Independent research. A clearer mortgage perspective.
MortgageConsensus Index

PROVIDER FIT REVIEW/

CMRE Review for Distressed and Foreclosure Property Purchases

CMRE is a good fit for hard money loans on distressed foreclosure purchases, offering Auction Loans and hard money programs covering distressed, vacant, REO, and short-sale collateral with asset-based underwriting and advertised funding in as few as 7 business days.

Multiple AI perspectivesEvidence-led comparisonsOur editorial independence

RECOMMENDATION COVERAGE

CMRE

Recommended by 3 of 7 AI platforms in this study.

42.9%Consensus coverage · not a customer rating

Inline “Evidence ID” labels identify records within an AI platform’s response. They are not links to independently verified sources.

The research in brief

CMRE is a good, not unequivocal, fit for a hard money loan for distressed foreclosure purchase. Three of seven platforms named CMRE during ranking discovery (Grok, Kimi, Perplexity), and all seven evaluated its fit. The strongest reason to consider it: CMRE markets a dedicated Auction Loans product plus Hard Money Loans explicitly covering distressed, vacant, non-warrantable, foreclosure, REO, and short-sale collateral, with asset-based underwriting and advertised funding in as few as 7 business days [1]. The main limitation: public terms conflict on maximum LTV, loan term, prepayment language, and track-record thresholds, and no independent evidence validates CMRE's foreclosure-auction execution record [1].

Research Snapshot

FieldFinding
Platform mentions in ranking stage3 of 7 platforms (Grok, Kimi, Perplexity)
Share of included platform responses42.9%
Average listed rank2.33
Best listed rank1 (Perplexity)
Mortgage offeringAuction Loans; Hard Money Loans; Foreclosure Bailout Loan
Overall use-case fitStrong (3 platforms); Good (3 platforms); Mixed (1 platform) — 7 platforms analyzed
Research date2026-09-30

Why CMRE Qualified for This Study

Questions explored

  • Why did CMRE qualify for this distressed foreclosure hard money lender study?
  • How many AI platforms named CMRE for hard money loans on distressed foreclosure purchases?

CMRE qualified because it operates a named, dedicated product line for the exact scenario in this study rather than only generic investment-property financing. Its Auction Loans page is marketed to auction buyers, fix-and-flip investors, investors purchasing non-conforming properties, and property owners facing foreclosure [1]. Its Hard Money page separately identifies distressed, vacant, non-warrantable, foreclosure, REO, and short-sale properties as eligible collateral [4].

Three of seven platforms named CMRE during ranking discovery — Grok (rank 4), Kimi (rank 2), and Perplexity (rank 1) — producing an average listed rank of 2.33 and a 42.9% share of included platform responses. All seven platforms evaluated CMRE's fit even when they did not rank it, so the fit ratings below reflect broader coverage than the ranking count alone.

The qualification rests on product alignment, not on verified performance. Every citation supporting CMRE's capabilities traces to company-owned pages; the only independent source in the catalog is a general 2026 hard money rate guide [7]. Buyers should read this as "the product exists and is on-topic," not "the product is proven."

The mortgage offering in focus

Questions explored

  • Which CMRE loan program is best for buying a distressed property at foreclosure auction?
  • Does CMRE's Auction Loans program cover properties that fail conventional condition standards?

The most relevant offering is CMRE's Auction Loans program, supported by its Hard Money Loans program and a Foreclosure Bailout Loan product. Auction Loans are positioned for auction buyers who need proof of funds and rapid closing, and the program is described as asset-based with property value driving qualification [1].

CMRE states that its hard money program covers distressed, vacant, non-warrantable, foreclosure, REO, and short-sale properties that conventional lenders may decline, and that conventional lender condition standards do not apply [1]. The Auction Loans page also references fix-and-flip rehabilitation draws [1].

Platforms named slightly different primary products. Google and Grok pointed to Auction Loans; Kimi pointed to Hard Money Loans, Foreclosure Bailout Loan, and Auction Loans; ChatGPT and Perplexity pointed to Auction Loans and Hard Money Loans together. Kimi also surfaced a Foreclosure Bailout Loan page with 7-business-day funding and asset-based terms [3]. Whether the Auction Loans product carries materially different terms from the general Hard Money program is not clear from public pages [3].

