Independent research. A clearer mortgage perspective.
MortgageConsensus Index

PROVIDER FIT REVIEW/

Griffin Funding Review for High Debt-to-Income Ratio Borrowers

Griffin Funding is a good, but not universally strong, fit for refinancing with an elevated debt-to-income ratio. Its bank-statement program publishes DTI up to 50%, with 55% by exception, and an asset-depletion path may bypass DTI calculation entirely, though independent confirmation of high-DTI approvals is lacking.

Multiple AI perspectivesEvidence-led comparisonsOur editorial independence

RECOMMENDATION COVERAGE

Griffin Funding

Recommended by 2 of 6 AI platforms in this study.

33.3%Consensus coverage · not a customer rating

Inline “Evidence ID” labels identify records within an AI platform’s response. They are not links to independently verified sources.

The research in brief

Griffin Funding is a good, but not universally strong, fit for refinancing approval despite an elevated debt-to-income ratio. Two of the six included platforms named Griffin Funding during the ranking stage, at an average listed rank of 5.0 and a best rank of 4. The strongest reason to consider it is its published non-QM bank-statement program, which states DTI ratios up to 50% with 55% allowed by exception, plus an asset-depletion path that may bypass DTI calculation entirely [15]. The main limitation is that no reviewed independent source confirms Griffin Funding's high-DTI approval performance, manual-underwriting practices, or pricing, and the public pages do not identify the compensating factors behind the 55% exception [15].

Research Snapshot

FieldFinding
Platform mentions in ranking stage2 of 6 included platforms (Gemini, ChatGPT)
Share of included platform responses33.3%
Average listed rank5.0
Best listed rank4
Mortgage offeringAsset-depletion or asset-based refinance; bank-statement cash-out or rate-and-term refinance for self-employed borrowers
Overall use-case fitGood (ChatGPT, Perplexity, Kimi); strong (Gemini, Grok); mixed (DeepSeek)
Research date2026-09-29

Why Griffin Funding Qualified for This Study

Questions explored

  • Is Griffin Funding a good choice for refinancing approval despite an elevated debt-to-income ratio?
  • How many AI platforms named Griffin Funding for high-DTI refinance, and at what rank?

Griffin Funding qualified because it was named by two of the six included platforms during ranking discovery, at ranks 6 (Gemini) and 4 (ChatGPT), producing an average listed rank of 5.0. That is a minority share of platform responses, so this review treats Griffin Funding as a mid-tier finalist rather than a consensus leader.

The qualification rests on product relevance rather than broad platform agreement. Griffin Funding publicly markets bank-statement loans, asset-based loans, and DSCR loans, with an emphasis on non-QM and alternative-documentation lending [1]. Its bank-statement page states DTI ratios up to 50%, with 55% allowed by exception [15]. Its asset-depletion materials describe converting liquid assets into qualifying income [5].

Independent directory coverage is thin. NerdWallet lists Griffin Funding as a mortgage lender, which confirms it operates as a lender but provides no high-DTI underwriting detail [39]. A Trustpilot review page describes Griffin Funding as a direct lender that underwrites in house and offers bank statement, DSCR, and asset depletion options [34]. Private Lender Link lists jumbo terms including up to 55% DTI for credit scores as low as 660 [33].

This report evaluates Griffin Funding only for the use case of refinancing approval despite an elevated debt-to-income ratio. It is not a broad company review. For the full field of lenders assessed against this use case, see the Refinancing approval despite an elevated debt-to-income ratio consensus index.

The mortgage offering in focus

Questions explored

  • Which Griffin Funding program should a self-employed borrower with high DTI choose for a cash-out refinance?
  • Does Griffin Funding's asset-depletion refinance require a DTI calculation?

The most relevant Griffin Funding offers for this use case are its bank-statement refinance and its asset-depletion or asset-based refinance. Both are non-QM programs designed for borrowers whose income documentation, not their cash flow, is the obstacle.

