Independent research. A clearer mortgage perspective.
MortgageConsensus Index

PROVIDER FIT REVIEW/

Freedom Mortgage Review for Cash-Out Refinancing

Freedom Mortgage is a mixed fit for accessing home equity through a cash-out refinance. Its strongest case is government-backed lending: FHA and VA cash-out with credit scores as low as 550. But conventional and FHA cash-out are capped at 80% LTV, and no public rate sheet, APR, or funding-time commitment was verified.

Multiple AI perspectivesEvidence-led comparisonsOur editorial independence

RECOMMENDATION COVERAGE

Freedom Mortgage

Recommended by 2 of 7 AI platforms in this study.

28.6%Consensus coverage · not a customer rating

The research in brief

Freedom Mortgage is a mixed fit for Accessing home equity as cash through refinancing. Only 2 of 7 platforms named it during the ranking stage, at an average listed rank of 6.0 and a best rank of 4. Its strongest case is government-backed lending: Freedom advertises FHA and VA cash-out refinancing with credit scores as low as 550, and VA cash-out up to 90%–100% LTV depending on the source [4]. The main limitation is that conventional and FHA cash-out are capped at 80% LTV, and no public rate sheet, APR, fee schedule, appraisal-waiver policy, or cash-out funding-time commitment was verified [7]. The ranking-stage "85% FHA LTV specialty" is contradicted by current HUD policy and Freedom's own pages.

Research Snapshot

FieldFinding
Platform mentions in ranking stage2 of 7 platforms (Claude, Perplexity)
Share of included platform responses28.6%
Average listed rank6.0
Best listed rank4 (Perplexity)
Mortgage offeringCash-Out Refinance; FHA Cash-Out Refinance
Overall use-case fitMixed
Research date2026-09-29

Platform fit ratings were split: Claude, Gemini, and Perplexity rated Freedom a "good" fit; ChatGPT, DeepSeek, and Grok rated it "mixed"; Kimi rated it "uncertain." That split is the single most important finding in this review.

Why Freedom Mortgage Qualified for This Study

Questions explored

  • Is Freedom Mortgage a good choice for accessing home equity as cash through refinancing?
  • How often did AI platforms recommend Freedom Mortgage for cash-out refinancing compared with other lenders?

Freedom Mortgage qualified because two platforms named it during ranking discovery, meeting the study's two-mention threshold, and because it is a large government-backed mortgage lender with a publicly described cash-out refinance product [4]. It did not qualify as a consensus leader. Only 2 of 7 platforms named it in the ranking stage, a 28.6% share, and it finished at an average listed rank of 6.0 with a best rank of 4 (Perplexity) and a rank of 8 (Claude). Its final rank in the study was 10.

The qualification is also narrower than the ranking-stage description implied. The ranking stage attributed an "FHA Cash-Out Refinance (85% LTV specialty)" to Freedom. Every platform that checked current policy found an 80% FHA cash-out maximum instead [7]. HUD reduced FHA cash-out maximum LTV and CLTV to 80% for case numbers assigned on or after September 1, 2019 [49]. Freedom's own FHA cash-out page states a maximum of 80% of appraised value [7].

This review sits inside a broader comparison of Accessing home equity as cash through refinancing, where Freedom is one of several lenders evaluated against the same five criteria: maximum cash-out LTV, cash-out rate pricing, appraisal requirements, funding speed, and use-of-funds flexibility.

The mortgage offering in focus

Questions explored

  • Which Freedom Mortgage cash-out refinance product should a homeowner choose if they have an FHA or VA loan?
  • Does Freedom Mortgage's FHA cash-out refinance allow more than 80% loan-to-value?

The relevant product is Freedom Mortgage's cash-out refinance, with FHA cash-out as the variant most platforms discussed. A cash-out refinance replaces the existing mortgage with a larger first mortgage and delivers the difference as cash [6]. Freedom's public material describes conventional cash-out as generally requiring at least 20% equity, implying roughly an 80% maximum LTV in the illustrated scenario [7].

