Independent research. A clearer mortgage perspective.
MortgageConsensus Index

AI CONSENSUS INDEX/

Best Physician Mortgage Loan Lenders (2026)

Bank of America leads this 2026 study of physician mortgage lenders for high-student-debt buyers, named by all seven AI platforms. Truist is best for true 0% down up to $1 million with no PMI, KeyBank for jumbo loans up to $3.5 million, and Regions for 15 Southern and Midwestern states.

Multiple AI perspectivesEvidence-led comparisonsOur editorial independence

The research in brief

Bank of America is the consensus leader among physician mortgage lenders for high-student-debt buyers in this 7-platform AI study, named by all seven platforms with an average listed position of 1.29 and a best position of 1. Truist is the strongest alternative for buyers who need true 0% down financing up to $1 million with no PMI, and KeyBank is the leading choice for jumbo loan amounts up to $3.5 million. Regions Bank qualifies as a regional option for buyers in 15 Southern and Midwestern states. Seven AI platforms were studied using one standardized prompt sent once to each. The principal limitation is that platform answers are market intelligence, not verified facts: pricing, PMI treatment, student-loan calculation methods, and geographic availability were frequently unpublished or contradictory across sources, and several platform-reported research dates differed from the authoritative study date of 2026-09-29.

Research Snapshot

  • Topic: Best physician mortgage lenders for buyers with high student loan debt
  • Target buyer: A physician, dentist, or medical resident with high future earning potential but heavy student loan debt that would normally push debt-to-income ratios too high for standard mortgage approval
  • Use case: Physician loan program with favorable student-debt treatment, low or zero down payment, and no private mortgage insurance requirement
  • Geography: United States
  • Platforms included (7): ChatGPT, Claude, DeepSeek, Grok, Perplexity, Kimi, Gemini
  • Research date: 2026-09-29
  • Unique entities named across platforms: 14
  • Qualifying entities: 4
  • Eligibility rule: Named by at least two platforms during ranking discovery
  • Ranking unit: Mortgage lender

The Consensus Ranking

Questions explored

  • What are the best mortgage lenders for a physician with high student loan debt in 2026?
  • Which physician mortgage lenders were named most often across AI platforms for high-debt buyers?

Platform mentions count only platforms that named the entity during ranking discovery. All seven platforms later completed fit assessments for the entities they named, but that is a separate measure from the mention count shown here.

RankEntityPlatform mentionsAverage listed positionBest positionBest considered for
1
Bank of America
7
1.29
1
Residents or fellows with an executed job or training position beginning within 90 days after closing; Eligible medical professionals whose student-loan balances materially impair conventional debt-to-income qualification; Borrowers seeking a fixed-rate or adjustable-rate primary-residence mortgage with a low down payment
2
Truist
7
4.57
1
MD, DO, DPM, DDS, or DMD borrowers and eligible residents, interns, or fellows.; Borrowers seeking up to 100% financing on loans up to $1 million.; Borrowers whose student loans are deferred at least 12 months after closing or whose documented income-driven payment may be accepted.
3
KeyBank
5
4.8
3
Residents or fellows who can document an accepted employment or residency contract.; Physicians and dentists seeking a physician-specific mortgage with possible low down payment and no PMI.; Borrowers whose student-loan payment under an income-driven plan may produce a more favorable debt-to-income calculation.
4
Regions Bank
2
7.5
7
Residents or fellows with a signed future employment contract.; Physicians or dentists seeking up to $1 million with no down payment, subject to qualification.; Borrowers who want no borrower-paid PMI and have limited liquid savings because of education debt.

Which lender fits your situation?

Questions explored

  • Which physician mortgage lender should a resident with a signed contract but no savings choose?
  • Is Bank of America or Truist better for a physician who needs zero down payment?
  • Which lender is best for a physician who needs a jumbo physician loan above $2 million?
Buyer situationBest-fit lenderWhy
Resident or fellow with a signed contract starting within 90 days, some savings available
Bank of America
Explicit 90-day pre-employment closing, student debt may be excluded from total-debt calculations, published down-payment tiers from 3% [18]
Buyer who needs true 0% down up to $1 million with no PMI
Truist
Advertised 100% financing up to $1 million, no mortgage insurance, explicit resident/intern/fellow eligibility [42]
Buyer with deferred student loans who needs written DTI exclusion rules
Truist
Publishes exclusion of student loans deferred at least 12 months after closing and acceptance of reduced income-driven payments [82]
Buyer needing a jumbo physician loan above $2 million
KeyBank
Reported loan ceiling up to $3.5 million with no PMI, though tiers are not published by the bank [105]
Buyer purchasing in a Southern or Midwestern state who wants 0% down and no PMI
Regions Bank
No-down-payment options up to $1 million, no borrower-paid PMI, some deferred student loan payments excluded from DTI [36]
Buyer outside the 15-state Regions footprint or in Alaska, Arizona, or Hawaii
Bank of America, Truist, or KeyBank
Regions is state-limited; Truist excludes AK, AZ, HI; Bank of America and KeyBank have broader but still restricted footprints [110]
Buyer with credit score below 700
Truist or Bank of America (verify)
KeyBank sources cite a 700 minimum; Regions sources cite 700+ for 100% financing [88]
Buyer who wants published, transparent student-loan underwriting rules before applying
Truist
Most transparent published policy on student loan treatment among the ranked lenders [61]