The bank-statement program uses deposits from personal or business bank statements instead of pay stubs or tax returns, and may use 12 or 24 months of statements [15]. Griffin Funding states that bank-statement borrowers may qualify at DTI ratios up to 50%, with 55% allowed by exception [15]. Cash-out refinance is published as available up to 80% of property value for the bank-statement loan offering [18]. The self-employed cash-out page states a two-year self-employment requirement [16].

The asset-depletion path works differently. Griffin Funding describes asset-depletion or asset-based lending as converting liquid assets, including savings, investments, and certain retirement accounts, into qualifying income [5]. One platform reported that under the asset utilization program, DTI is not calculated in most cases, with qualification based on liquid assets instead [28]. That is a platform-reported characterization of company material, not an independently verified underwriting rule.

Griffin Funding also markets DSCR refinance for investment properties, where underwriting is based on rental cash flow rather than personal DTI [32]. For borrowers with ordinary W-2 income, the conventional rate-and-term page lists a 620+ minimum credit score, typically 15–20% equity, and DTI below 43% — criteria that do not solve an elevated-DTI problem [19].

What the AI Platforms Agreed About

Questions explored

  • What do AI platforms agree Griffin Funding offers for high-DTI refinance borrowers?
  • Is Griffin Funding's bank-statement DTI limit of 50% with a 55% exception consistently reported?

Platforms broadly agreed on three points, though the agreement is not unanimous across all six.

First, strong agreement that Griffin Funding offers bank-statement and asset-depletion refinance products suited to non-standard income documentation. OpenAI, Grok, Perplexity, Kimi, DeepSeek, and Gemini all identified these programs [15].

Second, strong agreement on the published DTI figures. OpenAI, Grok, Perplexity, and Gemini all reported the 50% standard ceiling with 55% by exception on the bank-statement program [15]. This is the single most consistent factual finding in the evidence set.

Third, majority agreement that the fit is positive but conditional. OpenAI, Perplexity, and Kimi rated the fit "good"; Gemini and Grok rated it "strong"; DeepSeek rated it "mixed." No platform rated Griffin Funding as a poor fit for this use case.

Platforms also agreed that the DTI flexibility derives from alternative documentation rather than traditional manual-underwriting discretion. Kimi stated that Griffin Funding does not explicitly advertise manual underwriting with compensating factors as a core offering [1]. OpenAI reached the same conclusion, noting the reviewed pages describe flexible non-QM underwriting but do not clearly confirm manual approval outside published program limits [15].

Where the AI Platforms Disagreed or Were Uncertain

Questions explored

  • Does Griffin Funding perform manual underwriting for elevated-DTI refinance files?
  • What compensating factors does Griffin Funding accept to approve a DTI above 50%?

The largest disagreement is about manual underwriting. Google reported that Griffin Funding processes and underwrites loans in house, which it characterized as enabling manual underwriting flexibility on complex, high-DTI scenarios [34]. OpenAI, DeepSeek, Perplexity, and Kimi all found that the reviewed public pages do not clearly confirm manual underwriting or specify acceptable compensating factors [15]. This is a genuine conflict between one platform's characterization and four platforms' stated uncertainty.

The second uncertainty concerns the DTI ceiling itself. Perplexity flagged that one page states up to 50% DTI while another references 45% assumed and 55% by exception, with program-level differences unclear [15]. OpenAI noted Griffin Funding publishes both a conventional refinance guideline below 43% and a bank-statement guideline up to 50%, so the applicable limit depends on the selected program [15].

The third uncertainty concerns asset-depletion mechanics. OpenAI, Grok, and Gemini all reported that asset depletion may bypass DTI calculation, but the public materials reviewed do not state the exact asset haircut, seasoning rules, eligible-account rules, or maximum DTI for a refinance [5]. Google also reported that certain specialized products carry strict state exclusions, including unavailability in California for some second-lien bank-statement cash-out structures [34].

