Knock automatically converts it into permanent financing [18]. One platform described conversion as "neutral" because the bridge loan is designed to be repaid at sale and is separate from the new purchase mortgage [21].

Maximum loan amount. Sources conflict. Independent coverage reports the maximum bridge loan amount increased to $1 million from $750,000 in August 2025 [35]. Google's audit flagged that earlier 2026 sources mention a $500,000 limit for standard partner channels while late-2025 and 2026 releases show $1 million, particularly via Bridge Loan Plus, and advised buyers to confirm the limit for their state and program tier.

Geographic footprint. One platform reported 32 states plus Washington, D.C. [32], while another could not verify national coverage at all [5]. Deepseek noted Knock has historically operated in a limited set of metro markets [1].

Eligibility thresholds. One source states credit score near 660–700 and 10–20% minimum equity [41], while another describes approximately 30% equity as the practical threshold [26]. Grok reported Texas-specific requirements including a 680 credit score and a $500,000 maximum [24].

Fit rating. Deepseek rated Knock "mixed," citing thin verifiable detail on 2026 pricing, approval speed, and conversion terms. The other six platforms rated it good or strong.

Mortgage features for this borrowing need

Questions explored

  • What can Knock bridge loan funds actually be used for when buying before selling?
  • Can I keep my own real estate agent and lender if I use Knock?

Knock's bridge loan funds can cover the down payment, closing costs, moving expenses, and carrying costs on the departing home [23]. Independent reviews state the loan can also be used to pay off debt to improve debt-to-income ratio [23] and that up to $35,000 is available for home preparation and repairs [39]. One platform reported a 50% cap on the down payment relative to the new home's purchase price [5].

Agent and lender flexibility is a repeated advantage. Unlike Orchard, Knock allows use of any agent [39], and Bridge Loan Plus provides flexibility to work with any preferred lender [21]. Knock states it is not an iBuyer and that most customers sell on the open market rather than to Knock [42].

The fallback offer is a backstop, not the primary path. Knock states that if the current home has not sold after six months, Knock will buy it at a pre-agreed price [18]. Independent reviews describe that price as typically about 85% of list price [20]. One platform noted the guaranteed offer is only a fallback and that most customers sell on the open market [20].

Company stability was cited as supporting context: Knock reported profitability in August 2025 [37], secured a $100 million securitization enabling $900 million in new lending capacity [37], and was founded in 2015 [10]. Customer satisfaction was reported at a 4.78 average across 963 online reviews [23], with positive reviews citing convenience and responsiveness [23]. These are platform-reported figures, not independently verified by this review.

Rates, fees, and ongoing costs

Questions explored

  • How much does Knock cost for buying before selling, and is the 2.25% fee refundable?
  • What happens if my home does not sell within six months of taking a Knock bridge loan?

Knock's published cost structure has three main components. The first is a 2.25% fee based on the departing home's listing price, described as a Knock Purchase Offer fee [14]. On a $500,000 list price, that equals $11,250. The second is a separate bridge-loan fee; Knock describes it as modest but does not publish a universal dollar amount or formula [14]. The third is third-party closing costs, estimated at approximately $1,850 in independent reviews [37].

The 2.25% fee is described as non-refundable and applies whether or not the loan is ultimately used [39]. One platform reported the fee can be canceled before closing but is not refunded. Another reported a Texas-specific three-business-day cooling-off period before funding, with cancellation rights and less any third-party closing costs if applicable [3].

Interest is stated as 0% for up to six months [14]. After that period, the rate is not disclosed in the sources reviewed. One platform reported that interest accrues after six months if the home has not sold [37], and another noted a monthly payment may be required after the 180-day period if the loan is not paid off.

Repayment is a single lump sum when the current home sells or at maturity [14]. This is a balloon structure, not an amortizing loan. One platform noted the buyer may owe a shortfall out-of-pocket if sale proceeds are insufficient.

Knock states the 2.25% fee can be offset or exceeded by savings from avoiding mortgage payments during the six-month period, citing an example of a borrower with a $151,000 mortgage balance who avoided $8,257 in payments over six months against an $8,100 contract fee [21]. That example is context-dependent and not guaranteed.