1. Bank of America

Questions explored

  • Is Bank of America worth it for a physician with high student debt, and what are its main drawbacks?
  • Does Bank of America's Doctor Loan require PMI or offer a 0% down option?
  • What should a resident verify before choosing Bank of America's Doctor Loan over Truist?

Bank of America ranks first because it was the only entity named by all seven platforms and held the top position on five of them [18]. Its Doctor Loan is explicitly marketed to licensed and practicing doctors and dentists, medical residents and fellows, and other eligible medical professionals, and it directly addresses the core problem in this use case: student loan debt may be excluded from the total-debt calculation with additional documentation [13]. The Bank of America fit review covers the full program terms.

Why it ranked here. Seven of seven platforms named Bank of America, and five placed it first. Its average listed position of 1.29 is the strongest in the study. Platforms converged on the same core strengths: student-debt exclusion from DTI, resident and fellow eligibility with a 90-day pre-employment closing window, and published down-payment tiers [18].

Best suited for. Residents or fellows with an executed job or training position beginning within 90 days after closing; eligible medical professionals whose student-loan balances materially impair conventional debt-to-income qualification; borrowers seeking a fixed-rate or adjustable-rate primary-residence mortgage with a low down payment [13].

Main strengths for this use case. Published down-payment tiers are 3% up to $850,000, 5% up to $1 million, 10% up to $1.5 million, and 15% up to $2 million [13]. Residents and fellows with a job lined up may close up to 90 days before starting the position [18]. Eligible degrees include MD, DO, DDS, DMD, OD, DPM, and DVM, with researchers and professors explicitly excluded [65]. Both fixed-rate and adjustable-rate structures are available [13].

Main limitations. No publicly verified 0% down option exists for the Doctor Loan [13]. PMI treatment is the single largest unresolved question: the official Doctor Loan page does not state whether mortgage insurance is charged or waived, even though multiple independent sources describe a waiver [65]. Reserve requirements of 4 to 12 months of PITIA may offset the benefit of a low down payment [15]. An applicant must have or open a Bank of America checking or savings account before closing [73]. The product is restricted to qualifying primary residences and excludes co-ops, 2–4 unit buildings, and mixed-use properties [10].

Pricing or cost summary. No public Doctor Loan interest-rate sheet, APR schedule, or origination-fee schedule was verified. Down payment minimums are 3%, 5%, 10%, or 15% depending on loan amount [13]. Independent sources cite origination fees near 1% of the loan amount with Preferred Rewards discounts of $200–$600, and closing costs of roughly 2–5% of the loan balance [73]. Pricing confidence across platforms was low.

Where platforms disagreed. Deepseek rated the fit "mixed" and could not verify student-debt methodology, PMI waivers, or resident income projection from retrieved material [18]. Kimi called it a "conservative" option poorly suited to residents needing low-cash entry [60]. Google and Perplexity rated it "good" and described PMI as avoided [79]. Maximum loan amount was reported variously as $2 million and $3.5 million [54]. Whether income-driven repayment payments are counted, and how, was described as loan-officer dependent [113].

2. Truist

Questions explored

  • Is Truist or Bank of America better for a physician who needs 0% down and no PMI?
  • Does Truist's Doctor Loan exclude student loans from DTI, and under what conditions?
  • Which states is the Truist Doctor Loan unavailable in?

Truist ranks second with seven of seven platform mentions but a wider spread of listed positions, from first on Kimi to ninth on Deepseek and Perplexity [61]. It is the strongest alternative for buyers who need true zero-down financing: it advertises 100% financing up to $1 million, 95% up to $1.5 million, and 89.99% up to $2 million, with no mortgage insurance [42]. The Truist fit review details the tier structure and eligibility rules.

Why it ranked here. Truist was named by every platform and received the best position of 1 on Kimi. Its distinguishing feature is the most transparent published student-loan policy among the ranked lenders: student loans may be excluded from DTI when deferred at least 12 months after closing, and reduced income-driven repayment payments may be accepted with documentation [82].

