The research in brief
CrossCountry Mortgage is a good but conditional fit for a homeowner who needs a bridge loan to buy a new home before selling the current one. Five of the seven platforms in this study named CrossCountry during ranking discovery, and it finished first overall with an average listed rank of 4.0 and a best rank of 1. Its strongest asset is a directly relevant bridge/swing loan program with published terms: a stated four-month term, up to 85% of current-home value, a 15% equity threshold, no appraisal, and interest-only payments. The main limitation is disclosure: CrossCountry does not publish bridge-loan rates, APRs, exact lender fees, extension pricing, or permanent-financing conversion terms, and no independent source located verified approval speed or borrower outcomes.
Research Snapshot
| Field | Finding |
|---|---|
| Platform mentions in ranking stage | 5 of 7 platforms (Claude, DeepSeek, Grok, ChatGPT, Perplexity) |
| Share of included platform responses | 71.4% |
| Average listed rank | 4.0 |
| Best listed rank | 1 (Perplexity) |
| Mortgage offering | CrossCountry Mortgage Bridge Loan / Swing Loan Program |
| Overall use-case fit | Good but conditional (platform fit ratings: good on five platforms, mixed on Grok, uncertain on DeepSeek) |
| Research date | 2026-09-29 |
Why CrossCountry Mortgage Qualified for This Study
Questions explored
- Why did CrossCountry Mortgage qualify for a bridge loan buy before sell lender ranking?
- How many AI platforms named CrossCountry Mortgage for buying before selling?
CrossCountry Mortgage qualified because it publicly advertises a residential bridge loan — also called a swing or gap loan — built specifically for purchasing a new home before the current one sells [7]. Five of the seven platforms named it during ranking discovery, giving it a 71.4% mention share, and it finished first overall in the final ranking with an average listed rank of 4.0 and a best rank of 1 (Perplexity).
The product is not an ancillary offering buried in a general loan menu. CrossCountry lists bridge loans on its loan-programs and mortgage-loans pages as a distinct program for buyers moving before selling [6], and its homepage markets bridge financing for Buying Before Selling [1]. Independent coverage confirms the product exists within a broad mortgage lineup rather than being a marketing-only claim [18].
Scale and licensing also supported qualification. CrossCountry operates as a licensed direct lender subject to NMLS and state regulation [24], and platform-reported coverage describes 700+ branches across all 50 states, D.C., and Puerto Rico [23]. One platform also noted a builder division launched in March 2026 that includes bridge loans, though its scope for residential consumers is unclarified [23].
The mortgage offering in focus
Questions explored
- What is the CrossCountry Mortgage Bridge Loan / Swing Loan Program and how does it work for buying before selling?
- Does the CrossCountry Mortgage bridge loan require an appraisal or a minimum equity amount?
The relevant product is the CrossCountry Mortgage Bridge Loan / Swing Loan Program, a short-term loan secured against equity in the current home that funds the gap between buying and selling [7].
Across the platforms that retrieved CrossCountry's dedicated bridge-loan page, the published program terms were consistent: a four-month term, access to up to 85% of the current home's value, a 15% minimum equity requirement, no appraisal, and interest-only payments during the term [7]. CrossCountry states that the bridge loan can use equity in the current home, may pay off the existing mortgage, and may provide remaining funds for the new home's down payment [7]. The company markets it as a way to make an offer without a home-sale contingency [1].
Qualification signals are published but partial. CrossCountry's bridge-loan page states a minimum credit score of 680 and says borrowers are evaluated on credit history and debt-to-income ratio [7]. One platform reported a minimum equity range of 10–20% depending on borrower situation, sourced to a third-party directory rather than CrossCountry [15]; that conflicts with the 15% figure on CrossCountry's own page and should be treated as unverified.
CrossCountry also offers an alternative buy-before-sell structure: the CCM Signature Series non-QM loan, which one platform reported may allow exclusion of the current home's PITIA from the debt-to-income calculation, with a requirement of intent to list or lease within 90 days [8]. Cost comparison and eligibility criteria against the traditional bridge loan are not fully specified.