Best Suited For

Questions explored

  • Who is Knock best suited for when buying before selling?
  • Is Knock worth it for a homeowner with substantial equity in a marketable home?

Knock is best suited for homeowners with substantial, readily verifiable equity in a marketable current home. Buyers who need a non-contingent offer in a competitive market are a strong match, because the Knock affiliate purchase offer lets them remove the home-sale contingency [18].

Borrowers who expect to sell the current home within approximately six months fit the program's structure best, since the 0% interest period runs for that window [39]. Borrowers who may benefit from Bridge Loan Plus removing the departing mortgage from new-loan debt-to-income calculations are also well positioned [13].

Buyers who want to keep their own agent and lender are a fit, since Knock allows any agent and any preferred lender [39]. One platform summarized the ideal profile as homeowners with significant equity who need funds for a down payment or closing costs before the current home sells, in the states where Knock operates.

Probably Not Best Suited For

Questions explored

  • Who should not choose Knock for buying before selling?
  • Is Knock a bad fit if I have limited equity or a slow-selling home?

Knock is probably not the best fit for owners with limited equity, difficult-to-sell properties, uncertain income, weak credit, or substantial existing debt. Buyers who expect a sale period beyond the six-month program window are also poorly matched, because interest accrues after that point at an undisclosed rate [37].

Borrowers whose priority is the lowest possible total cost rather than offer strength and timing certainty should look elsewhere. The 2.25% non-refundable fee is material and applies whether or not the loan is used [39].

Borrowers who want a conventional lender with fully transparent, publicly posted borrower-specific pricing before application are not a good fit. One platform noted Knock's public pages do not publish a clear, current rate-and-fee schedule.

Homeowners in states where Knock is not available, or with properties above the listing-price caps, are excluded. One platform reported maximum listing prices of $1.5 million in most markets and $2.5 million in California and Washington [20]. Borrowers seeking to avoid any upfront fees, or willing to use cash buyers or iBuyers for immediate liquidity, are also outside the target profile.

When Another Option May Be Better

Questions explored

  • What is a better alternative to Knock if I can get a cheaper HELOC or bank bridge loan?
  • When is selling first or using an iBuyer better than a Knock bridge loan?

A traditional bank bridge loan or HELOC may be better when the buyer can obtain a lower all-in cost and does not need Knock's purchase-offer guarantee. A sale contingency or rent-back arrangement may be better when the seller accepts timing protection and the buyer wants to avoid bridge fees and secured short-term debt.

Selling first may be better when minimizing financial risk and transaction cost matters more than securing the replacement home immediately. Another buy-before-you-sell provider may be better if it offers a longer term, clearer fixed pricing, broader property eligibility, or a more favorable fallback-sale formula.

One platform noted that a HELOC will have significantly lower upfront transaction fees for buyers who already qualify, have the DTI space to carry two mortgages, and have three to four weeks to close. Another listed Orchard as a comparison point when different fee structures or iBuyer models are desired. A third noted that traditional bridge loans typically require 20% equity, charge 6–12% interest, and 1–5% closing costs, and often require a same-lender mortgage relationship [5].

Questions to ask before choosing a lender

Questions explored

  • What should a buyer confirm with Knock before signing a bridge loan contract?
  • What happens to the 2.25% fee if my new home purchase falls through?

The platforms converged on a verification list. Buyers should confirm the exact bridge-loan fee, APR calculation, principal amount, and total payoff for their property and requested advance.

They should confirm whether the 2.25% Knock Purchase Offer fee is mandatory for their transaction and whether it is based on listing price, sale price, or another value. They should confirm the maximum loan-to-value or equity advance and how existing liens, commissions, taxes, and closing costs are deducted.

They should confirm what happens if the home has not sold at six months: exact purchase price, deductions, condition requirements, extension options, and possession deadlines. They should confirm whether Bridge Loan Plus fully pays off the departing mortgage and whether the originating lender will exclude that payment from debt-to-income calculations.

