The research in brief
Lendmire is a reasonable fit for self-employed homeowners who need a HELOC approved on bank-statement or alternative income documentation, with meaningful caveats. Four of seven platforms named Lendmire during the ranking stage (Claude, Grok, Kimi, Perplexity), and it finished fifth overall with an average listed rank of 5.75 and a best rank of 3 (Claude). The strongest reason to consider it: Lendmire publicly markets bank-statement and stated-income HELOCs that qualify borrowers on 12–24 months of deposits, 1099s, or CPA-prepared P&L statements instead of tax returns [14]. The main limitation: Lendmire is a mortgage broker, not a direct lender, so rates, fees, documentation rules, and approval timelines depend on an unnamed wholesale lender and are not publicly disclosed [13].
Research Snapshot
| Field | Finding |
|---|---|
| Platform mentions in ranking stage | 4 of 7 platforms (Claude, Grok, Kimi, Perplexity) |
| Share of included platform responses | 57.1% |
| Average listed rank | 5.75 |
| Best listed rank | 3 (Claude) |
| Mortgage offering | Bank Statement HELOC; Stated-Income HELOC (Wholesale Alternative-Documentation Program) |
| Overall use-case fit | Good, with qualification caveats (platform fit ratings ranged from "strong" to "uncertain") |
| Research date | 2026-09-29 |
Why Lendmire Qualified for This Study
Questions explored
- Why did Lendmire qualify for a 2026 review of self-employed HELOC income documentation?
- How many AI platforms named Lendmire for self-employed HELOC approval, and at what rank?
Lendmire qualified because it directly markets the exact problem this study examines: Self-Employed Borrowers whose tax returns understate cash flow and who need a home equity line approved on alternative documentation. Four of seven platforms named it during ranking discovery, and it landed at an average listed rank of 5.75 with a best rank of 3 (Claude).
The company's public materials describe bank-statement HELOCs that use personal or business deposit history instead of conventional tax-return income documentation, plus stated-income materials clarifying that this is alternative documentation rather than a zero-documentation loan [14]. Lendmire also states it is a mortgage brokerage that places loans through wholesale lender partners rather than acting as a direct lender or depository institution [13].
That broker structure is central to how this review should be read. Lendmire does not make the final lending decision and does not publish one universal underwriting policy [13]. The eventual lender, rate, fees, conditions, and underwriting decision may differ by application.
The mortgage offering in focus
Questions explored
- Which Lendmire product is most relevant for a self-employed borrower who cannot document income with tax returns?
- Is Lendmire's Bank Statement HELOC a direct loan or arranged through wholesale lenders?
The most relevant offering is Lendmire's Bank Statement HELOC, arranged through its wholesale lender network, with related stated-income and alternative-documentation HELOC programs [14]. Lendmire describes qualification using 12 to 24 months of bank deposits instead of tax returns, with personal deposits typically credited near full value and business deposits adjusted by an expense factor [14].
Lendmire's stated-income materials explain that modern stated-income HELOCs use alternative documentation such as bank statements, 1099s, or profit-and-loss information rather than requiring no documentation [35]. Perplexity's research found the site alternates between describing the offering as bank-statement HELOC, stated-income HELOC, no-income-verification HELOC, and network-arranged product language, so the exact product structure is unclear [18].
Critically, Lendmire is a broker. Its wholesale-program page describes alternative documentation, lender-network placement, occupancy-specific CLTV and credit limits, required initial draw, variable-rate terms, excluded title structures, excluded property types, and state limitations [13]. The specific lender that would receive a given application is not publicly identified [13].
What the AI Platforms Agreed About
Questions explored
- What did most AI platforms agree on about Lendmire's fit for self-employed HELOC income documentation?
- Does Lendmire's bank statement HELOC still require credit, equity, and debt-to-income review?
The platforms broadly agreed on three points: Lendmire markets alternative-documentation HELOCs for self-employed borrowers, the core mechanism is deposit-based income calculation, and the program still requires substantive underwriting.
On documentation, OpenAI, Anthropic, Grok, Perplexity, and Google all found that Lendmire describes bank-statement qualification using 12–24 months of deposits, with 1099s or CPA-prepared P&L statements as alternatives [14]. Anthropic's research framed the fit plainly: self-employed borrowers' write-offs make traditional income documentation look weaker than actual cash flow, and bank statement HELOCs close that gap [16].
On underwriting, the platforms agreed this is not a no-doc shortcut. Perplexity found Lendmire says underwriting still evaluates repayment ability using credit, combined loan-to-value, debt-to-income, reserves, and deposit patterns [28]. The CFPB states that most mortgage lenders must make a reasonable, good-faith ability-to-repay determination and generally document income, assets, employment, credit history, and monthly expenses [42].