What the AI Platforms Agreed About

Questions explored

  • What do AI platforms agree CMRE offers for distressed foreclosure purchases?
  • Is CMRE's underwriting genuinely asset-based for poor-condition properties?

Agreement was strong, though not unanimous, on five points.

Distressed-condition eligibility. CMRE explicitly markets distressed, non-conforming, and auction properties, and states that conventional condition standards do not apply [1].

Advertised funding speed. CMRE advertises funding in as few as 7 business days, with term sheets in 24–48 hours and typical auction closing timelines of 7–14 business days [1].

Asset-based underwriting. CMRE states that approval is based on property equity and exit strategy rather than W-2 income, tax returns, or a minimum FICO score [4]. This is a company claim; platforms repeated it rather than verified it.

Rehab draws. CMRE states that Auction Loans can include fix-and-flip rehabilitation draws and that hard money loans may provide 48-hour subsequent draw disbursement [1].

Rate band. CMRE publishes rates starting at 9.875%, generally described as approximately 9%–14% or 9.875%–13.99%, plus 1–3 origination points [4].

Agreement among platforms does not establish product quality. All five points trace to CMRE's own pages.

Where the AI Platforms Disagreed or Were Uncertain

Questions explored

  • What conflicting CMRE terms should a distressed foreclosure buyer verify before applying?
  • Do AI platforms agree on whether CMRE requires a minimum credit score?

Platforms disagreed on fit rating and surfaced unresolved conflicts inside CMRE's own materials.

Fit ratings split. Google, Grok, and Kimi rated CMRE a "strong" fit. Openai, Claude, and Perplexity rated it "good." Deepseek rated it "mixed," citing the absence of published rates, points, LTV, or condition standards on the page it reviewed [1].

Maximum LTV conflict. CMRE pages reference 70% maximum, 80% as-is, 65%–80% as-is, and up to 90% ARV [1]. Which standard controls a given transaction is unresolved.

Loan term conflict. Pages state both 6–24 months and 6 months to 3 years [4].

Prepayment conflict. One CMRE hard money page states no prepayment penalty after month 3; a separate CMRE hard money page states that prepayment penalties may apply [4].

Credit minimum conflict. CMRE materials state "no minimum FICO" for hard money loans but specify a 600 minimum for Auction Loans, and one page lists a 55% maximum DTI [1].

Track-record threshold conflict. One page references five or more completed projects for preferred pricing; another references three or more closed flips in the prior 24 months [1].

Rate range variation. Public pages show both 9%–14% and 9.99%–13.99% [1].

Geographic scope. CMRE's hard money page lists licensing in 13 states — California, Texas, Florida, Arizona, Nevada, Washington, Oregon, Colorado, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia — under NMLS #1556995 [4]. Nationwide availability is not established.

Execution evidence. No independent source confirming CMRE's foreclosure-auction closing performance, average funding time, approval rate, or borrower outcomes was identified [1].

Mortgage features for this borrowing need

Questions explored

  • What leverage and rehab draw terms does CMRE offer on distressed foreclosure purchases?
  • Can CMRE close fast enough for a foreclosure auction deadline?

CMRE's published capabilities map to the five criteria in this study, with caveats on each.

CriterionCMRE positionEvidence strength
Willingness to lend on distressed condition
Explicitly markets distressed, vacant, non-warrantable, foreclosure, REO, short-sale collateral; states conventional condition standards do not apply
Company-owned pages only [1]
Speed of funding
Advertises 7 business days, term sheets in 24–48 hours, 7–14 day auction timelines
Company-owned pages only [1]
Asset-based underwriting depth
States qualification is based on property value, equity, and exit strategy; still requires appraisal or BPO, title review, and repayment-ability review
Company-owned pages only [4]
Rate and points
Starting 9.88%, roughly 9%–14%, plus 1–3 origination points
Company-owned pages; independent 2026 guide clusters market rates at 9.5%–13% [4]
Foreclosure and auction purchase experience
Dedicated Auction Loans and Foreclosure Bailout Loan programs; no independent volume or outcome data
Company-owned pages only [3]

Additional published terms: loan amounts of $50K–$5M, with loans above $2M potentially requiring additional equity [4]. Leverage described as approximately 65%–80% of as-is value and up to 90% of ARV for qualifying fix-and-flip projects [1]. Interest-only payments during the term, with principal due at maturity or exit [4]. Reserves of 3–6 months PITIA at closing depending on LTV [4]. Loans close in LLC, corporation, or trust names, with a personal guaranty required from the managing member or principal [4].