What the AI Platforms Agreed About
Questions explored
- What do AI platforms agree on about CrossCountry Mortgage bridge loans for buying before selling?
- Is the CrossCountry Mortgage bridge loan interest-only with a four-month term?
Agreement was strong on program mechanics and mixed on fit quality. Five platforms retrieved CrossCountry's own bridge-loan page and reported the same core terms: four-month term, up to 85% of home value, 15% equity threshold, no appraisal, interest-only payments, and a 680 credit-score floor [7].
Platforms also agreed that the product is genuinely designed for the buy-before-sell scenario rather than adapted to it. Multiple platforms described it as a swing or gap loan for purchasing before selling [7]. Independent coverage from Bankrate and Fortune confirmed the product exists within CrossCountry's lineup and that bridge loans last four months and can reach 85% of home value [18].
On equity access, platforms converged on the 15% threshold being more accessible than the typical 20% market requirement [7]. On cost, platforms agreed that CrossCountry does not publish bridge-loan rates or fees and that pricing must come from a loan officer [18].
Fit ratings were not unanimous: five platforms rated the fit good, one rated it mixed, and one rated it uncertain. That spread reflects differences in how much missing disclosure each platform treated as disqualifying, not disagreement about the product's existence or terms.
Where the AI Platforms Disagreed or Were Uncertain
Questions explored
- Is the CrossCountry Mortgage bridge loan term four months or up to twelve months?
- Does the CrossCountry Mortgage bridge loan convert automatically to permanent financing?
The sharpest conflict is the maximum equity figure. CrossCountry's dedicated bridge-loan page states up to 85% of home value, while a separate CrossCountry educational article says bridge loans can tap up to 80% of home value [7]. The dedicated program page is the more specific published source, but the buyer should confirm the applicable cap in writing.
The term length is also contested. CrossCountry's program page states four months [7], while another CrossCountry educational page describes bridge loans generally as lasting three to twelve months and possibly including a balloon payment at maturity [9]. One platform reported that third-party aggregators mention up to 12 months, which conflicts with the official four-month figure [4]. The four-month figure appears to be the specific published program term, but it should be verified against the live offer.
Conversion to permanent financing is unresolved. No public source located establishes an automatic conversion, a guaranteed refinance option, or whether a rate lock carries forward [7]. CrossCountry does offer conventional, FHA, VA, USDA, jumbo, and specialty loans that could serve as the permanent mortgage [18], but the mechanics of pairing them with the bridge loan are undocumented.
Approval speed is unverified for the bridge product specifically. One platform reported a FastTrack program closing in as few as 10 days and a 21-day standard average, but those figures apply to general mortgages, not confirmed bridge loans [16]. Another reported a 7–14 day bridge closing timeline sourced to a third-party directory [15]. No platform located a CrossCountry-published bridge approval or funding commitment.
Geographic and branch consistency is unclear. Public materials do not state whether the bridge loan is available in every U.S. state or whether all branches use identical underwriting [7]. One platform reported nationwide availability across all 50 states, D.C., and Puerto Rico [25], but that claim was not tied to the bridge product specifically.
Mortgage features for this borrowing need
Questions explored
- What features does the CrossCountry Mortgage bridge loan offer a buyer who needs to close before selling?
- Can the CrossCountry Mortgage bridge loan fund a down payment and pay off the existing mortgage?
The features most relevant to a buy-before-sell buyer are equity access, payment structure, and appraisal treatment.
Equity access: CrossCountry states the bridge loan can use equity in the current home, may pay off the existing mortgage, and may provide remaining funds for the new home's down payment [7]. The published threshold is 15% equity, corresponding to up to 85% of current-home value [7].
Payment structure: payments are interest-only during the stated four-month term, which may reduce short-term cash flow pressure compared with fully amortizing payments [7].
Appraisal: CrossCountry states its bridge loans do not require an appraisal, which may remove one source of delay and cost, subject to transaction-specific confirmation [7].
Offer competitiveness: the product is marketed as supporting offers without a home-sale contingency [1].