They should confirm whether any prepayment charge, minimum fee, extension fee, late fee, or cancellation fee applies. They should confirm which purchase-home and departing-home types, states, price ranges, occupancy statuses, and title structures are eligible.

They should confirm the actual approval-to-closing timeline and required documents. They should confirm who the legal lender and contracting party is for each component and which entity receives each fee. They should confirm whether the purchase mortgage must be originated through Knock or an affiliated lender, or whether an independent lender is permitted.

Finally, they should confirm the buyer's obligations if the home sells early, the purchase contract is canceled, the appraisal is low, or the new mortgage is denied.

The consensus assessment

Knock is a good fit for bridge loan buy before sell, with meaningful qualifications. Six of seven platforms rated it good or strong; one rated it mixed. The strongest case is an equity-rich homeowner who must make a non-contingent offer, expects to sell within six months, and may benefit from Bridge Loan Plus removing the departing mortgage from debt-to-income calculations.

The main limitations are cost and rigidity. The 2.25% fee is non-refundable and applies whether or not the loan is used. The post-six-month interest rate is undisclosed. Repayment is a balloon tied to the sale, not an automatic conversion to permanent financing. Geographic availability, maximum loan amount, and eligibility thresholds are inconsistently reported across sources and should be confirmed for the buyer's specific state and property.

Buyers who can obtain a cheaper HELOC or bank bridge loan, need a longer payoff window, have uncertain property eligibility, or want fully disclosed fixed pricing before application should compare alternatives before committing. For the full set of lender comparisons in this category, see the bridge loan buy before sell consensus index. Buyers who want to compare Knock against other home purchase mortgage lenders can review the category directory.

How This Review Was Produced

This review was produced from a structured research run dated 2026-09-29. Seven AI platforms evaluated the same prompt: a homeowner who has found a new home but has not sold the current one, needs short-term financing to cover the overlap, wants a lender offering bridge loans against existing equity, fast execution, and a clear path to convert or pay off the bridge loan once the current home sells.

Each platform returned a fit assessment, use-case findings, pricing and terms, strengths, limitations, alternatives, and verification questions. Knock was named during ranking discovery by three of the seven platforms: Gemini, Kimi, and ChatGPT. The remaining four platforms evaluated the use case but did not place Knock in their ranked recommendations.

All factual claims in this review are cited to the platform that supplied them. Company-owned sources are labeled as owned; independent sources are labeled as independent. No personal testing, customer experience, or independent verification was performed by this review.

Research limitations

Several limitations apply. Platform-reported research dates differ from the authoritative run date: DeepSeek reported 2026-02-14, while the other six platforms reported 2026-09-29. Platform-reported dates are provenance metadata and do not independently prove freshness.

All included platforms evaluated fit, but platform mentions count only platforms that named Knock during ranking discovery. Agreement among AI platforms does not prove product quality.

The supplied URLs were collected from platform responses and were not independently validated by the writer stage. Citations are platform-reported evidence, not independently verified facts. Claims from platforms without retrieved citations are labeled platform-reported or unverified.

The deterministic identity audit flagged that official-site retrieval failed for at least one mention and that the matching reported domain was retained as an exact-name fallback; the reported domain remains unverified. Company-name variants were collapsed onto one canonical brand before minimum-mentions qualification.

Conflicting product names, pricing, and capabilities were not resolved by guessing. Where sources conflict, this review describes the conflict and tells buyers what to verify. Missing research was not interpreted as disagreement.

