The research in brief
University Bank is a mixed fit for homeowners 62 and older who want a bank or credit union reverse mortgage. Three of the seven platforms in the ranking stage named University Bank, and its average listed rank was 2.0, with a best rank of 1. The strongest reason to consider it is that it is a bank-affiliated lender with a dedicated reverse mortgage division that publicly advertises FHA-insured HECM, HECM for Purchase, and possible proprietary options. The main limitation is that public evidence points to a specialist, referral, or wholesale model rather than a documented branch-based relationship-banking experience, and pricing, servicing terms, and current state-by-state product availability are not publicly disclosed.
Research Snapshot
| Field | Finding |
|---|---|
| Platform mentions in ranking stage | 3 of 7 platforms (Claude, Gemini, Grok) |
| Share of included platform responses | 42.9% |
| Average listed rank | 2.0 |
| Best listed rank | 1 |
| Mortgage offering | University Bank Reverse Mortgage Division HECM program, including HECM for Purchase and advertised proprietary options |
| Overall use-case fit | Mixed |
| Research date | 2026-09-29 |
Why University Bank Qualified for This Study
Questions explored
- Is University Bank a good choice for a bank and credit union reverse mortgage?
- Why did University Bank qualify for this bank and credit union reverse mortgage study?
University Bank qualified because it is one of a small number of depository institutions that still advertises reverse mortgage lending in 2026, and because three of the seven platforms in the ranking stage named it. Independent review coverage states that only a few regional and specialty banks offer reverse mortgages in 2026, including University Bank [29]. The same coverage notes that most large banks left the market years ago, with Wells Fargo, Bank of America, and Chase exiting between 2011 and 2012 [29].
The entity also has a documented reverse mortgage division. University Bank's own materials state that its reverse mortgage division only does reverse mortgages and describes itself as one of America's oldest and most respected sources of reverse mortgage information and advice [10]. Independent coverage reports the division was formerly known as 1st Nations Reverse Mortgage and is one of the oldest reverse mortgage teams in the United States [46].
Institutional indicators are also present. University Bank is described as an FDIC-insured, locally owned and managed community bank regulated by the Federal Reserve [27], founded in 1890 and the 15th oldest bank headquartered in Michigan [48], with a BBB business profile [32]. These are qualification signals, not proof of product quality or rate competitiveness.
The mortgage offering in focus
Questions explored
- Which University Bank reverse mortgage product should a buyer choose for a bank and credit union reverse mortgage?
- Does University Bank offer HECM for Purchase and proprietary reverse mortgage options for homeowners 62 and older?
The most relevant offering is the University Bank Reverse Mortgage Division HECM program, which includes FHA-insured HECM, HECM for Purchase, and advertised proprietary options. University Bank publicly advertises HECM features, flexible proceeds, non-recourse treatment, retained title, and HECM purchase or refinance, and it describes a wholesale or specialist model [11]. Its HECM for Purchase material references FHA-insured HECM, a proprietary HomeSafe option up to $2.25 million, NMLS 715685, and Member FDIC status, while stating the reverse product is not FDIC insured [21]. University Bank also describes HECM for Purchase, no monthly mortgage payments while living in the home, and the proprietary jumbo HomeSafe option up to $2.25 million [19].
The division is described as a dedicated reverse mortgage operation. University Bank states its reverse division only does reverse mortgages [10], and its staff has a combined 100-plus years in reverse mortgages [10]. Multiple loan officers hold Certified Reverse Mortgage Professional designations from the National reverse mortgage lenders Association [42].
Product structure follows FHA rules for HECM. The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau states HECM reverse mortgages are generally for homeowners age 62 and older and that title remains with the homeowner [35]. HECM borrowers must receive counseling from a HUD-approved agency and must maintain property charges and the home as a principal residence [36]. University Bank's materials state the borrower must be 62 or older and the home must be a primary residence for the HECM-for-Purchase program [19], and that the reverse mortgage for purchase program is only available for owner-occupied properties, with occupancy required within 60 days after closing [13].