Best suited for. MD, DO, DPM, DDS, or DMD borrowers and eligible residents, interns, or fellows; borrowers seeking up to 100% financing on loans up to $1 million; borrowers whose student loans are deferred at least 12 months after closing or whose documented income-driven payment may be accepted [38].

Main strengths for this use case. No mortgage insurance is advertised across all financing tiers [42]. Residents, interns, and fellows in MD, DO, and DPM programs are expressly eligible, with a stated maximum home-loan amount of $1 million for that group [42]. Rate discounts of 0.25 to 0.75 points are available with qualifying Truist deposit or investment balances [61]. Fixed and adjustable products include 15-year and 30-year fixed plus 5/6, 7/6, and 10/6 ARMs [121].

Main limitations. Geographic availability is inconsistent across Truist's own materials: the current webpage excludes Alaska, Arizona, and Hawaii, while the product flyer additionally lists Oregon [42]. Doctors with 15 or more years post-training generally must be Truist Wealth clients, and doctors practicing 10 to 15 years post-training are limited to 89.99% maximum financing [42]. The standard product is limited to primary residences [58]. Zero-down financing leaves no initial equity and creates negative-equity exposure if values decline [38]. Independent reviews describe Truist rates as "a bit high" and in line with Wells Fargo rather than market leaders [75].

Pricing or cost summary. No single Doctor Loan interest rate or complete fee schedule is published. Origination fees are cited at 0.5%–1.0% of the loan amount, plus appraisal, credit report, underwriting, and title costs [116]. Physician loan rates typically run 0.125–0.5 points above conventional benchmarks, equating to roughly $90–$210 per month on a $700,000 loan without a relationship discount [20]. An extension fee may apply if a qualifying relationship-rate discount cannot be verified before closing [42].

Where platforms disagreed. Deepseek rated the fit "mixed" and could not verify 2026 down-payment minimums, no-PMI confirmation, or resident income projection [41]. Perplexity rated it "good" but flagged that the exact student-loan underwriting rule was not clearly verifiable from official snippets [42]. Google, Grok, Kimi, and OpenAI rated it "strong." State availability was reported as 22 core states, 47 states plus DC, and "all 50 states" across different sources [58]. Maximum loan limits were reported as $1.5 million, $2 million, and $2.5 million depending on source and tier [108].

3. KeyBank

Questions explored

  • Is KeyBank worth it for a physician who needs a jumbo physician loan above $2 million?
  • Does KeyBank require a minimum credit score or DTI cap for its physician mortgage?
  • Is KeyBank or Truist better for a resident who needs 0% down with no PMI?

KeyBank ranks third, named by five of seven platforms with an average listed position of 4.80 and a best position of 3 [105]. It is the leading option for jumbo loan amounts: sources cite a ceiling up to $3.5 million with no PMI, the highest published ceiling in physician lending [105]. The KeyBank fit review covers the program's published and unpublished terms.

Why it ranked here. Five platforms named KeyBank, and it received the third position on Anthropic and fourth on Google. Its distinguishing features are the highest reported loan ceiling, no PMI, and physician-specific underwriting that considers future income [105].

Best suited for. Residents or fellows who can document an accepted employment or residency contract; physicians and dentists seeking a physician-specific mortgage with possible low down payment and no PMI; borrowers whose student-loan payment under an income-driven plan may produce a more favorable debt-to-income calculation [22].

Main strengths for this use case. KeyBank states its medical professional mortgage has no PMI requirement [23]. Reported financing tiers are 0% down up to $1 million, 5% up to $1.5 million, and 15% up to $2 million, with a $3.5 million ceiling [106]. Residents, fellows, interns, and practicing doctors and dentists are eligible, and the program accepts signed employment contracts [108]. KeyBank acts as underwriter, originator, and servicer, which streamlines the process [105]. No prepayment penalties are reported [88]. A 0.25% rate discount is advertised for KeyBank clients, and AMA members may receive up to $650 off closing costs [22].

Main limitations. KeyBank publishes no down-payment tiers, no DTI ceiling, no explicit student-loan treatment method, and no state list on its public site [61]. A minimum credit score of 700 is cited by multiple sources, and the DTI ratio is capped at 50% [88]. Geographic coverage is reported as 15 states by some sources and 37 states plus DC by others [55]. One source states residents and fellows do not qualify, conflicting with other eligibility statements [88]. Retired doctors are explicitly excluded [104]. The program is restricted to MD, DO, DPM, DDS, and DMD degrees, excluding veterinarians and other allied health professionals [105]. KeyBank charges a $1,095 lender fee to process the mortgage [88].

