The research in brief
Griffin Funding is a good fit for self-employed homeowners who need a HELOC approved on bank-statement income rather than tax returns, with meaningful verification required before purchase. Five of the seven platforms in this study named Griffin Funding during the ranking stage, and it finished second overall with an average listed rank of 3.8 and a best rank of 1. Its strongest asset is an explicitly marketed bank-statement HELOC path using 12–24 months of personal or business deposits. The main limitation is disclosure: no platform verified a complete rate, margin, or fee schedule, and the fixed-rate HELOC program excludes alternative documentation entirely.
Research Snapshot
| Field | Finding |
|---|---|
| Platform mentions in ranking stage | 5 of 7 platforms (Claude, Gemini, Kimi, ChatGPT, Perplexity) |
| Share of included platform responses | 71.4% |
| Average listed rank | 3.8 |
| Best listed rank | 1 (ChatGPT) |
| Mortgage offering | Bank Statement Loan HELOC / No-Doc HELOC; also described as a digital variable-rate HELOC |
| Overall use-case fit | Good, with verification required |
| Research date | 2026-09-29 |
Why Griffin Funding Qualified for This Study
Questions explored
- Is Griffin Funding a good choice for self-employed income documentation for HELOC approval?
- How many AI platforms recommended Griffin Funding for self-employed HELOC borrowers?
Griffin Funding qualified because it is one of the few lenders in this study that publicly markets a HELOC underwritten on bank statements rather than tax returns, which is the exact blocker this buyer faces. Five of the seven platforms named it during ranking discovery, and it placed second overall with an average listed rank of 3.8 [12].
The company's own HELOC page states that self-employed applicants may qualify using bank statement deposits instead of tax returns or pay stubs, and describes a bank statement loan HELOC designed for Self-Employed Borrowers [12]. Its broader bank statement materials describe 12- to 24-month statement options and digital statement syncing [10].
Independent coverage supports the positioning. LendEDU research identified Truss Financial, Griffin Funding, and LBC Mortgage as offering some of the best no-doc HELOCs, and RefiGuide describes Griffin Funding as among the most active lenders offering alternative-documentation HELOCs for self-employed borrowers [22]. That is directory-level recognition, not a performance measurement.
Platform fit ratings were not unanimous: Claude, Gemini, and Grok rated the fit strong; Kimi and ChatGPT rated it good; Perplexity rated it mixed; and DeepSeek rated it uncertain. That spread is itself a finding, and it is driven mostly by how much each platform could verify about pricing and product structure.
The mortgage offering in focus
Questions explored
- Which Griffin Funding HELOC program should a self-employed borrower choose if they need bank-statement income verification?
- Does Griffin Funding's fixed-rate HELOC accept bank statement income for self-employed applicants?
The relevant product is Griffin Funding's Bank Statement Loan HELOC, generally offered through its traditional variable-rate HELOC and related digital HELOC programs [12]. This is the product a self-employed borrower should ask about by name.
The underwriting model is deposit-based. Griffin Funding states that bank statement loans qualify borrowers on 12 to 24 months of personal or business bank statement deposits rather than tax returns or W-2s [10]. One platform reported a specific income-calculation rule: personal accounts count 100% of deposits, while business statements use a default 50% expense factor that can adjust as low as 10% depending on business type [2]. That expense-factor detail comes from a single platform's reading of company materials and should be confirmed directly.
The critical structural limit is that alternative documentation is not available on Griffin Funding's fixed-rate HELOC program, which requires 1 to 2 years of W-2s or tax returns [12]. A self-employed borrower using bank statements is therefore steered toward a variable-rate line. Griffin Funding does offer a fixed-rate HELOC, but it is a different product with different draw mechanics: the digital version is fully drawn at origination minus an origination fee, and later draws may be priced at Prime plus a fixed margin [11].
Product naming across platforms was inconsistent — "Bank Statement HELOC," "No-Doc HELOC," "Digital Variable-Rate HELOC," and "Bank Statement Home Equity Line" all appeared. Deepseek explicitly could not confirm whether a standalone bank-statement HELOC exists versus only bank-statement first-lien mortgages [2]. Buyers should ask Griffin Funding to name the exact program in writing.
What the AI Platforms Agreed About
Questions explored
- What do AI platforms agree Griffin Funding offers self-employed HELOC borrowers?
- Is Griffin Funding's bank statement HELOC faster to fund than a traditional HELOC?
Agreement was strong on four points and limited on everything involving numbers.
First, all five platforms that named Griffin Funding agreed it publicly markets bank-statement qualification for self-employed HELOC borrowers [12]. This is the single most consistent finding in the study.
Second, platforms agreed the documentation window is 12 to 24 months of personal or business bank statements, with no tax returns required for that qualification path [10].
Third, platforms agreed Griffin Funding advertises speed. Company materials state pre-approval within 5 minutes using a soft credit pull and funding in less than 5 business days [12]. OpenAI reported pre-approval within 48 hours for the traditional variable-rate HELOC and funding in as few as five business days for certain digital or fixed-rate products [12]. These are company claims, not independently verified timelines.