LTV limits by program, as reported across platforms:

ProgramMaximum LTV reportedSource
Conventional cash-out
80%
FHA cash-out
80%
VA cash-out
90%
VA cash-out
Up to 100%

The VA figure is a genuine conflict. Most platforms reported 90% VA cash-out LTV; Gemini reported up to 100% LTV for VA cash-out [27]. Buyers relying on VA eligibility should confirm the applicable ceiling in writing rather than assume either figure.

Freedom also offers a HELOC as an alternative equity-access product, described as allowing borrowing up to 85% of home value [5]. That is a separate product from cash-out refinancing and does not change the cash-out LTV caps above.

What the AI Platforms Agreed About

Questions explored

  • What do AI platforms agree on about Freedom Mortgage's cash-out refinance LTV limits?
  • Is Freedom Mortgage's 550 minimum credit score for FHA and VA cash-out refinancing a real advantage?

Agreement was strong on four points.

First, conventional and FHA cash-out are capped at 80% LTV. This was reported by ChatGPT, Claude, Grok, Perplexity, and Gemini [7]. No platform found a current Freedom FHA cash-out product above 80%.

Second, the 85% FHA LTV specialty cited in the ranking stage does not exist in current sources. Anthropic stated plainly that "no evidence of 85% FHA cash-out specialty product from Freedom" was found, and that the current FHA standard has been 80% since the 2019 reduction [51]. Grok listed the unconfirmed 85% specialty as its only factual conflict [7]. Google noted that older secondary guides mention 85% but that primary documentation confirms 80% [52].

Third, Freedom advertises low credit-score minimums for government-backed cash-out. Freedom accepts scores as low as 550 for FHA and VA cash-out refinancing and 620 for conventional [4]. Anthropic characterized this as lower than competitors' typical 580–620 requirement [32]. This is a company-advertised threshold, not a guarantee of approval or of favorable pricing.

Fourth, cash-out proceeds are broadly usable. Freedom's material discusses home improvements, debt consolidation, and major purchases [4]. One platform described FHA cash-out proceeds as usable for any purpose without lender restriction [51], while another noted FHA program-level use rules and a hardship requirement for any portion above 80% LTV [48]. Those two statements are not fully consistent, and buyers should confirm use restrictions in writing.

Where the AI Platforms Disagreed or Were Uncertain

Questions explored

  • How fast does Freedom Mortgage fund a cash-out refinance, and is that timeline guaranteed?
  • Is Freedom Mortgage's cash-out refinance rate competitive with other lenders?

Platforms disagreed on overall fit and were uncertain on nearly every quantitative criterion.

Fit ratings split three ways: good (Claude, Gemini, Perplexity), mixed (ChatGPT, DeepSeek, Grok), and uncertain (Kimi). The disagreement tracks how much weight each platform gave to Freedom's government-loan accessibility versus its missing pricing and speed data.

Funding speed was the clearest gap. Grok reported that conventional cash-out typically closes in under 45 days [6]. Anthropic found no publicly disclosed closing time and noted that competitor CrossCountry Mortgage advertises a 21-day close [43]. Perplexity found marketing language about "faster closings" but no verified cash-out-specific timeline [17]. OpenAI found no cash-out closing-time commitment at all [4]. One platform noted that cash-out funds are typically available about three business days after closing as an industry norm, not a Freedom commitment [51]. Freedom advertises that certain HELOC applications may provide cash in as few as five days, but that is a HELOC claim, not a cash-out refinance claim [4].

Rate pricing was also unresolved. One independent rate directory listed a Freedom cash-out rate of 6.43% for a 30-year loan as of April 2026 [35]. That figure is dated, comes from a third-party directory, and was not corroborated by any other platform. Freedom states that FHA cash-out pricing depends on credit score, income, finances, market conditions, and equity [8]. No platform verified a public Freedom cash-out APR, points schedule, or pricing adjustment matrix.