Pricing or cost summary. No published rates, APR, or fee schedule for the medical professional mortgage. The $1,095 lender fee is the only specific cost cited [88]. A 0.25% rate reduction is available with automatic payment setup or KeyBank relationship benefits [21]. Independent assessment indicates KeyBank has been "less aggressively priced for attending physicians" recently [62]. Pricing confidence was low across platforms.

Where platforms disagreed. Deepseek rated the fit "uncertain," citing the absence of public detail on student-loan treatment and resident income projection [23]. Anthropic, Google, Grok, Kimi, OpenAI, and Perplexity rated it "good" or "strong." State coverage was reported as 15 states and 37 states plus DC [55]. Resident eligibility was both affirmed and denied across sources [104]. Whether the 0.25% discount applies to the mortgage rate or only to refinancing was unclear [61].

4. Regions Bank

Questions explored

  • Is Regions Bank worth it for a physician with high student debt, and which states is it available in?
  • Does Regions Bank offer 0% down and no PMI for physicians, and what are the loan limits?
  • What should a buyer verify before choosing Regions Bank over Bank of America or Truist?

Regions Bank ranks fourth, named by only two of seven platforms (OpenAI and Kimi) with an average listed position of 7.50 and a best position of 7 [36]. It qualifies under the two-mention eligibility rule but carries the weakest cross-platform support in the study. Its strongest features are no-down-payment options up to $1 million, no borrower-paid PMI, and exclusion of some deferred student loan payments from DTI [36]. The Regions Bank fit review covers the geographic and underwriting constraints.

Why it ranked here. Two platforms named Regions, and both placed it seventh or eighth. Its inclusion reflects a genuine physician mortgage program with competitive headline features, but the thin platform support and conflicting public documentation limit its standing.

Best suited for. Residents or fellows with a signed future employment contract; physicians or dentists seeking up to $1 million with no down payment, subject to qualification; borrowers who want no borrower-paid PMI and have limited liquid savings because of education debt [36].

Main strengths for this use case. Regions advertises no-down-payment options up to $1 million and low-down-payment options up to $2 million [36]. Borrower-paid private mortgage insurance is not required [30]. Qualified borrowers may close before employment begins using a signed employment contract, with a reported 90-day pre-start window [110]. Regions states that physician mortgage programs may treat deferred or income-driven student-loan payments differently and that student loans do not necessarily disqualify an applicant [30]. Eligible degrees include MD, DO, DDS, and DMD, with residents and fellows eligible regardless of years practiced [32].

Main limitations. Availability is limited to 15 states: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Texas [110]. Regions does not publish mortgage rates online, and an independent 2026 review reported rates above industry medians [69]. The exact student-loan calculation methodology is not fully published [30]. Loan limits are reported variously as $750,000, $1 million, $1.5 million, and $2 million across sources [89]. The program is limited to primary residences and does not cover construction loans [89]. Credit scores of 700+ are typically required for 100% financing [57].

Pricing or cost summary. No reliable physician-loan interest-rate quote, APR, points schedule, or closing-cost estimate is published. Regions acknowledges that physician mortgages often carry higher interest rates than conventional mortgages because they permit high loan-to-value borrowing and waive PMI [30]. Independent sources cite a rate premium of 0.125–0.375% above conventional loans [102]. Pricing confidence was low.

Where platforms disagreed. Deepseek rated the fit "weak" and could not verify that a physician mortgage program exists in 2026, noting that third-party physician-loan roundups reviewed do not list Regions [119]. Kimi rated it "uncertain" for the same reason [65]. OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, and Perplexity rated it "good," and Grok rated it "mixed." State availability was reported as 14 states, 15 states, and 15 states plus Ohio depending on source [57]. Down payment on loans up to $1 million was reported as both 0% and 5% [89].

What this study reveals

Questions explored

  • What do AI platforms consistently say about physician mortgage lenders for high-debt buyers?
  • Which physician loan features are most often cited as decisive for high student debt?

Three findings stand out across the seven platforms. First, student-loan debt treatment is the decisive underwriting variable, not the interest rate. Every platform that rated an entity "strong" cited an explicit student-debt policy: Bank of America's exclusion from total-debt calculations, Truist's 12-month deferment exclusion and income-driven payment acceptance, and KeyBank's physician-specific underwriting [13]. Platforms that could not verify a student-debt policy rated the same lenders "mixed" or "uncertain" [18].

Second, no-PMI is treated as table stakes rather than a differentiator. All four ranked lenders are described as avoiding borrower-paid PMI, and platforms rarely used PMI as a tiebreaker [79]. The differentiator is the down-payment tier structure: Truist and Regions advertise 0% down up to $1 million, Bank of America's floor is 3%, and KeyBank's tiers are reported by third parties but not published by the bank [42].