Fourth, platforms agreed the product is secured by the home and that appraisal, title, and county-specific closing requirements may apply depending on product and loan amount [12].
Where the AI Platforms Disagreed or Were Uncertain
Questions explored
- What is Griffin Funding's minimum credit score for a self-employed bank statement HELOC?
- Is Griffin Funding's bank statement HELOC pricing or rate premium publicly disclosed?
Disagreement clustered around credit thresholds, pricing, and whether the HELOC is a true revolving line.
On credit score, Griffin Funding's HELOC page states a minimum 640 FICO for a primary residence and 680 for second homes and investment properties [12]. Independent LendEDU reporting states the minimum for Griffin Funding no-doc HELOCs is generally 660 [22]. One independent review reports that in California Griffin will consider 640 credit versus 660 elsewhere [18]. Grok reported minimums of 620–640 for primary-residence HELOCs with bank statements [8]. These figures do not reconcile, and the discrepancy appears to be program-specific or regional rather than an error.
On pricing, no platform verified a rate, margin, or complete fee schedule. OpenAI, Claude, DeepSeek, Perplexity, and Kimi all assigned low pricing confidence [12]. Grok cited a 6.25%–7.5% range for bank statement products as a July 2026 example, but that figure covers related loans rather than a confirmed HELOC quote [10]. Kimi's evidence on rate premiums came from a former Griffin Funding executive quoted in a Bankrate article, and that executive is no longer with the company, so the statements may not reflect current policy [23].
On product structure, platforms disagreed about draw mechanics. OpenAI described the traditional HELOC as a variable-rate revolving line tied to Prime with interest-only payments during an initial period, while noting the digital fixed-rate product requires full draw at origination [12]. Google reported a 3-year draw period on a 30-year adjustable line, which is unusually short compared with standard HELOC structures, and noted the repayment period length is not explicitly detailed [2]. Perplexity found that one Griffin Funding page says self-employed borrowers can use a HELOAN or HELOC by fully documenting income via tax returns, which conflicts with other pages describing bank-statement qualification [13].
On loan limits, the company's own materials conflict: one page describes a traditional variable-rate HELOC up to $500,000, while broader home-equity materials describe availability up to $1,000,000, and no-appraisal digital lines are described up to $400,000 [12].
Mortgage features for this borrowing need
Questions explored
- What documentation does Griffin Funding require for a self-employed bank statement HELOC?
- How does Griffin Funding calculate qualifying income from business bank statements?
The core capability is deposit-based income qualification. Griffin Funding states self-employed borrowers can qualify with 12 months of bank statement deposits, and its broader bank statement materials describe 12- to 24-month options [7]. The exact required period for the HELOC specifically is unclear and should be confirmed.
Income calculation uses an expense-factor methodology. One platform reported that personal statements count 100% of deposits while business statements apply a default 50% expense factor adjustable down to 10% by business type [2]. OpenAI noted the exact expense factor and allowable adjustments for this HELOC are not clearly disclosed [10]. This is the single most consequential unknown for a business owner, because the expense factor directly determines qualifying income.
Credit and equity parameters as published: minimum 640 FICO for primary residences, 680 for second homes and investment properties, DTI ratios up to 50% considered, and equity access up to 90% of home value, 85% for second homes, and 75% for investment properties [12]. Independent reporting suggests higher equity requirements than fully documented loans [21].
Speed and process features: digital account linking, online application, soft-pull pre-qualification, and no-appraisal digital HELOCs using an automated valuation model verified by a property condition report [10]. No-appraisal lines are described up to $400,000 with credit scores as low as 640 [12].
Self-employment tenure: Griffin Funding states borrowers must be self-employed for at least two years for bank statement cash-out refinance, with some flexibility for shorter tenure [14]. Grok reported a minimum of 2 years self-employment, or 1 year with prior experience in the field [4]. Whether the same tenure rule applies to the HELOC is not confirmed.
Rates, fees, and ongoing costs
Questions explored
- How much does a Griffin Funding bank statement HELOC cost, and what fees apply?
- Does using bank statement income raise the rate on a Griffin Funding HELOC?
No borrower-specific rate, APR, margin, origination charge, or complete fee schedule for the bank-statement HELOC was publicly verified by any platform in this study [12]. Pricing confidence was rated low across the platforms that addressed it.
What is documented: HELOC closing costs generally range from 2% to 5% of the total credit limit or may be structured as flat fees, per Griffin Funding's own guide [6]. The digital HELOC application states the initial amount funded is reduced by an origination fee, but the fee amount is not publicly specified [1]. Appraisal and title fees may be waived on certain fixed-rate digital loans up to specified limits, but this should not be assumed for the bank-statement HELOC [11].
On rate impact, Griffin Funding states that interest rates may be slightly higher than a traditional cash-out refinance due to the nature of self-employed income [14]. One platform reported that bank statement home equity lines carry higher interest rates than traditional full-documentation equity loans [2]. No platform published a specific basis-point premium for the HELOC.