Sources

Company-Owned Sources

  1. Knock — Buy Before You Sell: https://knock.com/
  2. Knock Bridge Loan™: Use the money “tied up” in your current: https://www.knock.com/
  3. About Knock: Pioneering a Better Bridge Loan for Home Buying: https://www.knock.com/about-us
  4. How to Buy Before You Sell With Knock - Knock Bridge Loan: https://www.knock.com/blog/complete-guide-to-buy-before-you-sell
  5. What Financing Programs Let You Skip the Home Sale Contingency When Buying?: https://www.knock.com/blog/financing-programs-to-skip-home-sale-contingency
  6. The Knock Bridge Loan Plus: Unlock Even More Buying Power with Departing Mortgage Payoff: https://www.knock.com/blog/introducing-bridge-loan-plus
  7. Knock Bridge Loan Costs: Fees, 0% Interest for 6 Months, and Repayment: https://www.knock.com/blog/knock-bridge-loan-cost
  8. Knock Bridge Loan Requirements: Equity, Costs, and Buying Power: https://www.knock.com/blog/knock-bridge-loan-requirements
  9. Knock for Homebuilders – Knock.com: https://www.knock.com/builders
  10. Knock FAQs: Answers to Common Questions: https://www.knock.com/faq
  11. Start Your Knock Journey: Bridge Loan Qualification Application: https://www.knock.com/homebuyers
  12. Lenders: Free up valuable clients to buy before they sell: https://www.knock.com/lenders

Independent Sources

  1. Is Knock Home Swap A Good Deal? Honest Reviews: https://anytimeestimate.com/knock-home-swap-reviews/
  2. Knock Bridge Loan Review: Is It Worth It to Buy Before You Sell?: https://listwithclever.com/real-estate-blog/knock-reviews/
  3. Knock HomeSwap Loan: Buy Your Next Home Before Selling: https://nfmlending.com/knock-homeswap-loan/
  4. How Knock Bridge Loans Help Homeowners Access Home Equity: https://www.archyde.com/how-knock-bridge-loans-help-homeowners-access-home-equity/
  5. § 1026.43 Minimum standards for transactions secured by a dwelling: https://www.consumerfinance.gov/rules-policy/regulations/1026/43/
  6. Knock launches enhanced Bridge Loan Plus for homebuyers: https://www.housingwire.com/articles/knock-bridge-loan-plus/
  7. Knock Real Estate Reviews: Pros, Cons, and Alternatives: https://www.houzeo.com/blog/knock-real-estate-reviews-pros-cons-and-alternatives/
  8. With fresh capital, Knock ups the limit on its bridge loans to $1M: https://www.inman.com/2025/08/26/with-fresh-capital-knock-ups-the-limit-on-its-bridge-loans-to-1m/
  9. Knock Bridge Loan overview and comparison context: https://www.investopedia.com/knock-review-5200326
  10. Knock Real Estate Reviews: Is Knock's Bridge Loan Worth It?: https://www.realestatewitch.com/knock-real-estate-reviews/
  11. What Is a Bridge Loan and How Does It Work?: https://www.sofi.com/learn/content/what-are-bridge-loans/
  12. Knock Reviews | Read Customer Service Reviews of knock.com: https://www.trustpilot.com/review/knock.com

Other Sources

TRANSPARENCY BY DESIGN

The evidence behind this study

Research is a dated snapshot of AI recommendations and their supporting sources. Use the original evidence and methodology to understand what these findings can—and cannot—tell you.

Independent source records
23
Provider-owned source records
19
Direct support records
39

AI platforms in the study

ChatGPTClaudeDeepSeekGrokPerplexityKimiGemini

Study limitations

  • The study date identifies this research snapshot; dates reported by AI platforms do not independently establish source freshness.
  • Recommendation counts measure mentions during the ranking stage. Later fit assessments do not increase those counts.
  • Product names, costs, and features can differ across sources. Confirm conflicting details directly with the provider.
  • Source URLs came from AI platform responses and were not independently validated during report preparation.
  • Some dates reported by AI platforms differ from the study date. Those dates do not independently establish that the information is current.
  • The study evidence includes provider identity and qualification notes. Check those notes and confirm eligibility with the provider.

Affiliate & commercial disclosure

We may receive compensation when you follow certain links, request mortgage quotes, or take another qualifying action through a commercial partner. These relationships create a potential financial conflict, but do not influence recorded AI recommendations or ranking calculations. Partner availability, rates, fees, and eligibility can vary.

Read the full Affiliate Disclosure for compensation, tracking, partner availability, and research independence details, or contact us with a disclosure question.

Verify the source snapshot

SHA-256: 6ff2803b69e0f5597e540beaf147977608ca1a5bc433370869f1fbbeae4e2079