Third, geographic availability is the most common disqualifier. Truist excludes Alaska, Arizona, and Hawaii; Regions operates in 15 states; KeyBank's footprint is reported as 15 to 37 states; and Bank of America is described as available across the continental United States [39]. A buyer's state often narrows the shortlist before any rate comparison begins.

Where the AI Platforms Agreed

Questions explored

  • Which physician mortgage lender do AI platforms agree is the best overall for high student debt?
  • Do AI platforms agree that Bank of America and Truist belong on every physician loan shortlist?

All seven platforms named Bank of America and Truist, making them the only two entities with 100% mention rates [18]. Platforms agreed that Bank of America's Doctor Loan addresses high student debt through student-loan exclusion from total-debt calculations and that residents and fellows can close up to 90 days before employment begins [18]. Platforms agreed that Truist offers 0% down up to $1 million with no PMI and explicitly includes residents, interns, and fellows [42]. Platforms agreed that KeyBank offers no PMI and a high loan ceiling, though they disagreed on the exact figure [23]. Platforms agreed that Regions Bank offers no borrower-paid PMI and no-down-payment options up to $1 million [36]. Platforms also agreed that published pricing is scarce across all four lenders and that buyers must obtain individualized Loan Estimates [13].

Where the AI Platforms Disagreed

Questions explored

  • Why do AI platforms disagree about whether Bank of America waives PMI on its Doctor Loan?
  • Which physician mortgage lender has the most reliable published student loan DTI rules?

The largest disagreement concerns Bank of America's PMI treatment. Google, Perplexity, and Anthropic describe PMI as waived or avoided [79], while Kimi, Grok, and OpenAI state that the official Doctor Loan page does not confirm a waiver and that the question must be verified [65]. Deepseek could not verify PMI treatment at all [18].

The second disagreement concerns whether Regions Bank has a verifiable physician mortgage program. OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, Perplexity, and Grok describe specific program terms [36], while Deepseek and Kimi could not confirm the program's existence from public sources and noted that third-party physician-loan roundups do not list Regions [119].

The third disagreement concerns KeyBank's geographic footprint and resident eligibility. Sources report 15 states and 37 states plus DC [55], and one source states residents and fellows do not qualify while others state they do [88]. The fourth disagreement concerns loan limits across all lenders: Bank of America was reported at both $2 million and $3.5 million, Truist at $1.5 million, $2 million, and $2.5 million, and Regions at $750,000 through $2 million [54].

How to compare your options

Questions explored

  • What should a physician with high student debt check before choosing a physician mortgage lender?
  • How should a buyer compare Bank of America, Truist, KeyBank, and Regions Bank for a physician loan?

Start with geography, because it eliminates options fastest. Confirm your purchase state against each lender's current footprint before investing time in an application [110]. Next, get the student-loan calculation in writing. Ask each lender exactly which payment is used in DTI: the actual income-driven repayment amount, a percentage of the balance, or zero if deferred [13]. Third, confirm PMI treatment on the Loan Estimate rather than in marketing materials, since Bank of America's own page is silent on the question [65]. Fourth, compare total cash to close, not just the down payment, because reserve requirements of 4 to 12 months of PITIA can exceed the down payment itself [15]. Fifth, request Loan Estimates from at least two competing physician lenders and one conventional lender, since physician loan rates typically run 0.125–0.5 points above conventional benchmarks [20]. The broader home purchase mortgage lenders directory lists additional lender categories if the physician loan route does not fit.

Methodology

This study used one standardized prompt sent once to each of seven AI platforms: ChatGPT, Claude, DeepSeek, Grok, Perplexity, Kimi, and Gemini. The prompt described a medical resident or newly practicing physician with substantial student loan debt that would normally push their debt-to-income ratio too high for standard mortgage approval, and asked which providers would be recommended for a dedicated physician loan program with favorable student debt treatment, low or zero down payment, and no private mortgage insurance requirement.

The research date was 2026-09-29. Entities qualified for the final ranking if they were named by at least two platforms during ranking discovery. Fourteen unique entities were named; four qualified. The final ranking order is based on platform mentions, then average listed rank, then best listed rank. Platform mentions count only ranking-discovery mentions and do not reflect the number of platforms that later completed a fit assessment.

Platform-reported research dates differed from the authoritative run date: DeepSeek reported 2026-02-13 for Bank of America, 2026-06-01 for Truist and Regions Bank, and 2026-01-15 for KeyBank. These are provenance metadata and do not independently prove freshness. Deepseek also ran without search enabled, so its claims require explicit verification before being described as current facts.