On structure, Anthropic and OpenAI both found Lendmire is a mortgage brokerage (NMLS# 2371349), not a direct lender, and that loan placement is subject to lender underwriting with no commitment to lend [26].
Where the AI Platforms Disagreed or Were Uncertain
Questions explored
- Why did some AI platforms rate Lendmire's self-employed HELOC fit as uncertain rather than good?
- What pricing and approval-speed information about Lendmire's bank statement HELOC remains unverified?
Fit ratings diverged sharply. Grok rated Lendmire "strong," OpenAI, Anthropic, and Google rated it "good," Perplexity rated it "mixed," and DeepSeek and Kimi both rated it "uncertain" [9].
The disagreement centers on verifiability. Kimi's research concluded that Lendmire's public website and third-party coverage provide no verifiable information about bank statement HELOCs, stated-income HELOCs, or any alternative-documentation HELOC products, and that the ranking-stage product recommendations appeared speculative [9]. DeepSeek could not verify licensing status, whether Lendmire underwrites or only brokers, or any regulator record specific to Lendmire [44].
Pricing is the largest unresolved gap. No public rate sheet or borrower-specific APR was verified, and the reviewed materials do not quantify the rate premium, if any, for bank-statement or other alternative-documentation underwriting [13]. For context, Kimi's research cited industry benchmarks showing bank statement HELOCs carry roughly +0.25% to +0.75% rate premiums over full-doc loans, and no-doc programs +0.50% to +2.00%, but these are competitor and industry figures, not Lendmire-specific terms [5].
Approval speed is also unresolved. Lendmire advertises a quote process taking about 30 seconds, but no reliable public evidence establishes a typical time to underwriting approval, closing, or funding [14]. Grok reported closings in as few as 15 days for mortgages and HELOC funding in as few as 5 days in related programs, but this is platform-reported and not confirmed by Lendmire's HELOC pages [9]. Industry averages run around 30 days from application through closing [41].
Mortgage features for this borrowing need
Questions explored
- How does Lendmire calculate qualifying income from bank statements for a self-employed HELOC applicant?
- What CLTV, credit score, and line-size limits apply to Lendmire's bank statement HELOC?
Lendmire's core capability for this use case is deposit-based income calculation. Underwriters evaluate 12 to 24 months of deposits, credit personal account deposits at nearly full value, and discount business account deposits — often by roughly half — to account for operating overhead before calculating debt-to-income [7]. The exact number of required statement months and the income-calculation method may vary by lender and borrower profile [13].
Leverage and credit limits vary by occupancy. Published wholesale-program information describes occupancy-specific CLTV and credit limits, including up to 90% CLTV for some primary-residence tiers, lower limits for investment properties, and line caps up to $750,000 under specified conditions [13]. Anthropic's research found primary residences reach 90% CLTV at 720+ credit, second homes and investment properties cap at 70% CLTV with a 700 credit floor, and investment-property lines max at $500,000 [15]. Google reported primary residences at 80–90% CLTV depending on credit and investment properties capped at 70% CLTV [8]. Lendmire's public pages contain differing occupancy and CLTV descriptions, including inconsistencies regarding maximum primary-residence CLTV, so borrowers should rely on a current written lender guideline or Loan Estimate rather than webpage summaries [13].
Two structural features matter for planning. At least 75% of the approved line is generally required to be drawn at closing, which may create interest costs on funds the borrower does not immediately need [13]. And the line is variable-rate through both the draw and repayment periods with no fixed-rate conversion [19].
Title and geography are hard filters. The cited wholesale HELOC program requires title in an individual borrower's name or a revocable living trust; LLCs, corporations, partnerships, and certain trust structures are excluded [13]. Lendmire's HELOC program covers 16 full-service states: Alabama, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Michigan, Montana, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and Washington [37].
Rates, fees, and ongoing costs
Questions explored
- How much does Lendmire's bank statement HELOC cost, and are rates or fees published?
- What contract terms, draw periods, and early-closure penalties apply to a Lendmire-arranged HELOC?
Pricing is not publicly disclosed, and this is the single biggest gap in the evidence. No public rate sheet or borrower-specific APR was verified, and the reviewed materials do not quantify any rate premium for alternative-documentation underwriting [13]. Pricing confidence across platforms was uniformly low [13].
