Independent research. A clearer mortgage perspective.
MortgageConsensus Index

PROVIDER FIT REVIEW/

Guild Mortgage Review for First-Time Homebuyers

Guild Mortgage suits first-time buyers who want structured education, a local loan officer, and help stacking low-down-payment loans with assistance. MyPath2Own offers up to $4,000, but Guild publishes no rates or standard fee schedule.

Multiple AI perspectivesEvidence-led comparisonsOur editorial independence

RECOMMENDATION COVERAGE

Guild Mortgage

Recommended by 4 of 7 AI platforms in this study.

57.1%Consensus coverage · not a customer rating

The research in brief

Guild Mortgage is a good fit for a first-time buyer who needs structured education, a local loan officer, and help stacking a low-down-payment loan with down-payment or closing-cost assistance. Four of the seven platforms in this study named Guild during the ranking stage, and all seven that produced fit research rated it good, strong, or uncertain — none rated it poor. The strongest reason to consider it is MyPath2Own, a mortgage-readiness program combining education, counseling, and up to $4,000 in assistance [20]. The main limitation is cost transparency: Guild does not publish rates or a standard fee schedule, so buyers must obtain Loan Estimates to compare [27].

Research Snapshot

FieldFinding
Platform mentions in ranking stage4 of 7 platforms (Claude, Gemini, Grok, Kimi)
Share of included platform responses57.1%
Average listed rank2.0
Best listed rank1 (Gemini, Kimi)
Mortgage offeringMyPath2Own; 1% Down program; state, county, and city down-payment-assistance programs
Overall use-case fitGood — all seven fit-research platforms rated it good, strong, or uncertain; none rated it poor
Research date2026-09-29

Why Guild Mortgage Qualified for This Study

Questions explored

  • Is Guild Mortgage a good choice for first-time homebuyer loan guidance?
  • How many platforms recommended Guild Mortgage for first-time buyers who need education and hand-holding?

Guild Mortgage qualified because it was named by four of the seven platforms during ranking discovery and because every platform that produced fit research returned a positive or neutral verdict for this specific buyer profile. Google and Kimi both ranked it first; Grok ranked it second; Claude ranked it fourth. The remaining platforms (ChatGPT, DeepSeek, Perplexity) did not name Guild in the ranking stage but still produced full fit research on it, and all three rated it a good fit.

The qualification rests on a specific match: the research prompt asked for a lender offering clear educational resources, patient loan officers, and first-time-buyer programs with reduced down payments or closing-cost help. Guild's published program set maps directly onto those three criteria [20]. This is a fit review, not a broad company review, and it evaluates Guild only for first-time homebuyer loan guidance.

One qualification must be stated up front. The deterministic identity audit for this run recorded that official-site retrieval failed for at least one mention, and the identity was resolved using an exact-name fallback with a reported domain that remains unverified. The ranking-stage identity and domain were supplied as reported information; the cited Guild pages support the entity and its programs but do not independently validate the ranking.

The mortgage offering in focus

Questions explored

  • Which Guild Mortgage program should a first-time buyer choose if they are not yet mortgage-ready?
  • How much assistance does Guild Mortgage's MyPath2Own program provide toward down payment or closing costs?
  • What is the difference between Guild Mortgage's MyPath2Own program and its 1% Down program?

Two Guild programs carry nearly all of the relevance for this use case, and the platforms converged on naming both.

MyPath2Own is the education-and-readiness track. It is designed for first-time buyers who are not yet mortgage-ready and combines a personalized homeownership plan, homebuyer education delivered through eHome America, counseling, and up to $4,000 toward down payment or closing costs for buyers who complete the required coursework and later qualify [20]. eHome America is described in the supplied research as a HUD-approved nonprofit and NeighborWorks Network member [10]. Guild's own press release describes the program as an education-based structure launched with eHome America [10]. Funds are distributed through Community Ventures, the financial arm of eHome America [8].