Alternatives within CrossCountry: the company also lists home-equity and HELOC-related products that may serve as substitutes, subject to separate qualification and terms [10]. One platform reported HELOC approvals in 5–10 minutes with funding in days, though that describes the HELOC product, not the bridge loan [19].
Risk features the buyer inherits: CrossCountry acknowledges borrowers may have to manage two mortgage payments and that failure to sell the current home can create serious repayment problems, including potential foreclosure if payments cannot be made [7]. The borrower also remains exposed to actual sale proceeds coming in lower than expected [7].
Rates, fees, and ongoing costs
Questions explored
- How much does a CrossCountry Mortgage bridge loan cost in fees and interest?
- Are there extension fees or prepayment penalties on the CrossCountry Mortgage bridge loan?
Pricing is the weakest part of the public record. CrossCountry does not publish bridge-loan rates, APRs, or a fee schedule, and multiple platforms confirmed that rate and fee details require contacting a loan officer [18].
What is published: CrossCountry's FAQ gives a general estimate of 1% to 3% of the bridge-loan amount for closing costs and fees, and states that rates are generally higher than traditional mortgage rates and vary by borrower [7]. One platform reported a CrossCountry-published illustrative interest rate range of 6% to 12% [7]. These are general ranges, not binding quotes.
Industry context, not CrossCountry-specific: bridge-loan origination fees commonly run 1.5–3% of the loan amount [28], closing costs typically 2–5% [20], and bridge rates typically 6–12% versus conventional rates in the mid-6% range [29]. One platform reported CrossCountry's average origination fee across general mortgage products at $4,522 based on HMDA data, versus a national average of $2,792 [30]. That figure covers the broader mortgage book, not the bridge product.
Contract terms: the published term is four months [7]. Public materials do not specify whether extensions are available, their price, or approval conditions; they also do not specify prepayment penalties, cancellation fees, minimum holding periods, or automatic conversion to permanent financing [7]. One platform reported no documented prepayment penalties on CrossCountry mortgage products, but did not confirm this for the bridge loan specifically [7]. The buyer should confirm whether the bridge loan must be paired with CrossCountry's purchase mortgage and whether repayment is required immediately upon sale [7].
Pricing confidence across platforms was uniformly low. A transaction-specific Loan Estimate is required to determine the actual rate, APR, points, lender fees, third-party charges, and total cost [7].
Best Suited For
Questions explored
- Who is the CrossCountry Mortgage bridge loan best suited for?
- Is CrossCountry Mortgage a good choice for a homeowner with 15% equity and a 680 credit score?
CrossCountry's bridge loan is best suited to a homeowner with substantial equity, strong credit, and a high-confidence near-term sale. The published profile is at least 15% equity in the current home, a credit score of approximately 680 or higher, and the ability to repay the bridge loan after the existing property sells [7].
Specific buyer profiles the platforms identified as good matches:
- Buy-before-sell transactions requiring a lump-sum down payment or payoff of the existing mortgage [7].
- Borrowers with a credible, relatively short sale timeline who can work within a four-month window [7].
- Buyers seeking interest-only payments during the bridge period to manage dual-payment cash flow [7].
- Borrowers who want to make an offer without a home-sale contingency [1].
- Buyers who value a large national lender with extensive branch presence and nationwide licensing [23].
- Borrowers who plan to obtain permanent financing from CrossCountry or another lender after the sale [18].
Probably Not Best Suited For
Questions explored
- Who should not choose CrossCountry Mortgage for a bridge loan to buy before selling?
- Is CrossCountry Mortgage a bad fit if the current home may take more than four months to sell?
The four-month term is the clearest disqualifier for some buyers. Homeowners who may need more than four months to sell are a poor match, because the published program term is short and extension rights are not publicly documented [7].
Other profiles the platforms flagged as poor fits:
- Borrowers with limited equity, weaker credit, high debt-to-income ratios, or uncertain sale proceeds [7].
- Borrowers with credit scores below 680 [7].
- Homeowners with less than 15% equity in the current home [7].
- Buyers prioritizing the lowest possible rate or fully disclosed, easily comparable bridge-loan pricing before application [7].