What the AI Platforms Agreed About
Questions explored
- What do AI platforms agree on about University Bank for a bank and credit union reverse mortgage?
- Is University Bank a legitimate FDIC-insured bank for a reverse mortgage?
The platforms broadly agreed that University Bank is a bank-affiliated reverse mortgage lender with a dedicated HECM operation, and that this bank affiliation is its main relevance to the use case. The strongest agreement concerns institutional status. University Bank is described as an FDIC-insured community bank [48], and its materials identify it as a Member FDIC bank with NMLS 715685 [21]. The bank's own reverse mortgage brochure expressly states that the product is not FDIC insured [21], a point that matters for buyers who conflate deposit insurance with loan protection.
The platforms also agreed on product availability. Multiple platforms reported that University Bank offers FHA-insured HECM and HECM for Purchase [11]. University Bank advertises no required monthly principal payments, flexible line-of-credit, monthly-payment, or lump-sum options, credit-line growth for adjustable-rate HECMs, non-recourse treatment, retained title, and HECM purchase or refinance use [11]. HECM credit lines grow over time [11], and HECM is a non-recourse loan where the borrower cannot owe more than the home's value at the date of sale [11].
A third area of agreement is expertise and market context. Independent coverage reports University Bank added four reverse mortgage veterans to its HECM division and is preparing to grow further in the reverse mortgage space [42]. Independent coverage also describes University Bank as a meaningful reverse mortgage originator and notes proprietary loans were about 20% of its reverse business in 2024 [43]. HUD HECM data confirms University Bank originates HECM loans [44].
Where the AI Platforms Disagreed or Were Uncertain
Questions explored
- What is uncertain about University Bank's branch availability and pricing for a bank and credit union reverse mortgage?
- Is University Bank's reverse mortgage available in all 50 states?
Platforms disagreed on fit rating and on several material facts. Fit ratings ranged from good (Claude, Gemini, Grok, Perplexity) to mixed (ChatGPT, DeepSeek) to uncertain (Kimi). This spread reflects genuine evidence gaps rather than a settled consensus.
Branch availability is the clearest conflict. One platform reported that University Bank's physical banking centers are located in Ann Arbor and Ypsilanti, Michigan, and that traditional banking accounts can be opened online or at those branches [6]. Another reported that the reverse mortgage website directs consumers to reverse mortgage specialists and a toll-free number rather than documenting ordinary branch origination [11]. A third stated that reverse mortgage operations are conducted through a subsidiary and may not be available at retail branches [7]. The reviewed materials do not establish that reverse mortgages are originated or serviced through ordinary University Bank branches nationwide.
State availability is also contested. One platform reported that University Bank is licensed to originate mortgage loans, including reverse mortgages, in all 50 states [17], and that its president confirmed in late 2025 that the bank is licensed for reverse mortgage lending in all 50 states [16]. Another reported that University Bank publishes a state licensing page and says the complete list of states in which it can provide financing should be checked there [8], and that the reviewed sources do not establish nationwide availability for every reverse product or every borrower. Independent coverage notes that in some states, such as Wisconsin, University Bank only offers standard HECM products and does not offer proprietary options [41].
Proprietary product status is unclear. The ranking-stage description refers to both University Bank HECM and proprietary products, but the reviewed public pages do not fully confirm which proprietary products are currently originated directly by University Bank in 2026. University Bank's reverse mortgage page promotes a HomeSafe option up to $2.25 million, while the source does not establish current product sponsor, rates, eligibility, or availability [21]. A proprietary reverse mortgage is not FHA-insured and may be designed for higher-value homes [33].
One platform reported that University Bank's official website reverse mortgage content could not be verified and that no product documentation was retrievable [2]. That platform rated the entity uncertain. This is a retrieval failure, not evidence that the products do not exist, and it should be read alongside the company-owned pages other platforms retrieved.
Mortgage features for this borrowing need
Questions explored
- What reverse mortgage features does University Bank offer for homeowners 62 and older?
- Does University Bank require a minimum credit score for a HECM reverse mortgage?