The 1% Down program is the low-cash-to-close track. The buyer contributes 1%, and Guild provides a non-repayable grant covering 2% of the required minimum down payment, capped at $4,000 on the current product page, with a stated minimum credit score of 620, low-to-moderate income limits, and a single-family primary residence requirement [18]. Google's research also describes a 620 minimum for conventional loans and a 540 minimum for FHA loans [24].

A third pathway appears in the research: Guild advertises access to more than 800 state, county, and city down-payment-assistance programs, plus Guild-exclusive options such as Zero Down, which pairs an FHA first mortgage with a second mortgage covering 3.5%–5% of the purchase price [19].

What the AI Platforms Agreed About

Questions explored

  • Do AI platforms agree that Guild Mortgage is a strong choice for first-time buyers who need education?
  • What do reviewers consistently say about Guild Mortgage's down payment assistance for first-time buyers?

Agreement was strong, though not unanimous in degree. All seven platforms that produced fit research identified education plus assistance as Guild's core advantage for this buyer. The specific points of agreement:

Education is genuinely structured, not marketing language. Five platforms independently described MyPath2Own as combining a personalized plan, coursework, and counseling rather than a single course [20]. The eHome America partnership was named by ChatGPT, Claude, Perplexity, Grok, and Gemini.

Assistance is quantified and capped. The $4,000 figure for MyPath2Own appears across ChatGPT, Claude, Perplexity, Grok, and Gemini [20]. The 1% Down grant is described as non-repayable and capped, though the cap figure conflicts across sources — see the next section.

Loan officer guidance is the delivery model. Guild's published process relies on a local loan officer to assess income, debt, savings, and employment history and to identify available loan or assistance options [20]. Google's research notes Guild operates hundreds of physical branches across more than 30 states, which it frames as enabling in-person hand-holding [27].

Pricing is not published. Google, via two independent reviews, and ChatGPT both state that Guild does not disclose rates or a standard fee schedule online [27]. This is agreement about a limitation, not a strength.

Where the AI Platforms Disagreed or Were Uncertain

Questions explored

  • Is Guild Mortgage's 1% Down grant capped at $4,000 or $5,000?
  • How reliable is Guild Mortgage's MyPath2Own program if only a small share of enrollees close a loan?

Three material conflicts and one significant uncertainty emerged.

The 1% Down grant cap is inconsistent across Guild's own materials. The current 1% Down product page states a $4,000 maximum [18]. An older Guild press release references a maximum of $5,000 [13]. Google's research flagged the same discrepancy and noted some pages list $4,000 while others list up to $5,000 [17]. Grok described the range as "$4,000-$5,000" without resolving it [4]. The current written offer and applicable program guide should control, but buyers should confirm the figure in writing for their file.

MyPath2Own conversion data is low and its interpretation is disputed. Guild reported that in 2025, 663 potential homebuyers enrolled in MyPath2Own, 140 participated in eHome America courses, 37 completed all three required courses, and 10 loans closed with assistance [12]. Anthropic calculated this as roughly 1.5% conversion from enrollment to closed loan and treated it as a limitation suggesting real-world deployment challenges. The same source does not establish whether the low figure reflects program limitations, borrower circumstances, or an early program stage. This is a company-reported statistic, not an independently audited outcome.

Assistance structure varies and is not uniformly a grant. Perplexity's research found that some Guild down-payment-assistance options are structured as repayable second mortgages or include temporary buydowns, depending on the program [21]. Google's research, citing user reports, noted some assistance is structured as a second lien that comes due on sale or refinance while other assistance is forgivable [31]. The 1% Down grant itself is described as non-repayable [18].

One platform could not verify the programs at all. Kimi rated Guild "uncertain" rather than good or strong, reporting that official-site retrieval failed during its research and that no independent source confirmed program availability across states, educational quality, or whether assistance requires repayment [1]. Kimi's uncertainty is a research limitation, not evidence of a defect — but it is the only platform that declined to endorse the fit.