What is known: the HELOC is described as variable-rate financing that remains variable during both draw and repayment periods, with no fixed-rate conversion option [13]. Anthropic's research describes a typical structure of a 5-year interest-only draw period followed by a 25-year amortizing repayment, with a Tennessee exception of 5-year draw and 10-year repayment [19]. Early closure or prepayment penalties are common if the line is closed within the first 2–3 years, with exact terms set by the individual wholesale lender [26].
Fee categories that may apply include appraisal or valuation fees, title search and title insurance, recording and filing fees, notary or document signing fees, and lender-specific annual maintenance fees [26]. Industry benchmarks suggest HELOC closing costs typically range 2–5% of the credit limit, including appraisal, title search, recording, and origination fees, with some lenders offering no-closing-cost options at higher rates or with early closure fees [43]. Lendmire's reviewed pages do not provide a complete fee schedule [13].
The national average HELOC interest rate was 7.28% as of September 23, 2026, calculated for a $30,000 line with 700 FICO and 80% CLTV for primary single-family homes — a useful benchmark, not a Lendmire quote [39].
Best Suited For
Questions explored
- Who is Lendmire's bank statement HELOC actually best suited for among self-employed homeowners?
- Is Lendmire a good fit for a self-employed borrower with strong deposits but low reported taxable income?
Lendmire is best suited for self-employed primary-residence owners with consistent personal or business deposits who want a second-lien HELOC without refinancing an existing first mortgage [14]. The clearest fit is a borrower whose tax returns understate income but whose deposits, equity, credit, and property meet a specialty lender's requirements [14].
Specific profiles that fit well include 1099 contractors and business owners whose write-offs understate actual cash flow, short-term rental hosts with irregular income deposits unsuitable for traditional underwriting, and real estate investors who need equity access without refinancing a first mortgage [16]. Borrowers in the 16 full-service states with credit scores ranging from 600 for primary residences to 700+ for investment properties also fit the published tiers [24].
Applicants must be willing to use alternative documentation and accept lender-specific underwriting and variable-rate terms [14]. Because Lendmire is a broker, the borrower is also accepting that the final lender, rate, and conditions are determined after application [13].
Probably Not Best Suited For
Questions explored
- Who should not choose Lendmire for self-employed HELOC income documentation?
- Is Lendmire a poor fit for LLC-owned properties or borrowers outside its 16 states?
Lendmire is probably not the best fit for borrowers who qualify for lower-cost conventional bank or credit-union HELOCs using standard tax-return documentation [14]. It is also a poor fit for borrowers needing a standby line with little or no initial draw, since at least 75% of the approved line is generally required to be drawn at closing [13].
Entity-owned property is a hard exclusion. Applicants with LLC-, corporation-, or partnership-owned property, unsupported property types, or properties outside the program's stated states are not eligible for this HELOC product [13]. Lendmire steers LLC-held rentals toward DSCR loans instead [15].
Borrowers requiring a published rate, guaranteed approval, or clearly disclosed lender fees before applying should look elsewhere, because Lendmire does not publish these [14]. Borrowers seeking a fixed-rate HELOC structure are also out of scope, since the wholesale lines are variable-rate only [19]. And borrowers who need funds within two weeks should plan for a standard 4–6 week underwriting, appraisal, and title review, because Lendmire does not advertise expedited processing [26].
When Another Option May Be Better
Questions explored
- When is a DSCR loan or conventional HELOC a better alternative to Lendmire for a self-employed borrower?
- What should a self-employed borrower do if their property is outside Lendmire's 16-state footprint?
Another option may be better in several defined situations. A conventional bank or credit union offering a materially lower APR and accepting the borrower's tax-return income is the first alternative [14]. If the borrower needs asset-depletion or asset-only underwriting rather than deposit-based underwriting, a clearly defined asset-based HELOC path was not verified in Lendmire's reviewed materials [35].
If the property is titled to an LLC or another excluded entity, a DSCR refinance or business-purpose cash-out loan is more appropriate [14]. Lendmire arranges DSCR investor loans in 40 markets, a wider footprint than its 16-state HELOC program [22].
If the borrower needs a small, unused standby line without a large required initial draw, the 75% draw requirement makes Lendmire a poor structural match [14]. If the borrower requires transparent published pricing and fees before authorizing a full application, a direct lender with a published rate sheet is the better path [14]. And if the borrower needs immediate funding under two weeks, online HELOC lenders using full-digital and automated-valuation processes can close faster than wholesale broker networks [26].
For broader context on how this lender compares with others evaluated for the same borrower profile, see the Self-employed income documentation for HELOC approval consensus index. Readers who want to compare across product categories can also browse the full home equity loan and heloc lenders directory.