Appraisal policy was uncertain. Freedom says cash-out refinances usually require a home appraisal [4]. No platform established when Freedom waives an appraisal, uses an automated valuation, or requires a full interior inspection. One platform noted that FHA Streamline refinances may avoid an appraisal, but that program is not a cash-out refinance [30].

A compliance flag appeared in two platforms' research. The CFPB sued Freedom Mortgage in October 2023 over allegedly inaccurate mortgage data reporting [34], and a separate platform cited a CFPB enforcement action over HMDA data reporting [41]. Neither source described the outcome or current status. This is a data-reporting matter, not a cash-out product defect, but buyers should treat the unresolved status as a diligence item.

Mortgage features for this borrowing need

Questions explored

  • Does Freedom Mortgage let a homeowner use cash-out refinance proceeds for any purpose?
  • Can a homeowner with a 550 credit score get a cash-out refinance from Freedom Mortgage?

Freedom's cash-out product is designed to replace the existing mortgage with a larger mortgage and deliver available equity as cash [6]. The features most relevant to this use case:

Credit accessibility. Freedom advertises FHA and VA cash-out refinancing for borrowers with credit scores often as low as 550, with conventional generally requiring 620 [4]. This is the single most consistently cited advantage across platforms.

Government-loan concentration. FHA loans accounted for over 40% of Freedom Mortgage's total business per 2024 HMDA data [30]. One platform described Freedom as a large FHA/VA servicer-lender with familiarity with government-loan cash-out underwriting [3].

Use-of-funds flexibility. Freedom's public material discusses home improvements and debt consolidation as example uses [4]. One platform reported unrestricted use of proceeds [51]; another flagged FHA program-level restrictions and a hardship documentation requirement for any portion above 80% LTV [48].

Geographic availability. Freedom Mortgage is available in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands [50].

Occupancy limits. FHA and VA cash-out refinances are generally limited to primary residences, and investment-property cash-out usually requires a conventional loan [9].

Closing-cost financing. Freedom offers an option to add closing costs to the loan amount or pay them at closing [4].

Not offered. Freedom does not offer FHA 203(k) renovation financing, which matters if the cash is intended for a structured renovation project [43].

Rates, fees, and ongoing costs

Questions explored

  • How much does a Freedom Mortgage cash-out refinance cost in closing fees and origination charges?
  • Does Freedom Mortgage's FHA cash-out refinance require mortgage insurance, and for how long?

No public fixed price was verified for Freedom's cash-out refinance. Pricing is quote-based and depends on loan program, credit, LTV, occupancy, property, loan size, market conditions, and lender or investor adjustments [4]. Pricing confidence across platforms was uniformly low.

Reported cost components:

Cost itemReported figureSource
Closing costs
2%–6% of loan amount
Closing costs
2%–5% of loan amount
Origination fees
0.5%–1% of loan amount
FHA upfront mortgage insurance premium
1.75% of base loan amount
FHA annual mortgage insurance
Applies under HUD rules
VA funding fee
1.25%–3.3%, may be financed
Appraisal
Borrower-paid, amount varies

The closing-cost range is itself a conflict: most platforms reported 2%–6%, while Gemini reported 2%–5% [25]. Freedom cites a Forbes range rather than publishing its own fee schedule [39].

Contract terms were largely undisclosed. No platform verified a prepayment penalty, and one stated that prepayment penalties are generally prohibited on FHA loans while conventional terms vary [1]. Rate-lock period, rate-lock extension fees, application-fee refund policy, and cancellation terms were not disclosed on the reviewed pages [51]. The federal three-business-day right of rescission generally applies to refinances on a primary residence [48].

Ongoing costs are the part buyers most often underestimate. FHA cash-out refinancing requires mortgage insurance [4], and HUD states that most FHA forward refinance loans require a 1.75% upfront premium plus applicable annual premiums [29]. One platform noted annual FHA mortgage insurance premiums apply for the life of the loan in most cases [1]. For a borrower with strong credit and substantial equity, that ongoing cost can make a conventional refinance cheaper than FHA even at a similar rate.