Mortgage features for this borrowing need

Questions explored

  • What credit score and income limits apply to Guild Mortgage's 1% Down program for first-time buyers?
  • Does Guild Mortgage's homebuyer education satisfy requirements for FHA or state bond programs?

The features below are the ones the platforms tied directly to first-time buyer guidance.

Mortgage-readiness planning. MyPath2Own assigns a loan officer to evaluate the buyer's finances and build a personalized plan, with online money-management and homebuyer-education classes delivered through eHome America [20]. Anthropic's research describes three required courses plus counseling [10].

Low down payment. The 1% Down program requires a 1% borrower contribution with Guild covering 2% of the minimum down payment as a non-repayable grant [18]. Zero Down pairs an FHA first mortgage with a second mortgage covering 3.5%–5% of the purchase price [16].

Assistance breadth. Guild advertises more than 800 state, county, city, and local down-payment-assistance programs, with loan officers suggesting the best fit [19]. A separate Guild program, Guild Gateway to Homeownership, is described as including lender credits, mandatory education, and geographic and income limits [11].

Eligibility parameters. The 1% Down program is described with a 620 minimum credit score, low-to-moderate income limits, single-family primary residence occupancy, and a required homebuyer education course [18]. Anthropic's research specifies income at or below 80% of area median income [18]. Google's research reports conventional minimums of 620 and FHA minimums of 540 [24].

Temporary buydown. Anthropic's research describes a 1% lender-paid interest rate buydown for year one in the 1% Down program, which reduces the first-year payment and increases in year two [13]. This is a temporary reduction, not a permanent rate advantage.

Rates, fees, and ongoing costs

Questions explored

  • How much does Guild Mortgage cost per month for a first-time buyer loan, and what fees apply?
  • Are Guild Mortgage's down payment assistance funds ever repayable?
  • Can a first-time buyer combine Guild Mortgage's 1% Down grant with a state or local down payment assistance program?

No reliable public nationwide price can be stated for these products. Rates, APR, points, lender credits, mortgage-insurance costs, third-party charges, and cash to close depend on the borrower, property, loan type, location, and market conditions [25]. Pricing confidence across the platforms was low, with Perplexity the only platform rating it moderate.

What is quantified. MyPath2Own assistance is advertised at up to $4,000 after required education and mortgage qualification [20]. The 1% Down grant is capped at $4,000 on the current product page, with an older press release citing $5,000 [18]. Closing costs are typically 2%–5% of the home value with a standard 1% origination fee, per one independent review [29].

What is not quantified. Specific Guild origination, processing, underwriting, appraisal, rate-lock, and credit-report fees are unclear from the cited program pages [18]. Third-party education fees for MyPath2Own are the consumer's responsibility, and the amount is not disclosed [20]. Guild does not publish rates or a standard fee schedule online [27].

Contract terms. The 1% Down grant is subject to program guidelines, cannot be retroactively applied to previously closed or rate-locked loans, and is not available with other discounts or promotions according to the official page [18]. Anthropic's research adds that a rate lock on or after 1/2/2025 was required for grant eligibility [18]. All loans remain subject to underwriter approval and terms may change [18].

Repayment risk. For local down-payment-assistance programs, assistance may be a repayable second mortgage, payable upon sale, or forgivable only after meeting specified requirements; the exact terms vary by program [19]. Buyers should not assume all assistance is free money.

Ongoing costs. The buyer remains responsible for the mortgage payment, interest, mortgage insurance where applicable, taxes, insurance, and closing costs not covered by assistance [18]. A lender may charge a reasonable credit-report fee before issuing a Loan Estimate; other pre-Loan-Estimate charges are restricted by federal rules [26].

Best Suited For

Questions explored

  • Who is Guild Mortgage best suited for among first-time homebuyers?
  • Is Guild Mortgage a good fit for a first-time buyer with limited savings and a 620 credit score?