Questions to ask before choosing a lender
Questions explored
- What should a buyer confirm with Lendmire before signing a bank statement HELOC contract?
- Which wholesale lender will underwrite and fund a Lendmire-arranged HELOC?
Before committing, a buyer should confirm the following with Lendmire and the eventual wholesale lender [13]:
- Which wholesale lender will underwrite and fund the specific HELOC?
- Will the lender accept personal statements, business statements, 1099s, a P&L, or a combination?
- How many consecutive months of statements are required, and how are transfers, cash deposits, refunds, loan proceeds, and business expenses treated?
- What exact APR, index, margin, floor, adjustment frequency, and maximum rate apply?
- What are all lender, broker, appraisal, title, recording, annual, draw, inactivity, and early-termination fees?
- Is the required initial draw exactly 75%, and are there minimum subsequent-draw amounts?
- What are the exact CLTV, credit-score, DTI, line-size, occupancy, property-type, and state requirements for this file?
- Is the property eligible if titled in an LLC, corporation, partnership, or trust?
- What is the expected timeline from complete documentation to approval, closing, and funding?
- Will the lender provide a Loan Estimate or comparable written disclosure showing the complete cost structure before the borrower commits?
The consensus assessment
The consensus verdict is a qualified yes. Lendmire is worth considering for a self-employed homeowner whose tax returns understate income but whose deposits, equity, credit, and property meet a specialty HELOC lender's requirements [14]. It is less compelling when conventional underwriting is available, when the borrower needs transparent pricing or fast funding, when the line will remain largely unused, or when the property is entity-owned [14].
Platform fit ratings ranged from "strong" (Grok) to "uncertain" (DeepSeek, Kimi), with OpenAI, Anthropic, and Google landing on "good" and Perplexity on "mixed" [9]. That spread reflects a real evidence problem rather than a product problem: company-owned citations materially outnumber independent ones, and no independent source verified Lendmire's pricing, approval rates, or customer outcomes [13].
Treat the public program descriptions as preliminary and obtain lender-specific written terms before proceeding [13].
How This Review Was Produced
This review was produced from a structured research run dated 2026-09-29 in which seven AI platforms were asked which providers they would recommend for a self-employed homeowner with strong equity but variable or complex income seeking a HELOC. Four of the seven platforms named Lendmire during ranking discovery: Claude, Grok, Kimi, and Perplexity. Each platform then supplied fit assessments, use-case findings, pricing and terms, limitations, and questions to verify before buying.
The article evaluates Lendmire only for the use case of self-employed income documentation for HELOC approval. It is not a broad company review. All factual claims are attributed to the platform that supplied them using parenthetical citation IDs, and company-owned sources are distinguished from independent ones in the Sources section.
Research limitations
Several limitations apply. Company-owned citations materially outnumber independent citations, so company claims should not be described as independently verified. The supplied URLs were collected from platform responses and were not independently validated by the writer stage. Citations are platform-reported evidence, not independently verified facts.
Platform-reported research dates differ from the authoritative run date: DeepSeek's research is dated 2026-06-11 while the run research date is 2026-09-29. Platform-reported dates are provenance metadata and do not independently prove freshness. DeepSeek's research was conducted with search disabled, so its claims require explicit verification before being described as current facts.
All included platforms evaluated fit, but the platform mention count reflects only platforms that named the entity during ranking discovery. Conflicting product names, pricing, and capabilities were not resolved by guessing; where conflicts exist, they are described and buyers are directed to verify. No independent customer reviews, satisfaction ratings, or complaint data were found for Lendmire's HELOC product, and no personal testing or customer experience was conducted for this review.