Research limitations

AI answers can vary by date, wording, location, account state, model, interface, browsing configuration, and the sources retrieved. A single prompt sent once to each platform captures one snapshot, not a stable ranking. Platform recommendations are market intelligence, not independent customer reviews or proof of quality.

The supplied URLs were collected from platform responses and were not independently validated by the writer stage. Citations are platform-reported evidence, not independently verified facts. Official-site retrieval failed for KeyBank, and the retrieved Bank of America and Truist pages were marked retrieved-not-verified. One or more fetched domains were not corroborated by brand name or site identity metadata and were not used as official identity signals.

Company-name variants were collapsed onto one canonical brand before minimum-mentions qualification. A product-labeled company mention was merged using matching company-name and supplied-domain signatures. Conflicting product names, pricing, and capabilities were not resolved by guessing; they are described as conflicts with verification guidance. Platform-reported research dates differ from the authoritative run date, as noted above.

The consensus assessment

Bank of America is the consensus leader for physician mortgage borrowers with high student debt, named by all seven platforms with the strongest average position. Its student-debt exclusion from total-debt calculations and 90-day pre-employment closing window directly address the use case, but buyers should not assume zero down or no PMI without written confirmation. Truist is the strongest alternative for buyers who need true 0% down up to $1 million with no PMI and the most transparent published student-loan policy. KeyBank is the leading choice for jumbo loan amounts up to a reported $3.5 million, subject to a 700 credit score and a 50% DTI cap. Regions Bank is a viable regional option in 15 states with 0% down up to $1 million and no borrower-paid PMI, but its thin platform support and unpublished pricing warrant direct verification. No lender in this study publishes complete, current, borrower-specific terms, so the final decision should rest on written Loan Estimates from at least two competing physician lenders.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which lender is best for a physician with high student debt? Bank of America ranks first in this study, named by all seven platforms with an average listed position of 1.29. Truist is the strongest alternative for buyers who need 0% down financing.

Does Bank of America's Doctor Loan require PMI? The official Doctor Loan page does not state whether mortgage insurance is charged or waived. Independent sources describe a waiver, but platforms disagreed, and buyers should confirm on the Loan Estimate [65].

Does Truist really offer 0% down? Truist advertises 100% financing up to $1 million, 95% up to $1.5 million, and 89.99% up to $2 million, with no mortgage insurance [42].

Which lender has the highest physician loan limit? KeyBank is reported at up to $3.5 million, the highest ceiling in the study, though the bank does not publish its tiers directly [105].

Can residents qualify before starting a job? Bank of America, Truist, KeyBank, and Regions Bank all describe resident and fellow eligibility with signed employment contracts, typically allowing closing up to 90 days before the start date [18].

Which states are excluded? Truist excludes Alaska, Arizona, and Hawaii. Regions Bank operates in 15 Southern and Midwestern states. KeyBank's footprint is reported as 15 to 37 states [39].

How many platforms were studied? Seven: ChatGPT, Claude, DeepSeek, Grok, Perplexity, Kimi, and Gemini. One standardized prompt was sent once to each on 2026-09-29.

Sources used in this study

Company-Owned Sources

  1. Key for Doctors Home: https://doctors.key.com/
  2. Key for Doctors Banking & Financial Services - KeyBank: https://doctors.key.com/healthcare-banking/services/
  3. What to Know About Becoming a Homeowner as a Resident | KeyBank: https://doctors.key.com/healthcare-banking/what-to-know-about-becoming-a-homeowner/
  4. Mortgages: Physician Loan vs. Conventional Loan | KeyBank - Key for Doctors: https://doctors.key.com/mortgages-physician-loan-vs-conventional-loan/
  5. Personalized Service. Integrated Approach. Bank of America Home Financing Solutions: https://mlaem.fs.ml.com/content/dam/ML/Articles/pdf/472073PM.pdf
  6. Doctor Loans: Buy a Home With Zero Down and No PMI: https://mortgagemayo.com/blog/doctor-loans-zero-down-no-mortgage-insurance
  7. Official pricing and terms source: https://www.bankofamerica.com/
  8. Doctor Loans for Licensed and Practicing Medical Professionals: https://www.bankofamerica.com/mortgage/doctor-loan/
  9. Physician Loans: How They Work for Medical Professionals: https://www.herringbank.com/learn/physician-loans/
  10. Mortgage & Home Loan Information | Homebuying Process | KeyBank: https://www.key.com/personal/home-loans-lines/mortgage/index.html
  11. Medical Professional Mortgage | Doctor's Home Loan | KeyBank: https://www.key.com/personal/home-loans-lines/mortgage/professional-mortgages.html
  12. Financial Solutions for Residents and Fellows - Laurel Road: https://www.laurelroad.com/healthcare-banking/resident-and-fellow/
  13. Physician Personal Loan - Physician Bank: https://www.physicianbank.com/physician-personal-loan/
  14. Regions Bank Official Website: https://www.regions.com
  15. Physicians and Dentists | Business Banking | Regions Bank: https://www.regions.com/business-banking/physicians-dentists
  16. How Physician Mortgage Loans Work — Benefits, Requirements & FAQs: https://www.regions.com/insights/personal/article/essential-guide-to-physician-mortgage-loans
  17. Mortgage Loan for Physicians and Emerging Professionals: https://www.regions.com/personal-banking/home-mortgage-loans/physician-mortgage
  18. Doctor Mortgage Program | Regions Bank: https://www.regions.com/promo/doctor-mortgage-program
  19. Official pricing and terms source: https://www.truist.com
  20. Truist branch and lending footprint: https://www.truist.com/locations
  21. Truist mortgage and medical professional lending overview: https://www.truist.com/mortgage
  22. Doctor Loans: Mortgages for Eligible Physicians and Dentists: https://www.truist.com/mortgage/doctor-loan
  23. Truist doctor loan / medical professional mortgage details: https://www.truist.com/mortgage/learn/doctor-loan
  24. Physician mortgage / doctor loan program information: https://www.truist.com/mortgage/learn/physician-loan
  25. Official pricing and terms source: https://www.truist.com/terms-and-conditions