University Bank advertises a standard HECM feature set plus a possible proprietary option. Its materials describe no minimum credit score requirement with a modest residual income factor, and flexible terms offering a choice of line of credit, monthly payments, or lump-sum options [11]. HECM credit lines grow over time, providing seniors increasing borrowing power [11]. HECM is a non-recourse loan, and the borrower cannot owe more than the home's value at the date of sale [11]. University Bank also states the HECM line of credit can grow over time and that line-of-credit proceeds cannot be reduced or revoked if loan obligations are met [22].
Borrower obligations are explicit. University Bank states borrowers remain responsible for taxes, insurance, HOA dues, and maintenance and describes HECM credit-line growth and non-recourse features [11]. The CFPB states HECM borrowers must maintain property charges and the home as a principal residence [36].
Eligibility follows federal rules. HECM borrowers must generally be age 62 or older and complete counseling with a HUD-approved reverse mortgage counseling agency [35]. University Bank's materials also discuss non-borrowing-spouse treatment, but the exact eligibility consequences depend on HUD rules and the borrower file [36].
The proprietary option is the least documented capability. University Bank's HECM for Purchase material references a proprietary HomeSafe option up to $2.25 million [21], and another company document describes the proprietary jumbo HomeSafe option up to $2.25 million [19]. Independent coverage states proprietary loans were about 20% of University's reverse business in 2024 [43]. Buyers should treat the HomeSafe reference as a lead to verify, not as confirmed current availability.
Rates, fees, and ongoing costs
Questions explored
- How much does a University Bank reverse mortgage cost, and what fees apply?
- Does University Bank publish its HECM interest rates and origination fees?
University Bank does not publicly provide a complete borrower-specific reverse mortgage pricing schedule in the reviewed materials. No public University Bank rate sheet, APR comparison, margin schedule, servicing-fee schedule, or independent rate comparison was identified, so competitiveness versus depository or independent reverse mortgage lenders is unclear.
Industry-standard HECM costs apply. The CFPB describes typical HECM upfront and ongoing costs, including origination fees, closing costs, initial mortgage insurance, interest, servicing fees, annual mortgage insurance, and property charges [34]. HECM origination fees are generally capped at $6,000 under CFPB-described HECM rules [34]. Typical upfront costs can include appraisal, title, inspection, recording, credit, closing costs, initial FHA mortgage insurance, and counseling fees, while ongoing costs can include interest, annual FHA mortgage insurance of 0.5% of the outstanding balance, servicing fees if charged, property taxes, homeowners insurance, and other property charges [34]. One platform reported a monthly servicing fee typically in the $30 to $35 range [11], and another reported a comparable $20 per month figure for a different proprietary product [28]. These are industry benchmarks, not University Bank-specific quotes.
Contract terms follow HECM structure. HECM counseling is required before closing [36]. The loan generally becomes repayable when the borrower dies, sells the home, or no longer occupies it as a principal residence, subject to applicable protections and loan terms [36]. The borrower must comply with property-tax, insurance, occupancy, and maintenance obligations; failure can create default or foreclosure risk [36]. University Bank's public materials do not state a separate minimum-term, early-repayment penalty, or cancellation policy; verify the loan documents and disclosures.
University Bank-specific origination, underwriting, appraisal, title, servicing, rate-lock, counseling, and proprietary-product fees are not publicly itemized in the reviewed sources. A personalized quote and total annual loan cost comparison are required.
Best Suited For
Questions explored
- Who is University Bank best suited for in a bank and credit union reverse mortgage?
- Is University Bank a good fit for a homeowner who wants a bank-affiliated HECM lender?
University Bank is best suited for homeowners 62 and older who want an FHA-insured HECM or HECM for Purchase through a bank-affiliated lender and are comfortable working with a specialized reverse mortgage division rather than a local branch loan officer. It also suits homeowners with higher-value properties who want to investigate whether a proprietary reverse mortgage is available, subject to current availability and qualification.
It is a reasonable candidate for borrowers who value a bank institution for institutional familiarity, even though specific customer benefits are not documented. University Bank is described as an FDIC-insured community bank [48], and its reverse division has deep tenure [10]. Borrowers who want education and counseling alongside product access may also find the division's information-focused positioning useful [10].