Sources
Company-Owned Sources
- Bank Statement HELOC for Self-Employed Borrowers | Andes Mortgage: https://andesmortgage.com/bank-statement-heloc/
- Bank Statement HELOC | Non-QM 2nd Mortgage for Self-Employed: https://angeloakms.com/programs/bank-statement-heloc/
- HELOC For Self-Employed Borrowers | JD.Mortgage: https://jd.mortgage/heloc-for-self-employed/
- Bank Statement HELOC: Guide for Self-Employed Borrowers: https://trussfinancialgroup.com/blog/bank-statement-heloc
- How Does A No-Income Verification HELOC Work?: https://trussfinancialgroup.com/blog/how-does-no-income-verification-heloc-work
- How Can I Use My Bank Statement To Qualify For A HELOC: https://vertexaisearch.cloud.google.com/grounding-api-redirect/AUZIYQErCxzD33_37CC557I-SUZDjis4YtB--AFKiJSsHSNPMFO2nahLxRXUeQ4B_WFu9rKJDXO-UzD0wtZj_Pdxi4n2-YMcNdAcmSIQEWKTQpir88oL0jMiRsrTbc7ZAiIeq39pTb1czvlOjr0cST9q8f8jZwat-0ozvCGiQiifnoyKTt8-ASpNpWpri2Nj
- Lendmire official website: https://www.lendmire.com/
- Applying For HELOC With No Tax Returns: https://www.lendmire.com/applying-for-heloc-with-no-tax-returns/
- Bank Statement HELOC: Income Qualification | Lendmire: https://www.lendmire.com/bank-statement-heloc-lenders/
- Bank Statement HELOC Program: https://www.lendmire.com/bank-statement-heloc-program/
- Bank Statement HELOC Wholesale: https://www.lendmire.com/bank-statement-heloc-wholesale/
- Bank Statement HELOC for Self-Employed | Lendmire: https://www.lendmire.com/bank-statement-heloc/
- Best Bank Statement HELOC Lenders: https://www.lendmire.com/best-bank-statement-heloc-lenders/
- Best Bank Statement HELOC: https://www.lendmire.com/best-bank-statement-heloc/
- Best HELOC Program No Income Verification: https://www.lendmire.com/best-heloc-program-no-income-verification/
- Difference Between Stated Income And Asset-based: https://www.lendmire.com/difference-between-stated-income-and-asset-based-helocs/
- Documents Needed For A Bank Statement HELOC Application: https://www.lendmire.com/documents-needed-for-a-bank-statement-heloc-application/
- HELOC For Self Employed People: https://www.lendmire.com/heloc-for-self-employed-people/
- Frequently Asked Questions: https://www.lendmire.com/heloc-for-the-self-employed/
- HELOC Loans Without Tax Returns: https://www.lendmire.com/heloc-loans-without-tax-returns/
- HELOC Self Employed: https://www.lendmire.com/heloc-self-employed/
- Home Equity Line for Rental Property | Lendmire: https://www.lendmire.com/home-equity-line-of-credit-for-rental-property/
- Home Equity Loan Self Employed Docs - Lendmire: https://www.lendmire.com/home-equity-loan-self-employed/
- Home Equity On Investment Property: https://www.lendmire.com/home-equity-on-investment-property/
- How Do Financial Institutions Verify Income For Stated: https://www.lendmire.com/how-do-financial-institutions-verify-income-for-stated-income-helocs/
- Lenders Offering HELOCs For Self-employed With Bank Statements: https://www.lendmire.com/lenders-offering-helocs-for-self-employed-with-bank-statements/
- Lenders Who Do HELOCs When You Are Self Employed: https://www.lendmire.com/lenders-who-do-helocs-when-you-are-self-employed/
- No Income Verification HELOC - Lendmire: https://www.lendmire.com/no-income-verification-heloc/
- Heloc Or DSCR Cash-Out: https://www.lendmire.com/requirements-for-a-stated-income-heloc/
- Self-Employed Home Equity Line of Credit | Lendmire: https://www.lendmire.com/self-employed-home-equity-line-of-credit/
- Self Employed Home Equity Loan Guide: https://www.lendmire.com/self-employed-home-equity-loan/
- Stated Income HELOC For Self Employed: https://www.lendmire.com/stated-income-heloc-for-self-employed/
- Stated Income Self Employed HELOC: https://www.lendmire.com/stated-income-self-employed-heloc/
- What Documentation Do Self-employed Applicants Need For A: https://www.lendmire.com/what-documentation-do-self-employed-applicants-need-for-a-heloc/
- Where To Find HELOC Providers Accepting Alternative Income Proof: https://www.lendmire.com/where-to-find-heloc-providers-accepting-alternative-income-proof/
- Official pricing and terms source: https://www.lendmire.com/terms-and-conditions/
Independent Sources
- Current HELOC Rates In September 2026 - Home equity: https://www.bankrate.com/home-equity/heloc-rates/
- What Is A No-Doc HELOC Or Home Equity Loan? | Bankrate: https://www.bankrate.com/home-equity/what-is-a-no-doc-heloc-or-home-equity-loan/
- How quickly can a HELOC application be approved?: https://www.cbsnews.com/news/how-quickly-can-a-heloc-application-be-approved/
- What is the ability-to-repay rule?: https://www.consumerfinance.gov/ask-cfpb/what-is-the-ability-to-repay-rule-en-1787/
- Do Home Equity Loans Have Closing Costs: https://www.firstalliancecu.com/blog/do-home-equity-loans-have-closing-costs
- NMLS Consumer Access (search: https://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org/