Best Suited For

Questions explored

  • Who is Freedom Mortgage's cash-out refinance actually best for?
  • Is Freedom Mortgage a good fit for a veteran who wants to pull cash out of home equity?

Freedom Mortgage is best suited to owner-occupant borrowers pursuing a government-backed cash-out refinance, particularly those whose credit profile makes conventional underwriting difficult. The specific profiles platforms identified:

  • Borrowers with credit scores in the 550–620 range seeking FHA or VA cash-out, where Freedom's advertised minimum is lower than competitors' typical 580–620 [4].
  • VA-eligible homeowners, who may access 90% LTV cash-out, above the 80% conventional and FHA ceilings [15].
  • FHA-eligible borrowers who do not currently have an FHA loan; Freedom states an existing FHA loan is not required, but an FHA-approved lender and a home appraisal are [13].
  • Borrowers who want to change loan terms or rate while accessing equity and are comfortable with an 80% LTV ceiling [51].
  • Borrowers nationwide, given availability across all 50 states and territories [50].
  • Borrowers who want the option to finance closing costs into the new loan [4].

The common thread is accessibility, not price leadership. No platform claimed Freedom offers the lowest cash-out rate, the fastest funding, or the highest conventional proceeds.

Probably Not Best Suited For

Questions explored

  • Who should not choose Freedom Mortgage for a cash-out refinance?
  • Is Freedom Mortgage a bad choice for a homeowner who needs more than 80% LTV?

Freedom Mortgage is probably not the best choice for several buyer profiles, and platforms were consistent on this.

  • Borrowers who need more than 80% LTV on a conventional or FHA cash-out. Both programs are capped at 80% [7].
  • Borrowers who want to avoid mortgage insurance. FHA cash-out requires it, including a 1.75% upfront premium and annual premiums [29].
  • Borrowers who need a documented, guaranteed funding timeline. No cash-out closing-time commitment was found [4].
  • Borrowers who want to compare published rates before applying. Freedom does not post cash-out rates online [51].
  • Borrowers seeking the lowest verified rate without obtaining a personalized Loan Estimate [4].
  • Borrowers who need FHA 203(k) renovation financing, which Freedom does not offer [43].
  • Borrowers who want a HELOC or home equity loan from the same lender. One platform stated Freedom does not directly originate HELOCs or home equity loans [1], while another platform's research found a Freedom HELOC page advertising up to 85% LTV [5]. That conflict is unresolved and should be verified directly.

When Another Option May Be Better

Questions explored

  • What is a better alternative to Freedom Mortgage for a homeowner who needs more than 80% LTV?
  • When would a HELOC be better than a Freedom Mortgage cash-out refinance?

Several scenarios point elsewhere.

When the borrower needs higher leverage. A VA cash-out may reach 90% LTV, and one platform reported up to 100% for VA [15]. Borrowers without VA eligibility who need above 80% may need specialty lenders or alternative programs with stricter credit and rate requirements [51].

When the borrower wants to preserve a low existing first-mortgage rate. A HELOC or home equity loan may be better when the borrower wants to keep an existing low first-mortgage rate or draw only part of the available equity [4]. A cash-out refinance resets the loan balance and may replace a lower existing rate with a higher one [4].

When speed is critical. A lender with a documented appraisal-waiver process or published closing-time service standard may be better when speed or valuation certainty matters most [4]. One competitor advertises a 21-day close [43].

When the loan exceeds program limits. A jumbo cash-out lender may be necessary when the required new loan exceeds FHA or conforming limits. HUD lists 2026 nationwide one-unit FHA limits of $541,287 to $1,249,125 depending on location [47].

When the borrower has strong credit and substantial equity. A conventional cash-out lender may be better when the borrower has strong credit, stable income, and substantial equity and wants to avoid FHA mortgage insurance [4].

When the borrower has an existing FHA loan and wants speed. An FHA Streamline refinance may be cheaper and faster and may avoid an appraisal, but it does not extract cash [30].