A fourth conflict concerns pricing. Grok reported bank-statement rates of roughly 6.625%–7.125% with APRs of 6.91%–7.238% [15]. Google reported the same 6.625%–7.125% range for bank-statement programs and a floor near 8.375% for non-QM second mortgages [25]. Perplexity, Kimi, DeepSeek, and ChatGPT all reported that no verified published pricing for the specific non-QM refinance programs was located [8]. The rate figures are platform-reported and should be treated as indicative only.

Mortgage features for this borrowing need

Questions explored

  • What DTI flexibility does Griffin Funding publish for bank-statement refinance borrowers?
  • How many months of bank statements does Griffin Funding require for a self-employed refinance?

Griffin Funding's use-case-relevant capabilities center on income documentation rather than DTI exception authority.

CapabilityPublished detailEvidence
Bank-statement DTI ceiling
Up to 50%, with 55% by exception
Income documentation
12 or 24 months of personal or business bank statements
Cash-out LTV
Up to 80% of property value on bank-statement loans
Asset-depletion qualification
Liquid assets converted to qualifying income; DTI reportedly not calculated in most cases
DSCR refinance
Underwriting based on rental cash flow, not personal DTI
Self-employment seasoning
Two-year minimum on the self-employed cash-out page
Conventional rate-and-term
620+ credit score, 15–20% equity, DTI below 43%
Geographic reach
Most loan types in 47 states plus Washington, DC
Process
In-house underwriting; bank account sync via Plaid

Two capability claims deserve caution. First, the 50%/55% figures are program guidelines, not an approval promise [15]. Second, the asset-depletion DTI bypass is reported by three platforms but the underlying calculation methodology is not publicly specified [5].

For context on how these figures compare with agency programs, Fannie Mae publishes standard DTI limits of 50% for Desktop Underwriter and up to 45% for qualifying manually underwritten loans [20]. Freddie Mac Refi Possible allows DTI up to 65% for borrowers at or below 80% of area median income with an existing Freddie Mac loan [23]. FHA manual underwriting permits 40/50% with two compensating factors under published guidelines [31]. These are program rules, not evidence that Griffin Funding offers or approves every such option.

Rates, fees, and ongoing costs

Questions explored

  • How much does a Griffin Funding bank-statement refinance cost in rate, points, and closing fees?
  • Does Griffin Funding charge a prepayment penalty on non-QM refinance loans?

Pricing transparency is the weakest part of the evidence set. No borrower-specific rate, APR, points, lender-credit schedule, or complete fee sheet was publicly verified for the recommended products [15].

What is published is partial and platform-reported. Griffin Funding states that refinance costs typically run about 2% to 5% of the loan amount and may include lender fees, appraisal, title insurance, and other closing costs [8]. The company advertises a limited-time offer to save $1,990 on a purchase or refinance, but eligibility, expiration, and applicability to non-QM refinances are unclear (Evidence ID openai:c1, official:C1).

Rate figures come from two platforms only. Grok reported non-QM bank-statement rates of roughly 6.625%–7.125% with APRs of 6.91%–7.238%, described as 1–2.5% over conventional for similar products [15]. Google reported the same bank-statement range and a non-QM second-mortgage floor near 8.375% [25]. Neither figure is confirmed by an independent rate sheet.

Contract terms are largely undisclosed. Griffin Funding states that refinance proceeds generally have a three-day waiting period after signing, except for investment-property refinances; this is a funding-timing rule, not a cancellation guarantee [15]. The reviewed sources do not state a product-specific lock period, rate-lock extension fee, prepayment penalty policy, or cancellation terms [15]. Kimi noted that potential prepayment penalties on non-QM products are unverified for Griffin Funding specifically [1]. Griffin Funding's terms of use disclaim warranties regarding service accuracy and results (official:C2, official:C3).

Buyers should expect mortgage interest, closing costs, appraisal or valuation costs, title and settlement charges, recording charges, and prepaid items, but the amount for any specific borrower is unclear from public sources [15].

Best Suited For

Questions explored

  • Who is Griffin Funding best suited for when DTI is elevated due to self-employment income documentation?
  • Is Griffin Funding a good fit for an asset-rich borrower with low reported income?