Probably Not Best Suited For
Questions explored
- Who should not choose University Bank for a bank and credit union reverse mortgage?
- Is University Bank a poor fit for a borrower who needs in-branch reverse mortgage service?
University Bank is probably not best suited for borrowers who require a clearly documented in-branch reverse mortgage process or an established relationship-pricing benefit. Public materials do not document discounts, preferential rates, fee waivers, or special underwriting benefits for existing University Bank deposit customers, so any relationship-banking benefit is unclear.
It is also a weak fit for borrowers prioritizing independently verified lowest rates, fees, or servicing quality, because no public University Bank rate sheet or independent rate comparison was identified. Borrowers outside University Bank's currently licensed or approved lending areas should not proceed without confirming state eligibility. Borrowers who want a national megabank relationship should note that major banks have exited the market [29]. Borrowers prioritizing fastest processing speed may find that specialized non-bank lenders process faster [29].
When Another Option May Be Better
Questions explored
- What is a better alternative to University Bank for a borrower who needs in-branch reverse mortgage service?
- When should a buyer choose a non-bank reverse mortgage specialist over University Bank?
Another option may be better in four situations. First, a borrower who wants multiple competing quotes and independently verified rate or fee comparisons from high-volume reverse mortgage specialists may get better information elsewhere. Second, a borrower who specifically requires a local branch with documented reverse mortgage expertise and in-person servicing should look for a depository with a confirmed in-branch program. Third, a borrower who wants a credit union product whose relationship benefits, membership requirements, and pricing are explicitly documented should compare credit union options directly. Fourth, a borrower with a high-value property who needs a proprietary product may benefit from comparison with several current proprietary lenders.
Platform-reported alternatives include WSFS Bank, Bank of Utah, America First Credit Union, and the Credit Union Mortgage Association as documented bank or credit union reverse mortgage sources [49]. One platform also named Mutual of Omaha Finance's SecureEquity as a proprietary product with published underwriting terms [28]. These are platform-reported suggestions, not independently verified comparisons.
Questions to ask before choosing a lender
Questions explored
- What should a buyer confirm with University Bank before signing a reverse mortgage contract?
- Which University Bank reverse mortgage details are not publicly disclosed?
Buyers should confirm the following before committing. Is the proposed loan originated by University Bank itself, a division, an affiliate, or a third-party partner? Is the quoted product an FHA-insured HECM, HECM for Purchase, or proprietary loan, and who ultimately services it? Is the borrower eligible in the property state, and is the specific property type acceptable? What are the initial principal limit, interest rate or adjustable-rate margin, expected rate, payment options, line-of-credit growth terms, and total annual loan cost? What are all University Bank and third-party fees, including origination, appraisal, title, recording, counseling, servicing, rate-lock, and closing charges? Does University Bank offer any existing-customer discount, branch support, or relationship-pricing benefit? Are there any servicing-transfer provisions, minimum draws, unused-line fees, or restrictions on future draws? How are a non-borrowing spouse, heirs, occupancy changes, assisted living, repairs, taxes, insurance, and HOA obligations handled? For any proprietary product, is it FHA-insured or non-FHA, what protections apply, and how does it compare with an HECM for the same property and borrower? What is the written payoff, repayment, refinance, and voluntary-prepayment policy? Can the borrower receive a written comparison with at least two competing lenders before committing?
The consensus assessment
University Bank is a mixed, not clearly strong, fit for bank- and credit-union-oriented reverse mortgage shoppers. It has credible evidence of an HECM-focused reverse mortgage operation and advertises relevant HECM and possible proprietary products. The buyer should treat it as a bank-affiliated specialist worth obtaining a quote from, but should not assume branch availability, relationship pricing, superior rates, or current proprietary-product access without written confirmation and comparison quotes. Platform agreement on institutional status and product type does not prove product quality, rate competitiveness, or servicing performance.