The advertised 7-business-day timeline cannot meet same-day or 24-hour sheriff sale payment requirements [4].

Rates, fees, and ongoing costs

Questions explored

  • How much does a CMRE hard money loan cost for a distressed foreclosure purchase?
  • What fees and reserves does CMRE require at closing on an auction loan?

CMRE publicly advertises interest rates starting at 9.875%, generally described as approximately 9%–14% or 9.875%–13.99%, with 1–3 origination points [4]. One CMRE page states 20%–35% down for hard money loans [5].

Pricing confidence is moderate at best. Openai, Claude, Grok, and Kimi rated pricing confidence moderate; Perplexity rated it low; DeepSeek rated it low and found no published pricing on the page it reviewed [1]. An independent 2026 guide places hard money rates at 9.5%–13% with 1–3 points and 65%–75% of ARV typical, which places CMRE's stated range at or slightly above the market cluster [7].

Known and unclear costs:

  • Interest: approximately 9%–14%, interest-only during the term [4].
  • Origination: 1–3 points [4].
  • Reserves: 3–6 months PITIA at closing depending on LTV; exact calculation unclear [4].
  • Down payment: one page states 20%–35% [5].
  • Appraisal or BPO, title, escrow, insurance, recording, inspection, wire, draw-inspection, extension, servicing, and default fees: amounts not publicly specified [4].
  • Prepayment: one page states no penalty after month 3; another states penalties may apply [4].
  • Term: 6–24 months on one page, up to 3 years on another [4].
  • Extension, default interest, and maturity remedies: not publicly specified [4].

CMRE's terms-of-use page addresses indemnification and third-party links but does not publish a fee schedule (official:C2). One CMRE page states "no upfront fees" and "no application fees," which does not clarify all-in closing cost (official:C1, Evidence ID anthropic:C1).

Best Suited For

Questions explored

  • Who is CMRE best suited for when buying a distressed foreclosure property?
  • Is CMRE a good fit for an investor who needs to close in about 7 to 14 business days?

CMRE is best suited for experienced or adequately capitalized investors purchasing distressed properties through foreclosure or auction inside its 13-state licensed footprint, where the transaction can close in roughly 7–14 business days and the borrower can support the required equity, reserves, title work, valuation, and exit strategy [1].

Specific fits named across platforms:

  • Fix-and-flip borrowers needing asset-based underwriting and potential rehab financing [1].
  • Auction buyers in licensed states needing proof of funds and rapid closing [1].
  • Borrowers whose property condition, income profile, or recent credit events prevent conventional financing [1].
  • Investors purchasing REO, short-sale, or foreclosure properties that do not meet conventional lending standards [1].
  • Borrowers with moderate credit (600+ FICO) and sufficient equity or a credible exit strategy [1].

Probably Not Best Suited For

Questions explored

  • Who should not choose CMRE for a distressed foreclosure purchase loan?
  • Is CMRE unsuitable for buyers outside its licensed states or needing same-day auction funds?

CMRE is probably not the best fit for several buyer profiles.

  • Buyers outside the 13-state footprint. CMRE's hard money page lists licensing in 13 states, leaving 37 states without established direct coverage [4].
  • Buyers needing same-day or next-day auction funding. The advertised minimum is 7 business days [1].
  • Borrowers seeking the lowest-cost long-term financing. CMRE products are short-term bridges at 9%–14%, materially above conventional mortgage pricing [4].
  • Buy-and-hold investors. Terms are 6–24 months with principal due at maturity or exit, requiring a refinance or sale [1].
  • Borrowers with sub-600 credit seeking truly asset-only underwriting. A 600 minimum is stated for Auction Loans, and one page lists a 55% maximum DTI [1].
  • Transactions with unclear title, weak exit strategy, or valuation uncertainty. Required equity, reserves, title clearance, and exit strategy can make a deeply distressed or severely overbid property ineligible [1].
  • Non-residential distressed property. CMRE's focus is primarily residential and small multifamily [4].
  • Buyers requiring fully transparent published pricing before applying. Exact points, fees, and prepayment terms are not publicly specified [1].