Griffin Funding is best suited to borrowers whose elevated DTI stems from income documentation rather than from an unmanageable debt load.

The clearest fit is a self-employed homeowner whose tax-return income understates actual cash flow, who can supply 12–24 months of qualifying personal or business bank statements, and who fits within the published 50% DTI guideline [15]. A second strong fit is an asset-rich borrower with significant liquid assets who may qualify through asset depletion or asset-based underwriting rather than a conventional DTI calculation [5]. A third fit is a homeowner seeking cash-out refinance who is willing to accept non-QM pricing and terms in exchange for alternative documentation [18].

Real estate investors refinancing rental properties form a fourth fit, because DSCR underwriting evaluates property cash flow instead of personal DTI [32]. Google also reported a "Flex Jumbo" option for high earners with large student loan balances, allowing DTIs up to 45% with 10% down [33].

Across platforms, the recurring profile is a borrower with non-standard income documentation and either strong business cash flow or substantial assets. The mortgage refinance lenders directory lists the broader set of lenders evaluated against this use case.

Probably Not Best Suited For

Questions explored

  • Who should not choose Griffin Funding for a high-DTI refinance?
  • Is Griffin Funding a poor fit for a W-2 borrower with high consumer debt?

Griffin Funding is probably not the best choice for several borrower profiles.

Borrowers with standard documented W-2 income who may qualify for a lower-cost conventional, FHA, VA, or RefiNow refinance are not the target profile [15]. W-2 employees whose high DTI comes from consumer debt rather than business deductions would face standard DTI calculations and gain nothing from bank-statement qualification [38]. Borrowers whose DTI materially exceeds the published 50% bank-statement guideline are outside the documented range [15].

Borrowers who need confirmed manual underwriting, a guaranteed compensating-factor exception, or transparent public pricing before applying should look elsewhere or verify directly, because the reviewed public materials do not establish those [15]. Borrowers who cannot provide 12–24 months of bank statements or comparable asset documentation cannot use the alternative-documentation paths [15]. Borrowers with credit scores below 620 may fall outside standard non-QM minimums, though Kimi noted this is not publicly confirmed for Griffin Funding [1]. Borrowers needing 100% financing are excluded, as Griffin Funding does not consider 100% LTV scenarios [33].

When Another Option May Be Better

Questions explored

  • When is Freddie Mac Refi Possible a better option than Griffin Funding for a high-DTI refinance?
  • When should a VA-eligible borrower choose a VA refinance over Griffin Funding?

Several alternatives may be better depending on the borrower's profile.

Freddie Mac Refi Possible may be better when the borrower has an existing Freddie Mac loan, income at or below 80% of area median income, and can use a program that allows DTI up to 65% with a $500 appraisal credit [23]. That DTI ceiling exceeds Griffin Funding's published 50% bank-statement guideline.

FHA manual underwriting may be better when the borrower has a FICO of at least 580 and can supply compensating factors, because FHA publishes explicit guidelines permitting 40/50% DTI with two compensating factors and names acceptable factors such as cash reserves, minimal payment increase, and residual income [31]. Griffin Funding's public materials do not publish a comparable compensating-factor matrix [15].

VA options may be better when the borrower is VA-eligible, since VA IRRRL and cash-out structures offer more flexible DTI treatment and no funding fee for disabled veterans [30]. Fannie Mae's high-LTV refinance option may be relevant when the existing loan is Fannie Mae-owned, since no maximum DTI applies except under the Alternative Qualification Path, though Griffin Funding's participation in that program is not established [22].

A conventional or government streamline refinance may be better when the borrower can meet standard DTI and wants the lowest possible rate [15]. A lender that explicitly publishes manual-underwriting rules, compensating factors, and high-DTI approval thresholds may be better when the borrower needs documented exception criteria before applying [15].

Questions to ask before choosing a lender

Questions explored

  • What should a buyer confirm with Griffin Funding about DTI limits before signing?
  • What documentation and pricing details should a buyer verify with Griffin Funding before a rate lock?