Guild is best suited for first-time buyers whose primary barrier is preparation and cash, not rate optimization. The platforms converged on three buyer profiles.

Buyers who are not yet mortgage-ready. MyPath2Own exists specifically for buyers who do not currently qualify and need a stepwise preparation path [20]. This is the single most distinctive fit in the research.

Buyers with limited savings who may qualify for assistance. The 1% Down program and the 800-plus local assistance programs target buyers whose cash-to-close is the binding constraint [18].

Buyers who want a local loan officer. Guild's model relies on a loan officer to assess finances, suggest programs, and guide the process [20]. Buyers who want a person rather than a portal are the intended audience.

Eligibility gates apply: a 620 minimum credit score for the 1% Down program, low-to-moderate income limits, and single-family primary residence occupancy [18].

Probably Not Best Suited For

Questions explored

  • Who should not choose Guild Mortgage for first-time homebuyer loan guidance?
  • Is Guild Mortgage a bad choice for a first-time buyer who wants to compare published rates online?

Guild is probably not the best fit for buyers whose priority is transparent, comparable pricing. Guild does not publish rates or a standard fee schedule, which makes side-by-side shopping harder before contact [27]. Buyers who want to compare real-time rates without speaking to a loan officer first should look elsewhere [27].

It is also a poor fit for buyers outside the program parameters. The 1% Down program is limited to specified borrower, property, occupancy, and loan parameters [18]. Buyers purchasing investment properties, second homes, or properties outside primary-residence rules fall outside the programs [18]. Buyers with credit scores below 620 fall outside the published 1% Down eligibility [18].

Buyers who want a fully digital, self-service process without human interaction are also mismatched, since the model is built around loan officer contact [3]. And buyers in New York cannot use Guild at all, per one independent review [24].

When Another Option May Be Better

Questions explored

  • What is a better alternative to Guild Mortgage for a first-time buyer who wants published, comparable rates?
  • When should a first-time buyer choose a state housing finance agency program instead of Guild Mortgage?

Several alternatives were named in the research, each tied to a specific buyer situation.

When published, standardized terms matter more than assistance. Fannie Mae HomeReady and Freddie Mac HomeOne offer 3% down options with documented structures, published guidelines, and required homebuyer education with clear completion pathways [7]. Kimi's research framed these as lower decision risk for buyers who prioritize transparency.

When the buyer needs a specific state program. State housing finance agency programs have published guides and defined structures — the research named IHCDA First Step, CHFA FirstStep, and NIFA programs as examples [23]. A state program may offer better rate, mortgage insurance, assistance, or repayment terms than Guild's offer [25].

When a local agency or broker offers a lower-cost Loan Estimate. A local housing-finance agency, credit union, community bank, or mortgage broker may provide a lower-cost Loan Estimate with equivalent assistance [25]. A broker can compare several lenders rather than relying primarily on one lender's product menu [25].

When the buyer wants a fully digital experience. Online-first lenders were named as alternatives for buyers who prioritize speed or self-service over loan officer contact [18].

When the buyer needs extensive closing-cost coverage. Guild's combined assistance may be insufficient in high-cost markets where some programs cover a larger share of closing costs [18].

Questions to ask before choosing a lender

The platforms supplied overlapping verification lists. The consolidated items below are the ones that recurred across multiple platforms and that bear directly on cost or eligibility.

On the assistance itself. Confirm whether the 1% Down grant is currently capped at $4,000 or another amount for your location, loan amount, and property [18]. Confirm whether the assistance is a grant, lender credit, second mortgage, or temporary buydown in your specific case [21]. Confirm whether any assistance is repayable, deferred, or forgivable, and what events trigger repayment [19].

On combining programs. Ask whether the 1% Down grant can be combined with state, county, city, employer, seller, or other assistance, since the official page states it is not available with other discounts or promotions [18].