- Borrowers needing a clearly documented automatic conversion into permanent financing [7].
- Buyers who need fully transparent, posted rate sheets or fixed fee schedules [7].
- Buyers who need the cheapest bridge financing regardless of lender relationship or closing speed [7].
Customer satisfaction evidence is genuinely mixed and should be weighed. One platform reported Bankrate scores lower than average for origination [18], while another reported J.D. Power rated CrossCountry above average for mortgage origination and servicing [19]. Review-site scores diverge sharply: Zillow at 4.97/5 from 20,000+ reviews versus Trustpilot at 1.8–2 stars [30]. The underlying cause is unclear and may reflect origination versus servicing experience or loan-type differences.
When Another Option May Be Better
Questions explored
- What is a better alternative to CrossCountry Mortgage for a buyer who needs a bridge term longer than four months?
- When should a buyer choose a HELOC or a published-rate bridge lender instead of CrossCountry Mortgage?
Another option may be better in several specific situations the platforms identified.
If the buyer needs a longer bridge period: a lender offering a standard 12-month bridge term is safer when the current home is expected to take 6–12 months to sell [4]. One platform specifically recommended considering a HELOC or another lender when the needed term exceeds four months [7].
If total cost is the priority: a HELOC or home-equity loan may offer materially lower total cost if the borrower can obtain it quickly enough for the purchase timeline [7]. CrossCountry itself lists home-equity products as possible alternatives [10].
If upfront transparency matters: a lender that publishes bridge-loan rates and fees allows comparison before applying, whereas CrossCountry requires loan-officer contact for all rate and fee details [7]. One platform cited a California lender publishing rates of 9.95%–10.95% with 1.25–1.95 origination points and no prepayment penalty as a transparency benchmark [26].
If the buyer wants a documented bridge-plus-permanent structure: a lender offering an explicit bridge-to-permanent conversion path may be preferable, since CrossCountry's conversion mechanics are undocumented [7].
If the buyer has insufficient equity or credit for CrossCountry's stated criteria: a lender with different underwriting flexibility is the better route [7].
If the buyer wants a promotional structure: one platform noted a competitor offering a zero-interest promotional period for the first six months and a purchase-backup model for the old home [11]. These are competitor-reported terms, not independently verified.
If the buyer needs a non-QM structure: CrossCountry's own CCM Signature Series may allow exclusion of the current home's PITIA from DTI with intent to list or lease within 90 days, which could be a lower-cost path than a traditional bridge loan, though cost comparison is not fully specified [8].
Questions to ask before choosing a lender
Questions explored
- What should a buyer confirm with CrossCountry Mortgage before signing a bridge loan contract?
- Which CrossCountry Mortgage bridge loan terms are not publicly disclosed and must be quoted?
The platforms converged on a verification list. Because CrossCountry does not publish bridge-loan pricing or conversion terms, these questions must be answered in writing before commitment.
Availability and eligibility: Is the bridge loan available for my property state, loan amount, occupancy type, and intended new-home financing [7]? What exact maximum combined loan-to-value or equity calculation applies, and how are existing liens, commissions, taxes, and selling costs treated [7]? Is an appraisal truly waived for this transaction, or can underwriting require one based on property type, value, or loan size [7]?
Pricing: What are the current note rate, APR, interest-only payment, points, origination fee, and total estimated cash-to-close [7]? Can the lender provide a written Loan Estimate and a side-by-side comparison with a HELOC, home-equity loan, or another bridge lender [7]?
Term and extension: Is the four-month term fixed, and can it be extended if the current home has not sold? What are the extension fee, rate, and approval requirements [7]? What happens if the current home sells for less than expected or does not sell before maturity [7]?
Structure and payoff: Is the bridge loan structured as a first mortgage or second mortgage, and how does that affect payoff at sale [7]? Are there prepayment penalties, minimum interest periods, payoff fees, late fees, or balloon-payment requirements [7]? Can the bridge loan fund the down payment, closing costs, mortgage payoff, moving expenses, or only specified uses [7]?