Buyers comparing across the wider market can start from the mortgage refinance lenders directory.

Questions to ask before choosing a lender

Questions explored

  • What should a homeowner confirm with Freedom Mortgage before signing a cash-out refinance contract?
  • How can a buyer verify Freedom Mortgage's actual cash-out rate and total closing costs?

Platforms converged on a similar verification list. Ask Freedom in writing:

  1. What is the maximum cash-out LTV and CLTV for my exact FHA, conventional, VA, occupancy, property-type, and loan-size scenario [4]?
  2. Why was an 85% FHA LTV specialty cited in some sources, and does Freedom currently offer any FHA cash-out scenario above 80% [4]?
  3. What are the rate, APR, points, lender credits, and total cash-to-close for my requested loan amount [4]?
  4. What are all FHA upfront and annual mortgage insurance costs, and how long will they apply [29]?
  5. Will the property require a full appraisal, exterior-only appraisal, desktop valuation, or automated valuation [4]?
  6. What appraisal, title, recording, underwriting, processing, and other fees are borrower-paid [51]?
  7. What is the estimated time from application to clear-to-close and from closing to disbursement of cash [51]?
  8. Are there minimum ownership or mortgage-seasoning requirements [4]?
  9. Are there restrictions on using proceeds for debt consolidation, investments, business purposes, or repairs [4]?
  10. Will the new loan exceed applicable FHA, conforming, or jumbo limits [47]?
  11. Are there prepayment penalties, rate-lock extension fees, or other post-application charges [1]?
  12. What is the current status of the October 2023 CFPB data-reporting matter [34]?
  13. How does Freedom's written Loan Estimate compare with at least two competing cash-out refinance offers and a HELOC or home equity loan [4]?

The consensus assessment

Freedom Mortgage is a mixed fit for accessing home equity as cash through refinancing. It earned only 2 of 7 platform mentions in the ranking stage, at an average listed rank of 6.0, and platform fit ratings split across good, mixed, and uncertain. Its genuine strength is government-backed lending accessibility: advertised FHA and VA cash-out credit minimums as low as 550, VA cash-out up to 90% LTV, and nationwide availability. Its genuine limitations are an 80% LTV ceiling on conventional and FHA cash-out, required FHA mortgage insurance, no published cash-out rates, no verified appraisal-waiver policy, and no disclosed cash-out funding timeline.

The single most important correction for buyers is that the ranking-stage "85% FHA LTV specialty" is not supported. Current HUD policy and Freedom's own pages indicate an 80% FHA cash-out maximum. Any buyer who selected Freedom on the basis of 85% FHA leverage should re-evaluate.

Platform agreement does not prove product quality. In this case, platforms agreed mainly on what Freedom does not disclose. The practical conclusion is that Freedom is a reasonable candidate for an FHA or VA cash-out borrower with a lower credit score, and a weak candidate for a borrower optimizing for rate, speed, maximum proceeds, or price transparency. Obtain a personalized Loan Estimate and compare it against at least two competing offers before committing.

How This Review Was Produced

This review was produced from a structured multi-platform research run dated 2026-09-29. Seven AI platforms evaluated Freedom Mortgage for the specific use case of accessing home equity as cash through refinancing: ChatGPT (gpt-5.6-luna), Claude (claude-haiku-4-5-20251001), Gemini (gemini-3.5-flash), Grok (x-ai/grok-4.3), Perplexity (perplexity/sonar), DeepSeek (deepseek-v4-flash), and Kimi (moonshotai/kimi-k2.6). Six of the seven ran with search enabled; DeepSeek ran with search disabled.

Each platform returned a fit rating, a direct answer, strengths and limitations for the use case, findings against five criteria (maximum cash-out LTV, cash-out rate pricing, appraisal requirements, funding speed, and use-of-funds flexibility), pricing and terms, and a list of questions to verify before buying. Ranking-stage mentions were counted separately from fit evaluation: all seven platforms evaluated fit, but only two named Freedom during ranking discovery.