How This Review Was Produced
This review was produced from seven platform responses collected for the bank and credit union reverse mortgage use case, with a research date of 2026-09-29. Three of the seven platforms named University Bank during the ranking stage, and their listed ranks were 1 (Claude), 2 (Gemini), and 3 (Grok), producing an average listed rank of 2.0 and a best listed rank of 1. The remaining platforms evaluated fit without naming the entity in the ranking stage. Fit ratings ranged from good to mixed to uncertain across platforms. All platform outputs were treated as platform-reported evidence, and company-owned pages were distinguished from independent sources. The consensus index for this category is available at bank and credit union reverse mortgage, and the broader directory is at reverse mortgage lenders.
Research limitations
Several limitations apply. The supplied URLs were collected from platform responses and were not independently validated by the writer stage. Citations are platform-reported evidence, not independently verified facts, and no-search model claims require explicit verification before being described as current facts. Platform-reported research dates differ from the authoritative run date; one platform reported a research date of 2026-04-12 rather than 2026-09-29, so its findings may be less current. All included platforms evaluated fit, but platform_mentions counts only platforms that named the entity during ranking discovery. Conflicting product names, pricing, and capabilities were not resolved by guessing; they are described as conflicts with verification steps. One platform's official-site retrieval failed, and that failure was not treated as evidence that products do not exist. Historical third-party origination data from 2022 is not current enough to establish 2026 scale or performance. No personal testing, customer experience, or independent verification was performed.
Sources
Company-Owned Sources
- Reverse Mortgage - University Lending Group: https://university-lending.com/loan-options/reverse-mortgage/
- University Bank - Ann Arbor - Ypsi - Community Bank: https://www.university-bank.com/
- UNIVERSITY BANCORP ACQUIRES HYREX SERVICING, LLC FOR $5.5 MILLION: https://www.university-bank.com/2024/08/01/university-bancorp-acquires-hyrex-servicing-llc-for-5-5-million/
- University Bank – About Us: https://www.university-bank.com/about-us/
- services - University Bank: https://www.university-bank.com/about/services/
- Contact Us - University Bank: https://www.university-bank.com/contact-us/
- University Bank – HECM Division: https://www.university-bank.com/hec-m/
- Licensing - University Bank: https://www.university-bank.com/licensing/
- University Bank – Reverse Mortgage: https://www.university-bank.com/reverse-mortgage/
- About Reverse - University Bank: https://www.university-bank.com/reverse/about-reverse/
- Broker - University Bank: https://www.university-bank.com/reverse/broker/
- Contact - University Bank: https://www.university-bank.com/reverse/contact/
- Reverse for Purchase: Must the borrower occupy the property?: https://www.university-bank.com/reverse/how-does-a-reverse-mortgage-work/
- How a Reverse Mortgage Works - University Bank: https://www.university-bank.com/reverse/howitworks/
- Request a Quote - University Bank: https://www.university-bank.com/reverse/request-a-quote/
- UNIVERSITY BANCORP 3Q2025 NET INCOME $4,371,716, $0.85 PER SHARE: https://www.university-bank.com/university-bancorp-3q2025-net-income-4371716-0-85-per-share/
- UNIVERSITY BANCORP ACQUIRES HYREX SERVICING, LLC FOR $5.5 MILLION: https://www.university-bank.com/university-bancorp-acquires-hyrex-servicing-llc-for-5-5-million/
- We've got answers to all your reverse mortgage questions - University Bank: https://www.university-bank.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/07/Reverse-Mortgage-Q-and-A.pdf
- Buying Home? | University Bank: https://www.university-bank.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/09/BuyingHome.pdf
- We've got answers to all your reverse mortgage questions: https://www.university-bank.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/09/FAQs.pdf