When Another Option May Be Better

Questions explored

  • When is a different lender better than CMRE for a distressed foreclosure purchase?
  • What should a buyer do if CMRE cannot meet the auction settlement deadline?

A different lender may be better in these situations:

  • A local private lender or specialized auction lender can fund before CMRE's advertised 7-business-day minimum [1].
  • The buyer needs higher leverage than CMRE's stated as-is or ARV limits [1].
  • The property has severe title defects, occupied status, structural uncertainty, environmental issues, or unusual auction terms requiring specialized underwriting [1].
  • The borrower expects to hold beyond the short-term maturity and would benefit from a lower-cost bridge-to-permanent or DSCR refinance [1].
  • The borrower is located outside CMRE's 13-state licensed footprint [4].
  • The borrower has a credit score below 600 and needs true asset-only underwriting [4].
  • The buyer requires independently documented foreclosure-auction volume, execution statistics, or standardized published pricing [1].
  • The property is non-residential distressed commercial or industrial [4].

Buyers comparing options across this category can review the broader investment property and non qm mortgage lenders directory for lenders operating in states CMRE does not cover.

Questions to ask before choosing a lender

Questions explored

  • What should a buyer confirm with CMRE before signing a hard money loan contract?
  • Which CMRE terms are contradictory and require written clarification?

Platforms converged on a verification list. Ask CMRE in writing:

  1. Will CMRE lend on this property's exact condition, occupancy status, structural issues, utilities, code violations, environmental risks, and title status? [1]
  2. Can CMRE fund by the auction's legally binding settlement deadline, and what happens if title or appraisal delays occur? [1]
  3. Which LTV standard applies to this transaction: 65%–80% as-is, 70% maximum, or up to 90% ARV? [1]
  4. What is the binding maximum loan amount based on purchase price, as-is value, ARV, approved rehab budget, and total project cost? [1]
  5. What exact rate, origination points, minimum interest, extension fees, default rate, and other closing charges apply? [1]
  6. Are appraisal, BPO, inspection, title, escrow, wire, draw, and legal costs borrower-paid, and what are their amounts? [1]
  7. What reserves are required, and are taxes, insurance, utilities, or rehabilitation carrying costs included? [1]
  8. Are rehab funds held in escrow, released by draw, reimbursed after inspection, or funded at closing? [1]
  9. What is the exact loan maturity, extension policy, extension fee, and prepayment-penalty language? [1]
  10. Is the property location within CMRE's current licensed and operational lending area? [4]
  11. Does CMRE lend directly for this transaction or place the loan with another lender or funding source? [1]
  12. What borrower track record is required for the quoted LTV and pricing tier — five completed projects or three flips in 24 months? [1]
  13. What is the actual minimum FICO for hard money loans versus Auction Loans, and does a 55% DTI cap apply? [1]
  14. Can CMRE provide case studies, portfolio data, or reference contacts from foreclosure and auction purchases? [4]

The consensus assessment

CMRE is a good but not unequivocally strong fit for a hard money loan for distressed foreclosure purchase. Three of seven platforms named it during ranking discovery, and all seven evaluated it: three rated the fit "strong," three "good," and one "mixed."

The case for CMRE rests on genuine product alignment — a dedicated Auction Loans program, explicit distressed and non-warrantable collateral eligibility, asset-based underwriting language, advertised 7-business-day funding, ARV-based leverage, and rehab draws [1]. The case against rests on unresolved internal conflicts in CMRE's own published terms, a 13-state licensing footprint, a 600 FICO floor on Auction Loans, short-term bridge structure requiring an exit, and the complete absence of independent evidence validating foreclosure-auction execution performance [1].

A buyer should treat CMRE as a candidate to diligence with a written, property-specific term sheet — not as a confirmed fit. Confirm auction-deadline funding, jurisdiction, title acceptability, exact LTV, all fees, draw mechanics, maturity, and prepayment terms before committing.