The following questions come from the platform research and should be answered in writing before proceeding.

  • What is the maximum approved DTI for this exact refinance type, and can it exceed 50% or 55%? [15]
  • Will the file be underwritten manually, through an automated system, or both? [15]
  • Which compensating factors are accepted, such as credit score, reserves, payment history, LTV, liquid assets, or reduced payment after refinance? [15]
  • For asset depletion, which accounts qualify, what percentage is counted, what divisor is used, and are retirement-account penalties or taxes deducted? [5]
  • For bank statements, are personal, business, or combined statements accepted; are 12 or 24 months required; and how are transfers, deposits, business expenses, and declining deposits treated? [15]
  • Is the product available for the borrower's state, occupancy type, property type, loan amount, and refinance purpose? [17]
  • What are the rate, APR, points, lender credits, origination fees, appraisal costs, reserves, and total cash-to-close? [15]
  • Is there a prepayment penalty, and if so, for how long and under what conditions? [15]
  • What minimum credit score, LTV, reserve, seasoning, mortgage-payment-history, and self-employment requirements apply? [16]
  • Does the advertised $1,990 savings offer apply to this non-QM refinance, and what conditions or expiration date apply? (Evidence ID openai:c1, official:C1)
  • Can Griffin Funding provide a written prequalification or underwriting decision showing the qualifying income, DTI calculation, and conditions before a rate lock? [15]

The consensus assessment

Griffin Funding is a good fit for a self-employed or asset-rich homeowner whose elevated DTI is caused primarily by conventional income-documentation limitations and who can fit within its published non-QM ranges. Fit is mixed for borrowers with very high DTI, ordinary W-2 income, limited reserves, or a need for confirmed manual underwriting and transparent pricing [15].

The consensus is conditional rather than enthusiastic. Five of six platforms rated the fit good or strong, but only two named Griffin Funding during ranking discovery, and the strongest factual agreement concerns published program guidelines rather than verified approval outcomes. No independent source reviewed confirms Griffin Funding's high-DTI approval performance, pricing competitiveness, or manual-underwriting practices [15].

Buyers should compare Griffin Funding's written Loan Estimate and underwriting decision against agency, VA, FHA, RefiNow, credit-union, and other non-QM options before proceeding [15].

How This Review Was Produced

This review was produced from a structured research run dated 2026-09-29. Six platforms were included in the fit-research stage: ChatGPT, Gemini, Grok, Perplexity, Kimi, and DeepSeek. Each platform received the same research prompt describing a homeowner who wants to refinance but whose debt-to-income ratio exceeds standard refinance guidelines, and who needs a lender willing to consider manual underwriting or compensating factors.

Platform responses were collected with their cited sources, fit ratings, product identifications, pricing findings, and verification questions. Ranking statistics were calculated from the platforms that named Griffin Funding during ranking discovery. Fit ratings were recorded as reported by each platform without adjustment.

All included platforms evaluated fit, but the platform-mentions count reflects only platforms that named the entity during ranking discovery. Company-owned citations materially outnumber independent citations in this evidence set, and company claims are not described here as independently verified. Citations are platform-reported evidence, not independently verified facts.

Research limitations

Several limitations constrain the conclusions in this review.

Platform-reported research dates differ from the authoritative run date. Deepseek's response carries a research date of 2026-06-01, while the run research date is 2026-09-29. Platform-reported dates are provenance metadata and do not independently prove freshness. Deepseek also ran with search disabled, so its findings rest on model knowledge rather than retrieved pages.

The evidence base is skewed toward company-owned sources. Of the deduplicated citations, 29 are owned and 10 are independent. No independent source reviewed confirms Griffin Funding's high-DTI approval performance, pricing competitiveness, or manual-underwriting practices.

The supplied URLs were collected from platform responses and were not independently validated by the writer stage. The 50%/55% DTI figures are program guidelines, not an approval promise. Manual underwriting and specific compensating factors are not clearly documented in the reviewed public materials. Asset-depletion calculation methodology and refinance-specific DTI limits are not publicly specified. State and product availability must be confirmed for the borrower's property. High-LTV refinance programs cited from Fannie Mae may not be offered by Griffin Funding and are not substitutes for confirming lender participation.