- Home Equity Conversion Mortgage (HECM) for Purchase: https://www.university-bank.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/09/HECMforPurchase.pdf
- See the advantages | University Bank: https://www.university-bank.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/09/LockvHELOC.pdf
- Reverse Mortgage Myths | University Bank: https://www.university-bank.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/09/Myths.pdf
- Official pricing and terms source: https://www.university-bank.com/terms-of-use/
Independent Sources
- Credit Union Mortgage Association | Reverse Mortgage Expert Articles: https://cumortgage.net/existing-members/expert-articles/reverse-mortgage/
- University Bank - Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/University_Bank
- University Bancorp, Inc. Acquires Common Shares of Currency Exchange International, Corp: https://finnhub.io/news/university-bancorp-inc-acquires-common-shares-of-currency-exchange-international-corp/
- SecureEquity Underwriting Guide: https://mutualreverse.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/04/SecureEquity_Underwriting_Lending_Guide-_-Updated-4.21.25.pdf
- Banks That Offer Reverse Mortgages in 2026 | Compare Rates & Reviews: https://reverse.mortgage/banks-that-offer-reverse-mortgages
- Reverse Mortgages - America First Credit Union: https://www.americafirst.com/loans/mortgage-loans/reverse-mortgage.html
- Reverse Mortgage | Bank of Utah: https://www.bankofutah.com/home-loans/loan-options/reverse-mortgage
- University Bank | BBB Business Profile: https://www.bbb.org/us/mi/ann-arbor/profile/bank/university-bank-0372-5001741
- Are there different types of reverse mortgages?: https://www.consumerfinance.gov/ask-cfpb/are-there-different-types-of-reverse-mortgages-en-226/
- How much does a reverse mortgage loan cost?: https://www.consumerfinance.gov/ask-cfpb/how-much-does-a-reverse-mortgage-loan-cost-en-237/
- What is a reverse mortgage?: https://www.consumerfinance.gov/ask-cfpb/what-is-a-reverse-mortgage-en-224/
- What should I think about before applying for a reverse mortgage loan and what should I ask a reverse mortgage counselor?: https://www.consumerfinance.gov/ask-cfpb/what-should-i-think-about-before-applying-for-a-reverse-mortgage-en-228/
- Reverse Mortgage Products: Guidance for Managing Compliance and Reputation Risks: https://www.federalreserve.gov/frrs/guidance/reverse-mortgage-products-guidance-for-managing-compliance-and-reputation-risks.htm
- Stephen Lange Ranzini, CEO & President University Bank 2015 Washtenaw Ave: https://www.fhfa.gov/sites/default/files/rulemaking_comments/fhfa_1610/Attachments/16483/University%20Bank%20Comment%20Letter%20Freddie%20Mac.pdf
- Best Reverse Mortgage Companies – Forbes Advisor: https://www.forbes.com/advisor/mortgages/best-reverse-mortgage-companies/
- Federal Register, Volume 75 Issue 158 - Reverse Mortgage Disclosures: https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2010-08-17/html/2010-20286.htm
- Reverse mortgage originators on the referral opportunities they're watching in 2024: https://www.housingwire.com/articles/reverse-mortgage-originators-on-the-referral-opportunities-theyre-watching-in-2024/
- University Bank adds four reverse mortgage veterans to its HECM division: https://www.housingwire.com/articles/university-bank-adds-four-reverse-mortgage-veterans-to-its-hecm-division/
- University Bank’s reverse division promotes Dujanovich, hires Ziegler: https://www.housingwire.com/articles/university-banks-reverse-division-promotes-dujanovich-hires-ziegler/
- Hecm Data June 2025: https://www.hud.gov/sites/dfiles/Housing/documents/FHA-HECM-Snapshot-June2025.xlsx
- Reverse Mortgage Magazine March/April 2024: https://www.nrmlaonline.org/flippingbook/17-0324/
- University Bank - NRMLA: https://www.nrmlaonline.org/vendors/1st-nations-reverse-mortgage
- Free HECM Originators: https://www.rminsight.net/wp-content/uploads/2023/01/Originators_202211.pdf
- University Bank Team wins Major International, National and Michigan Awards: https://www.valuethemarkets.com/news/press-releases/university-bank-team-wins-major-international-national-and-michigan-awards
- Reverse Mortgage - WSFS Bank: https://www.wsfsbank.com/personal/borrowing/mortgages/reverse-mortgage/