Citations in this article are platform-reported evidence. They were collected from platform responses and were not independently validated at the writing stage. Company-owned sources materially outnumber independent sources in the underlying citation set, so company claims should not be read as independently verified.

Research limitations

Several limitations apply to this review and should be weighed before acting on it.

Platform-reported dates differ from the run date. The authoritative research date is 2026-09-29. Deepseek's platform-reported research date was 2026-02-14, roughly seven months earlier. Platform-reported dates are provenance metadata and do not independently prove freshness.

One platform ran without search. Deepseek's research was conducted with search disabled, so its findings reflect model knowledge rather than retrieved sources. Its claims should be treated as platform-reported rather than verified.

Company-owned citations dominate. Of the deduplicated citation set, 28 sources were company-owned and 24 were independent. Freedom's own pages are the primary source for most LTV, credit-score, and cost claims in this review.

Official-site retrieval was incomplete. Official-site retrieval failed for one or more ranking-stage mentions, and the retrieved official-page excerpts were marked "retrieved_not_verified." The homepage excerpt referenced putting equity to good use and asking how much cash a borrower might get, but contained no LTV, rate, or fee figures. The terms-and-conditions excerpt contained only site-usage language. Missing excerpts do not prove a fact is absent from the site.

Conflicts were not resolved. The 85% versus 80% FHA LTV conflict, the 90% versus 100% VA LTV conflict, the 2%–6% versus 2%–5% closing-cost conflict, and the HELOC availability conflict were all left open. Buyers should verify each directly.

No independent verification was performed. No platform conducted personal testing, and no customer experience, guaranteed performance, or independent verification is claimed in this review. Platform agreement reflects shared source material, not proven product quality.

Sources

Company-Owned Sources

  1. Should I tap home equity in 2026? Cash-out refi vs. HELOC explained: https://better.com/content/should-i-tap-home-equity-2026
  2. Haven Home Equity | Cash-Out Refinance & Debt Consolidation: https://havenhomeequity.com/
  3. Freedom Mortgage — Cash-Out Refinance / Refinance: https://www.freedommortgage.com/
  4. Cash Out Refinances: Rates & Requirements: https://www.freedommortgage.com/cash-out-refinance
  5. HELOC (Home Equity Line of Credit) | Benefits and Requirements - Freedom Mortgage: https://www.freedommortgage.com/home-equity/heloc
  6. What Is a Cash Out Refinance and How Does It Work?: https://www.freedommortgage.com/learn/home-equity/cash-out-refinance
  7. FHA Cash Out Refinance: How It Works, Requirements, and Benefits: https://www.freedommortgage.com/learn/home-equity/fha-cash-out-refinance
  8. Cash Out Refinances for Investment Properties - Freedom Mortgage: https://www.freedommortgage.com/learn/real-estate/cash-out-refinance-investment-property
  9. How To Refinance a Mortgage: A Step-by-Step Guide: https://www.freedommortgage.com/learn/refinancing/how-to-refinance
  10. What Is a Home Appraisal? Process, Cost, and What to Expect: https://www.freedommortgage.com/learning-center/articles/home-appraisal
  11. Freedom Mortgage — Refinance: https://www.freedommortgage.com/refinance
  12. What Is the Cash Out Refinance Process?: https://www.freedommortgage.com/refinance-cashout-process
  13. Cash Out Refinances: Rates & Requirements - Freedom Mortgage: https://www.freedommortgage.com/refinance/cash-out-refinance
  14. Cash Out Refinance vs. HELOC: Key Differences - Freedom Mortgage: https://www.freedommortgage.com/resources/home-equity/cash-out-refi-vs-heloc
  15. Cash Out Refinance Loan-to-Value (LTV) - Freedom Mortgage: https://www.freedommortgage.com/resources/refinancing/cash-out-refinance-ltv
  16. How To Refinance a Mortgage: A Step-by-Step Guide: https://www.freedommortgage.com/resources/refinancing/how-to-refinance
  17. Loan Products | Options | FreedomWholesale.com: https://www.freedomwholesale.com/wholesale-mortgages/loan-products