Permanent financing: Must CrossCountry also originate the permanent mortgage on the new home [7]? If the bridge loan is used for the down payment, what are the terms for converting the remaining balance to permanent financing, and does any rate lock carry forward [7]?
Speed and underwriting: What is the lender's documented average time from complete application to approval and from approval to closing for the bridge product specifically [7]? Will the bridge-loan payment, existing mortgage payment, and new mortgage payment all be counted in debt-to-income underwriting [7]?
The consensus assessment
The consensus is a good but conditional fit, with meaningful disclosure gaps. Five of seven platforms named CrossCountry Mortgage during ranking discovery, and it finished first overall with an average listed rank of 4.0 and a best rank of 1. Fit ratings split five good, one mixed, and one uncertain — a spread that reflects how much missing pricing disclosure each platform treated as disqualifying rather than disagreement about the product itself.
The strongest reason to consider CrossCountry is a directly relevant bridge/swing loan program with published mechanics: a stated four-month term, up to 85% of current-home value, a 15% equity threshold that is more accessible than the typical 20% market requirement, no appraisal, and interest-only payments [7]. The main limitation is that rates, APRs, exact lender fees, extension pricing, prepayment treatment, and permanent-financing conversion terms are not publicly disclosed, and no independent source located verified current bridge-loan approval speed or borrower outcomes [7].
The buyer should not rely on the public marketing page alone. The short four-month term, potentially higher cost, double-payment exposure, and lack of public detail on approval speed, extensions, and permanent financing keep the assessment below strong. Obtain a written Loan Estimate and compare it against at least one competitor offering published bridge-loan pricing before committing [7].
How This Review Was Produced
This review evaluates CrossCountry Mortgage only for the bridge loan buy before sell use case. It is not a broad company review. The study used a research prompt asking which providers would be recommended for a homeowner who has found a new home but has not sold the current one and needs short-term financing to cover the overlap.
Seven platforms evaluated fit for this use case: Claude (claude-haiku-4-5-20251001), DeepSeek (deepseek-v4-flash), Gemini (gemini-3.5-flash), Grok (x-ai/grok-4.3), Kimi (moonshotai/kimi-k2.6), ChatGPT (gpt-5.6-luna), and Perplexity (perplexity/sonar). All seven evaluated fit, but platform_mentions counts only the five platforms that named CrossCountry during ranking discovery: Claude, DeepSeek, Grok, ChatGPT, and Perplexity.
The authoritative run research date is 2026-09-29. Platform-reported research dates are provenance metadata and do not independently prove freshness. All platform outputs carry a verification status of platform_reported_not_independently_verified.
The consensus index for this category is available at bridge loan buy before sell, and the broader directory is at home purchase mortgage lenders.
Research limitations
Several limitations apply to this review.
Platform-reported research dates differ from the authoritative run date. Deepseek reported a research date of 2026-01-15, while the other six platforms reported 2026-09-29. Deepseek also ran with search disabled, so its findings reflect model knowledge rather than retrieved sources.
Citations are platform-reported evidence, not independently verified facts. The supplied URLs were collected from platform responses and were not independently validated by the writer stage. No-search model claims require explicit verification before being described as current facts.
The deterministic identity audit flagged that one or more fetched domains were not corroborated by brand name or site identity metadata and were not used as official identity signals. Reported identity details should be treated as facts to verify rather than established evidence.
Official-page excerpts were retrieved but not verified. The CrossCountry homepage excerpt and the terms-and-conditions excerpt carry a verification status of not_checked, and the terms excerpt contains only limitation-of-liability and third-party-site language, not bridge-loan terms.
Conflicting product names, pricing, and capabilities were not resolved by guessing. Where platforms disagreed — the 80% versus 85% equity cap, the four-month versus three-to-twelve-month term, and the conversion path — the conflict is described and the buyer is directed to verify.
No independent source located was sufficient to verify current bridge-loan approval speed, borrower outcomes, or the consistency of advertised terms across branches. Customer satisfaction evidence is mixed across platforms and the underlying cause is unclear.