On eligibility. Confirm the credit-score, income, debt-to-income, employment-history, purchase-price, occupancy, and property-type limits that apply to your file [18].

On education. Ask what course is required, how long it takes, and whether there is a fee, since MyPath2Own documentation states the consumer is responsible for third-party education fees without disclosing amounts [20].

On total cost. Request a formal Loan Estimate and compare rate, mortgage insurance, origination charges, lender credits, cash to close, and five-year borrowing costs against at least two other lenders [25].

On servicing. Ask who will service the loan after closing and whom to contact for payment or servicing issues [18].

The consensus assessment

Guild Mortgage is a good fit for first-time homebuyer loan guidance, with a strong specific match for buyers who need education and cash assistance rather than rate optimization. Four of seven platforms named it during ranking discovery, and all seven fit-research platforms rated it good, strong, or uncertain — none rated it poor. The strongest evidence supports MyPath2Own as a genuine mortgage-readiness pathway and the 1% Down program as a quantified low-cash-to-close option.

The verdict is not unconditional. Guild does not publish rates or a standard fee schedule, so buyers cannot comparison-shop before contact [27]. The 1% Down grant cap conflicts across Guild's own materials at $4,000 versus $5,000 [18]. Some assistance is structured as a repayable second mortgage rather than a grant [21]. MyPath2Own conversion data is low and its cause is unexplained [12]. One platform could not verify the programs at all [1].

Treat Guild as a strong candidate to investigate, not an automatic choice. Verify current program terms in writing and compare at least two or three Loan Estimates on total cost, not merely the advertised down payment [25]. For buyers weighing this lender against others in the category, the broader first-time homebuyer loan guidance index covers the full comparison set.

How This Review Was Produced

This review was produced from a fixed research run dated 2026-09-29 covering seven AI platforms: ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Grok, Kimi, DeepSeek, and Perplexity. Each platform was asked which providers it would recommend for a first-time buyer with no mortgage experience who needs education, patient loan officers, and access to first-time buyer programs. Platforms that named Guild during ranking discovery were counted as mentions; platforms that produced fit research without naming it in ranking were still included in the fit analysis.

The article evaluates Guild Mortgage only for first-time homebuyer loan guidance. It is not a broad company review and does not assess Guild for refinancing, investment property lending, or other use cases. All platform outputs are platform-reported and were not independently verified by the writer stage. Company-owned citations materially outnumber independent citations in the supplied evidence, so company claims are described as company claims rather than independently established facts.

Buyers who want to see how this lender sits against the wider field can browse the home purchase mortgage lenders directory.

Research limitations

Several limitations apply to this review and should be weighed before acting on it.

Citation ownership is skewed. The supplied catalog contains 23 company-owned sources and 8 independent sources. Most program details come from Guild's own pages. Company claims are not independently verified.

Research dates differ across platforms. The authoritative run date is 2026-09-29, but Claude's research is dated 2026-01-15 and DeepSeek's is dated 2026-06-01. Platform-reported dates are provenance metadata and do not independently prove freshness.

One platform ran without search. Deepseek's research capability record shows search disabled, so its findings are model-reported rather than retrieved. Its claims should be verified before being treated as current.

Official-site retrieval failed for at least one mention. The deterministic identity audit recorded a failed fetch and resolved identity using an exact-name fallback with a reported domain that remains unverified. No failed fetch was used as a verified domain key.

One platform could not verify the programs. Kimi reported that official-site retrieval failed during its research and rated the fit uncertain as a result [1].

No performance metrics were verified. No public source cited here verifies a nationwide standard fee schedule, rate advantage, approval rate, closing-time performance, or educational-outcome measure [18]. Individual loan-officer quality, closing performance, and customer-service outcomes are not verified by the cited sources [20].

Program availability varies. The number of available down-payment-assistance programs and actual eligibility vary by state, county, city, income, property, and loan type [19]. Public sources do not establish nationwide availability of every first-time-buyer offering [20].