Independent Sources

  1. What is the FHA Mortgage Insurance Premium structure for forward mortgage loans?: https://answers.hud.gov/FHA/s/article/What-is-the-FHA-Mortgage-Insurance-Premium-structure-for-forward-mortgage-loans
  2. Mortgage Refinancing - Freedom Credit Union: https://freedomcu.org/loans-credit/mortgage-refinancing/
  3. 6 Best Cash-Out Refinance Lenders of September 2026: https://money.com/best-cash-out-refinance-lenders/
  4. Refi.com Mortgage Refinance Review: https://money.com/refi-com-mortgage-refinance-review/
  5. Freedom Mortgage Refi Rates (April 2026): 30yr, 15yr, Cash-Out | RefiRateBoard: https://refi-rate-board.vercel.app/en/lenders/freedom-mortgage
  6. HELOC vs. Cash-Out Refinance: Which Is Better?: https://www.altgage.com/blog/heloc-vs-cash-out-refinance
  7. Best VA Refinance Lenders in 2025 According to Experts: https://www.benzinga.com/money/best-va-refinance-lender
  8. CFPB — Freedom Mortgage enforcement action: https://www.consumerfinance.gov/enforcement/actions/
  9. Comment for 1026.38 - Content of Disclosures for Certain Mortgage Transactions: https://www.consumerfinance.gov/rules-policy/regulations/1026/interp-38/
  10. FHA Cash-Out Refinance Loans: https://www.fha.com/fha_refinance
  11. Refinancing vs Home Equity Loan: Which Option Makes Sense Today?: https://www.financeofamerica.com/education/refinancing-vs-home-equity-loan/
  12. Best Cash-Out Refinance Lenders: Low Rates & Top Companies: https://www.forbes.com/advisor/mortgages/refinance/best-cash-out-refinance-lenders/
  13. FHA Lenders Single Family: https://www.hud.gov/LENDERS
  14. HUD Handbook 4000.1 — FHA Single Family Housing Policy Handbook: https://www.hud.gov/program_offices/housing/sfh/handbook_4000-1
  15. Maximum Loan-to-Value and Combined Loan-to-Value Percentages for Cash-out Refinance Mortgages: https://www.hud.gov/sites/dfiles/OCHCO/documents/19-11ml.pdf
  16. FHA Cash Out Refinance Loan Guidelines: https://www.refiguide.org/fha-cash-out-refinance-guidelines/

TRANSPARENCY BY DESIGN

The evidence behind this study

Research is a dated snapshot of AI recommendations and their supporting sources. Use the original evidence and methodology to understand what these findings can—and cannot—tell you.

Independent source records
24
Provider-owned source records
28
Direct support records
40

AI platforms in the study

ChatGPTClaudeDeepSeekGrokPerplexityKimiGemini

Study limitations

  • The study date identifies this research snapshot; dates reported by AI platforms do not independently establish source freshness.
  • Recommendation counts measure mentions during the ranking stage. Later fit assessments do not increase those counts.
  • Product names, costs, and features can differ across sources. Confirm conflicting details directly with the provider.
  • Source URLs came from AI platform responses and were not independently validated during report preparation.
  • Company-owned citations materially outnumber independent citations; do not describe company claims as independently verified.
  • Some dates reported by AI platforms differ from the study date. Those dates do not independently establish that the information is current.

Affiliate & commercial disclosure

We may receive compensation when you follow certain links, request mortgage quotes, or take another qualifying action through a commercial partner. These relationships create a potential financial conflict, but do not influence recorded AI recommendations or ranking calculations. Partner availability, rates, fees, and eligibility can vary.

Read the full Affiliate Disclosure for compensation, tracking, partner availability, and research independence details, or contact us with a disclosure question.

Verify the source snapshot

SHA-256: 1d89622ecc3d212ded5fe3711328e4f898d679da91e7bfee6e65ce4ba0dc50fc