Sources
Company-Owned Sources
- CrossCountry Mortgage: https://crosscountrymortgage.com/
- CrossCountry Mortgage - Bridge Loan: https://crosscountrymortgage.com/bridge-loan/
- Buy Now, Sell Later Options: https://crosscountrymortgage.com/buy-now-sell-later/
- CrossCountry Mortgage Bridge Loan Program: https://crosscountrymortgage.com/loan-types/bridge-loans/
- Mortgage Loans: Types of Home Loans: https://crosscountrymortgage.com/mortgage/loans/
- Loan Programs: https://crosscountrymortgage.com/mortgage/loans/programs/
- Bridge Loan Mortgage | Swing Loan | CrossCountry Mortgage: https://crosscountrymortgage.com/mortgage/loans/programs/bridge-loan/
- How to Buy a House Before Selling Yours: https://crosscountrymortgage.com/mortgage/resources/how-to-buy-a-house-before-selling-yours/
- What Is a Bridge Loan and How Does it Work?: https://crosscountrymortgage.com/mortgage/resources/what-is-bridge-loan/
- CrossCountry Mortgage Home Equity Line of Credit Application: https://fixedapp.crosscountrymortgage.com/
- Knock Bridge Loan Guide: https://sb-assets.knock.com/f/1005183/x/e4a1f81c00/knock-bridge-loan-guide-2025-06-09.pdf
- Official pricing and terms source: https://crosscountrymortgage.com/mortgage/licensing-and-disclosures/terms-and-conditions/
Independent Sources
- CrossCountry Mortgage review 2026: https://finance.yahoo.com/personal-finance/mortgages/review/crosscountry-mortgage-review-214940100.html
- CrossCountry Mortgage review 2026: Huge loan selection: https://fortune.com/article/crosscountry-mortgage-review/
- Who Offers Bridge Loans? Top Lenders 2026: https://joingerald.com/learn/debt--credit/bridge-loan-providers-lenders-2026
- CrossCountry Mortgage Review 2026 | The Mortgage Reports: https://themortgagereports.com/49461/cross-country-mortgage-lender-review-rates-loans-credit-score
- CrossCountry Mortgage Review for 2026: https://themortgagereports.com/reviews/crosscountry-mortgage
- CrossCountry Mortgage Review 2026 | Bankrate: https://www.bankrate.com/mortgages/reviews/crosscountry-mortgage/
- CrossCountry Mortgage review 2025: Down payment grants and diverse loan options: https://www.cnbc.com/select/crosscountry-mortgage-review/
- Bridge Loan: What It Is and How It Works | LendingTree: https://www.lendingtree.com/home/mortgage/bridge-financing-basics/
- Bridge Loans: Guide & Comparisons: https://www.lendingtree.com/home/mortgage/bridge-loans/
- CrossCountry Mortgage Review - MarketReview: https://www.marketreview.com/mortgage/reviews/crosscountry-mortgage/
- CrossCountry announces newly formed builder division: https://www.nationalmortgagenews.com/news/crosscountry-announces-newly-formed-builder-division
- NMLS Consumer Access - CrossCountry Mortgage, LLC: https://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org/
- CrossCountry Mortgage Honoring Projected 2026 Conforming Loan Limits: https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/crosscountry-mortgage-honoring-projected-2026-conforming-loan-limits-up-to-819-000--302566333.html
- Buy-Before-You-Sell Bridge Loans in California: https://www.residentialbridgeloanlenders.com/buy-before-you-sell-bridge-loan-california/
- What Is a Bridge Loan and How Does It Work?: https://www.sofi.com/learn/content/what-are-bridge-loans/
- Bridge Loan Interest Rates and Fees Explained - SuperMoney: https://www.supermoney.com/bridge-loan-interest-rates-and-fees
- What Are Bridge Loan Rates, Fees, And Closing Costs?: https://www.thecreditpeople.com/loans/what-are-bridge-loan-rates-fees-and-closing-costs
- CrossCountry Mortgage Review 2026: Loans & Reputation | Zeitro: https://www.zeitro.com/blog/cross-country-mortgage-reviews