Platform agreement on published guidelines does not prove product quality, approval likelihood, or pricing competitiveness.

See the broader High Debt-to-Income Ratio Borrowers consensus index for comparisons across qualified options.

Sources

Company-Owned Sources

  1. Griffin Funding official website: https://griffinfunding.com/
  2. Arizona Bank Statement Loans: 2026 Rates & Requirements: https://griffinfunding.com/arizona-mortgage-lender/bank-statement-loans-arizona/
  3. Griffin Funding Asset-Based Loans: https://griffinfunding.com/asset-based-loans/
  4. Griffin Funding Bank Statement Loans: https://griffinfunding.com/bank-statement-loans/
  5. What Is an Asset Depletion Mortgage & How It Works: https://griffinfunding.com/blog/bank-statement-loans/asset-depletion-mortgage/
  6. Griffin Funding Cash-Out Refinance: https://griffinfunding.com/cash-out-refinance/
  7. Bank Statement Loans: Rates for Self-Employed: https://griffinfunding.com/non-qm-mortgages/bank-statement-loans/
  8. Mortgage Process: Our Step-By-Step Mortgage Loan Process: https://griffinfunding.com/our-process/
  9. Cash-Out Refinance Loans: Access Your Home Equity: https://griffinfunding.com/traditional-mortgages/
  10. High LTV Refinance Underwriting, Documentation, and Collateral Requirements for the New Loan: https://selling-guide.fanniemae.com/sel/b5-7-02/high-ltv-refinance-underwriting-documentation-and-collateral-requirements-new-loan
  11. Official pricing and terms source: https://griffinfunding.com/terms-of-use/

Independent Sources

  1. Can You Cash-Out Refinance With a High Debt-to-Income Ratio?: https://legalclarity.org/can-you-cash-out-refinance-with-a-high-debt-to-income-ratio/
  2. Refinance With a High Debt to Income Ratio | Refinance Options: https://www.360-mortgage.com/mortgage-refinance/refinance-with-high-debt-to-income-ratio/
  3. How to Refinance with a High Debt-to-Income Ratio: DTI Strategies 2026: https://www.mothebroker.com/blog/refinance-high-dti-strategies-qualification-2026
  4. NerdWallet mortgage lender listing – Griffin Funding: https://www.nerdwallet.com/mortgages/mortgage-lenders/griffin-funding

TRANSPARENCY BY DESIGN

The evidence behind this study

Research is a dated snapshot of AI recommendations and their supporting sources. Use the original evidence and methodology to understand what these findings can—and cannot—tell you.

Independent source records
10
Provider-owned source records
29
Direct support records
32

AI platforms in the study

ChatGPTClaudeDeepSeekGrokPerplexityKimiGemini

Study limitations

  • The study date identifies this research snapshot; dates reported by AI platforms do not independently establish source freshness.
  • Recommendation counts measure mentions during the ranking stage. Later fit assessments do not increase those counts.
  • Product names, costs, and features can differ across sources. Confirm conflicting details directly with the provider.
  • Source URLs came from AI platform responses and were not independently validated during report preparation.
  • Company-owned citations materially outnumber independent citations; do not describe company claims as independently verified.
  • Some dates reported by AI platforms differ from the study date. Those dates do not independently establish that the information is current.

Affiliate & commercial disclosure

We may receive compensation when you follow certain links, request mortgage quotes, or take another qualifying action through a commercial partner. These relationships create a potential financial conflict, but do not influence recorded AI recommendations or ranking calculations. Partner availability, rates, fees, and eligibility can vary.

Read the full Affiliate Disclosure for compensation, tracking, partner availability, and research independence details, or contact us with a disclosure question.

Verify the source snapshot

SHA-256: 9b4674b25a8ead1b9f31053fc46cb0dfac059bf625b7acab15287fe7d75c6cb5