Supplied URLs were not independently validated. The URLs in the Sources section were collected from platform responses and were not independently validated by the writer stage.

AI-platform agreement does not prove product quality. Agreement across platforms reflects consistent reporting on published materials, not verified performance.

See the broader First-Time Homebuyers consensus index for comparisons across qualified options.

Sources

Company-Owned Sources

  1. Guild Mortgage - First-Time Homebuyer Programs and MyPath2Own (unverified primary source: https://guildmortgage.com/
  2. 1% Down Program | Guild Mortgage: https://guildmortgage.com/1-percent-down
  3. Find a Loan Officer | Guild Mortgage: https://guildmortgage.com/find-a-loan-officer
  4. Homebuying Assistance Programs | Promise of Home | Guild Mortgage: https://guildmortgage.com/mortgage-loans/homebuying-assistance-programs
  5. MyPath2Own | Guild Mortgage: https://guildmortgage.com/mypath2own
  6. Guild Giving raises funds for new MyPath2Own program: https://www.guildgiving.org/guild-giving-raises-funds-for-new-mypath2own-program/
  7. A guide to first-time homebuyer loans | Guild Mortgage: https://www.guildmortgage.com/blog/a-guide-to-first-time-homebuyer-loans/
  8. First-time homebuyer grants and down payment assistance - Guild Mortgage: https://www.guildmortgage.com/blog/first-time-homebuyer-grants-and-down-payment-assistance/
  9. Down payment assistance programs | Guild Mortgage: https://www.guildmortgage.com/down-payment-assistance-programs/
  10. Get Mortgage-Ready with MyPath2Own | Guild Mortgage: https://www.guildmortgage.com/mortgage-loans/mypath2own/
  11. First-time homebuyer | MyPath2Own | Guild Mortgage: https://www.guildmortgage.com/mypath2own/

Independent Sources

  1. Guild Mortgage Reviews 2026 | Intuit Credit Karma: https://www.creditkarma.com/mortgage/lenders/guild-mortgage
  2. Guild Mortgage Review 2026 - LendingTree: https://www.lendingtree.com/mortgage/guild-mortgage-review/
  3. Guild Mortgage Review 2026 - NerdWallet: https://www.nerdwallet.com/mortgages/reviews/guild-mortgage
  4. Anyone use Guild Mortgage? : r/FirstTimeHomeBuyer - Reddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/FirstTimeHomeBuyer/comments/1bqis7s/anyone_use_guild_mortgage/

TRANSPARENCY BY DESIGN

The evidence behind this study

Research is a dated snapshot of AI recommendations and their supporting sources. Use the original evidence and methodology to understand what these findings can—and cannot—tell you.

Independent source records
8
Provider-owned source records
23
Direct support records
27

AI platforms in the study

ChatGPTClaudeDeepSeekGrokPerplexityKimiGemini

Study limitations

  • The study date identifies this research snapshot; dates reported by AI platforms do not independently establish source freshness.
  • Recommendation counts measure mentions during the ranking stage. Later fit assessments do not increase those counts.
  • Product names, costs, and features can differ across sources. Confirm conflicting details directly with the provider.
  • Source URLs came from AI platform responses and were not independently validated during report preparation.
  • Company-owned citations materially outnumber independent citations; do not describe company claims as independently verified.
  • Some dates reported by AI platforms differ from the study date. Those dates do not independently establish that the information is current.

Affiliate & commercial disclosure

We may receive compensation when you follow certain links, request mortgage quotes, or take another qualifying action through a commercial partner. These relationships create a potential financial conflict, but do not influence recorded AI recommendations or ranking calculations. Partner availability, rates, fees, and eligibility can vary.

Read the full Affiliate Disclosure for compensation, tracking, partner availability, and research independence details, or contact us with a disclosure question.

Verify the source snapshot

SHA-256: 8a8e13a3359c22e6b484621d547c38423f7e471d48ca244f32d56725a7c07b20