How This Review Was Produced

This review was produced from a structured research run dated 2026-09-30 covering seven AI platforms: ChatGPT (gpt-5.6-luna), Claude (claude-haiku-4-5-20251001), Gemini (gemini-3.5-flash), Grok (x-ai/grok-4.3), Kimi (moonshotai/kimi-k2.6), Perplexity (perplexity/sonar), and DeepSeek (deepseek-v4-flash). Each platform was asked which providers it would recommend for an investor buying a property at auction or through foreclosure sale in significant disrepair, needing asset-based underwriting and closing within days.

Ranking statistics count only platforms that named CMRE during ranking discovery. Fit ratings and findings reflect all seven platform responses. Citations are platform-reported evidence, not independently verified facts. The full consensus ranking for this use case is available in the hard money loan for distressed foreclosure purchase index.

Research limitations

  • The authoritative run research date is 2026-09-30. Anthropic and DeepSeek reported platform research dates of 2026-01-15; these are provenance metadata and do not independently prove freshness.
  • All included platforms evaluated fit, but the platform-mention count reflects only platforms that named CMRE during ranking discovery.
  • Conflicting product names, pricing, and capabilities were not resolved by guessing; conflicts are described and buyers are directed to verify.
  • Supplied URLs were collected from platform responses and were not independently validated at the writing stage.
  • Company-owned citations materially outnumber independent citations (six owned versus one independent). Company claims are not described as independently verified.
  • Deepseek ran with search disabled, so its findings reflect model knowledge rather than retrieved pages; its "mixed" rating should be weighted accordingly.
  • No independent evidence of CMRE's foreclosure-auction closing performance, approval rate, or borrower outcomes was located.
  • Platform agreement on a claim does not establish product quality or suitability for any specific transaction.

See the broader Distressed and Foreclosure Property Purchases consensus index for comparisons across qualified options.

Sources

Company-Owned Sources

  1. Auction Loans — Close in 7 Days | CMRE: https://custommortgageinc.com/programs/auction-loan
  2. Fix and Flip Mortgages — Close in 7 Days | CMRE: https://custommortgageinc.com/programs/fix-and-flip
  3. Foreclosure Bailout Loan Chicago, IL — Close in 7... | CMRE: https://custommortgageinc.com/programs/foreclosure-bailout-chicago-il
  4. Hard Money — Close in 7 Days | CMRE: https://custommortgageinc.com/programs/hard-money
  5. Hard Money Cash Out — Close in 7 Days | CMRE: https://custommortgageinc.com/programs/hard-money-loan
  6. Official pricing and terms source: https://custommortgageinc.com/terms-of-use

Independent Sources

  1. How to Finance a Foreclosure Flip: Hard Money, DSCR & Rehab Loans (2026) | GovAuctions.app: https://govauctions.app/guides/financing-a-foreclosure-flip

TRANSPARENCY BY DESIGN

The evidence behind this study

Research is a dated snapshot of AI recommendations and their supporting sources. Use the original evidence and methodology to understand what these findings can—and cannot—tell you.

Independent source records
1
Provider-owned source records
6
Direct support records
4

AI platforms in the study

ChatGPTClaudeDeepSeekGrokPerplexityKimiGemini

Study limitations

  • The study date identifies this research snapshot; dates reported by AI platforms do not independently establish source freshness.
  • Recommendation counts measure mentions during the ranking stage. Later fit assessments do not increase those counts.
  • Product names, costs, and features can differ across sources. Confirm conflicting details directly with the provider.
  • Source URLs came from AI platform responses and were not independently validated during report preparation.
  • Company-owned citations materially outnumber independent citations; do not describe company claims as independently verified.
  • Some dates reported by AI platforms differ from the study date. Those dates do not independently establish that the information is current.

Affiliate & commercial disclosure

We may receive compensation when you follow certain links, request mortgage quotes, or take another qualifying action through a commercial partner. These relationships create a potential financial conflict, but do not influence recorded AI recommendations or ranking calculations. Partner availability, rates, fees, and eligibility can vary.

Read the full Affiliate Disclosure for compensation, tracking, partner availability, and research independence details, or contact us with a disclosure question.

Verify the source snapshot

SHA-256: ead7e06a621763a5d03793d14e42201909467c143e34ed136839c506381ad36c