Independent Sources

  1. Bank of America Physician Mortgage Loan | Doctor Loan Program: https://doctorloanprograms.com/bank-of-america-physician-mortgage-loan/
  2. KeyBank Physician Mortgage | Doctor Loan Program: https://doctorloanprograms.com/keybank-physician-mortgage/
  3. Truist Bank Physician Loans | Doctor Loan Program: https://doctorloanprograms.com/truist-bank-physician-loans/
  4. Truist - Doctor Mortgage Loan: https://doctorloanprograms.com/truist/
  5. KeyBank Physician Loan Review 2026: Financial Residency: https://financialresidency.com/keybank-physician-loan-review/
  6. Regions Bank Physician Loan Review | Financial Residency: https://financialresidency.com/regions-bank-physician-loan-review/
  7. Regions Mortgage Review 2026: Multiple Loan Options...: https://lendedu.com/blog/regions-mortgage-review/
  8. Bank of America Doctor Loan Review (2026): 3% Down to $850K: https://medmoneyguide.com/guides/bank-of-america-doctor-loan-review
  9. The Complete Physician Mortgage Guide (2026): 0% Down, No PMI, and the Lender That's Right for You: https://medmoneyguide.com/guides/physician-mortgage-guide
  10. The Complete Guide to Student Loan Refinancing for Physicians (2026): https://medmoneyguide.com/guides/student-loan-refinancing
  11. Do Student Loans Affect Your Physician Mortgage? Less Than You Think (2026): https://medmoneyguide.com/guides/student-loans-affect-physician-mortgage
  12. TD Bank Physician Loan Review (2026): 0% Down to $1M: https://medmoneyguide.com/guides/td-bank-physician-loan-review
  13. Best Physician Mortgage Loans (2026): 7 Lenders Compared: https://medmoneyguide.com/reviews/physician-mortgages
  14. Best Student Loan Refinancing for Physicians (2026) | MedMoneyGuide: https://medmoneyguide.com/reviews/student-loan-refinancing
  15. 19 Best Physician Mortgage Loans 2026: Top Lenders for Doctors: https://millennialmoney.com/physician-loans/
  16. Physician Loans: Should Doctors Consider This Type of Mortgage? | Mortgages | U.S. News: https://money.usnews.com/loans/mortgages/articles/physician-loans
  17. Physician Mortgage Loans 2026: 0% Down Up to $1.5M (No PMI, No Student Debt DTI): https://mortgage-info.com/blog/physician-mortgage-loans-doctor-home-loans-2026-guide
  18. Doctor/Physician Loans - MortgageLoans.net: https://mortgageloans.net/loan-programs/doctor-physician-loans/
  19. Bank of America® Doctor Loan Pursue your home financing goals and your career: https://philamedsoc.org/wp-content/uploads/2023/03/DoctorLoanAd.pdf
  20. What Is the Bank Of America Doctor Loan Program? | Physicians Thrive: https://physiciansthrive.com/bank-of-america-doctor-loan/
  21. Truist Mortgage Rates | See This Week's Rates | SmartAsset.com: https://smartasset.com/mortgage/suntrust-mortgage-rates
  22. KeyBank lending & financial services | American Medical Association: https://www.ama-assn.org/member-benefits/keybank-lending-financial-services
  23. Physician Mortgage Loans: What You Need to Know - Bankrate: https://www.bankrate.com/mortgages/physician-mortgage-loans/
  24. Keybank Physician Loan Program (Updated 2026) - Biglaw Investor: https://www.biglawinvestor.com/keybank-physician-loan-program/
  25. Bank of America Physician Loan Program (Updated 2026): https://www.biglawinvestor.com/marketplace/physician-loans/banks/bank-of-america/
  26. Regions Bank Physician Mortgage Program (Updated 2026): https://www.biglawinvestor.com/marketplace/physician-loans/banks/regions-bank/
  27. Truist Physician Loan Mortgage: Is it the Right Program for You?: https://www.biglawinvestor.com/marketplace/physician-loans/banks/truist/
  28. Mortgages | Consumer Financial Protection Bureau: https://www.consumerfinance.gov/consumer-tools/mortgages/
  29. Student loans | Consumer Financial Protection Bureau: https://www.consumerfinance.gov/consumer-tools/student-loans/
  30. Bank of America Physician Mortgage Loan Review (2026): https://www.leveragerx.com/blog/bank-of-america-physician-loan-review/
  31. Laurel Road Physician Mortgage Review (Updated 2026) | LeverageRx: https://www.leveragerx.com/laurel-road-physician-mortgage-review/
  32. Bank of America Physician Mortgage Loan Review (2026): https://www.leveragerx.com/physician-mortgage-loans/bank-of-america-review/
  33. Regions Physician Loan Review (Updated 2026) | LeverageRx: https://www.leveragerx.com/physician-mortgage-loans/regions/
  34. Truist Physician Loan Review (Updated 2026) | LeverageRx: https://www.leveragerx.com/physician-mortgage-loans/truist-review/
  35. Zero Down Payment, No-PMI Mortgages for Doctors: https://www.mortgageresearch.com/articles/doctor-mortgage-loans/
  36. Physician Mortgage Loans: 2026 Complete Guide | SalaryDr Blog: https://www.salarydr.com/blog/physician-mortgage-loans-guide
  37. KeyBank Physician Mortgage Review: Home Financing for Young Doctors and Dentists: https://www.studentloanplanner.com/keybank-physician-mortgage-loan-2/
  38. KeyBank Physician Mortgage Loan Review - Student Loan Planner: https://www.studentloanplanner.com/keybank-physician-mortgage-loan/
  39. KeyBank Physician Mortgage Loan Review - Student Loan Planner: https://www.studentloanplanner.com/keybank-physician-mortgage-review/
  40. Laurel Road Physician Mortgage Review: Home Financing for Young Doctors and Dentists: https://www.studentloanplanner.com/laurel-road-physician-mortgage-loan/
  41. 12 Best Physician Mortgage Loans in Florida (2026 Guide): https://www.studentloanplanner.com/physician-mortgage-loans-florida/
  42. Truist Physician Mortgage Loan Review - Student Loan Planner: https://www.studentloanplanner.com/truist-physician-mortgage-loan/
  43. Doctor Mortgage Loan [Complete Guide] | The White Coat Investor: https://www.whitecoatinvestor.com/doctor-mortgage-loan-complete-guide/
  44. Best Physician Mortgage Loans of 2025 - White Coat Investor: https://www.whitecoatinvestor.com/physician-mortgage-loans/
  45. The Best Mortgage Lenders for Doctors: https://www.whitecoatinvestor.com/physician-mortgages/

Other Sources

TRANSPARENCY BY DESIGN

The evidence behind this study

Research is a dated snapshot of AI recommendations and their supporting sources. Use the original evidence and methodology to understand what these findings can—and cannot—tell you.

Independent source records
74
Provider-owned source records
46
Direct support records
61

AI platforms in the study

ChatGPTClaudeDeepSeekGrokPerplexityKimiGemini

Study limitations

  • Recommendation counts measure mentions during the ranking stage. Later fit assessments do not increase those counts.
  • Some evidence identifiers refer to individual platform responses rather than independently verified sources.
  • Source URLs came from AI platform responses and were not independently validated during report preparation.

Affiliate & commercial disclosure

We may receive compensation when you follow certain links, request mortgage quotes, or take another qualifying action through a commercial partner. These relationships create a potential financial conflict, but do not influence recorded AI recommendations or ranking calculations. Partner availability, rates, fees, and eligibility can vary.

Read the full Affiliate Disclosure for compensation, tracking, partner availability, and research independence details, or contact us with a disclosure question.

Verify the source snapshot

SHA-256: ee5367a02858abf6092c122ec73ff78ef14bb08b9902136b7285da9cc41db971