Contract terms that are documented: the product is secured by the borrower's home; variable-rate draws may be subject to Prime plus a lender margin; and a primary-residence transaction may be subject to the federal three-business-day rescission period [12]. Prepayment-penalty and early-closure terms for the specific bank-statement HELOC were not publicly verified [12]. Kimi noted that early termination penalties of 2–5% of the credit line within 2–3 years are common in the bank statement HELOC market generally, but no Griffin Funding-specific term was confirmed [23].
Best Suited For
Questions explored
- Who is Griffin Funding's bank statement HELOC best suited for among self-employed borrowers?
Griffin Funding is best suited for self-employed borrowers whose tax returns understate qualifying income because of business deductions, and who can document at least 12 months of consistent personal or business bank deposits [12].
It also fits homeowners who want to preserve an existing first-mortgage rate through a second-lien HELOC rather than refinancing the whole loan (Evidence ID openai:c1, official:C1). Borrowers who want a digital process with soft-pull pre-qualification and no-appraisal valuation on smaller lines are a further match [12].
Borrowers with complex income structures — seasonal, multi-source, or LLC pass-through — that do not fit W-2 or tax-return verification are explicitly in scope [21]. Primary homeowners and investment property owners with credit scores at or above the applicable minimum, and California borrowers who may see a 640 threshold rather than 660, are also reasonable candidates [18].
Probably Not Best Suited For
Questions explored
- Who should not choose Griffin Funding for a self-employed HELOC?
Borrowers who can qualify through conventional W-2 or tax-return underwriting should not start here. Griffin Funding's own materials indicate alternative documentation carries a rate premium, and a former executive stated that a traditional HELOC through a credit union or bank is where borrowers get the most aggressive rate [14].
Borrowers who need a fixed rate with bank-statement income are not a fit for this program, because alternative documentation is excluded from the fixed-rate HELOC [12].
Borrowers who need a traditional revolving line with no required initial draw should verify carefully, because the digital fixed-rate product is fully drawn at origination [1]. Borrowers whose deposits are irregular, hard to source, or heavily reduced by the expense factor may also fall outside the program [12]. Borrowers below the applicable credit floor, those unable to produce 12 months of statements, and those in states or property types where the program is unavailable are excluded [22].
When Another Option May Be Better
Questions explored
- When is a different lender a better choice than Griffin Funding for a self-employed HELOC?
- Which competitor beats Griffin Funding on credit score minimums for a bank statement HELOC?
A different lender may be better in five situations the platforms identified.
If the borrower's credit score is below 640, Truss Financial accepts 620 and may offer better terms for borderline credit [22]. If the borrower has been self-employed less than two years, some alternative lenders have more flexible tenure requirements [14]. If the borrower needs a fixed rate with bank statement income, Griffin Funding's fixed-rate program requires full documentation, so a competitor offering fixed rates with bank statements would be the better path [12].
If the borrower wants a published, instantly quotable HELOC rate, a large bank or online lender with public pricing may be simpler, since Griffin Funding does not disclose HELOC rates publicly [2]. If the borrower needs a small line, a local credit union's standard HELOC may have lower cost and faster closing [2]. Borrowers in states where Griffin Funding is not licensed, or who need maximum equity extraction beyond the program's CLTV caps, should also compare elsewhere [2].
Questions to ask before choosing a lender
Questions explored
- What should a buyer confirm with Griffin Funding before signing a bank statement HELOC contract?
Confirm the exact program name in writing: is it a true revolving HELOC, a HELOAN, or both [12]. Confirm whether 12 or 24 months of statements are required, and whether personal statements, business statements, or both are accepted [12].
Confirm the income calculation: how business deposits convert to qualifying income, what expense factor applies, and how transfers, owner distributions, cash deposits, refunds, one-time deposits, and seasonal revenue are treated [12].
Confirm the pricing: exact interest rate, APR, Prime margin, rate floor, rate cap, adjustment frequency, and whether using bank-statement income increases the margin or origination fee [12]. Confirm the full fee list, including appraisal, title, property-condition, recording, annual, draw, inactivity, late, and early-closure fees, plus any prepayment penalty or minimum initial draw [12].
Confirm eligibility specifics: applicable credit minimum for your state, CLTV limits, minimum and maximum line amounts, DTI calculation rules, self-employment tenure requirement, and whether tax returns, profit-and-loss statements, CPA letters, or business licenses are still required [12]. Confirm the approval and funding timeline specifically for a self-employed bank-statement file, since advertised timelines are conditional [12].
The consensus assessment
Griffin Funding is a good fit for self-employed income documentation for HELOC approval, with meaningful verification required. Five of seven platforms named it, it ranked second overall, and every platform that named it agreed it publicly markets bank-statement HELOC qualification — the core requirement for this buyer.
The consensus breaks down on specifics. Fit ratings ranged from strong to uncertain across the seven platforms, and no platform verified a rate, margin, or complete fee schedule. The fixed-rate HELOC excludes alternative documentation, credit minimums are reported inconsistently at 620, 640, and 660 depending on program and state, and the draw structure is described differently across sources.
The practical conclusion: Griffin Funding is a legitimate first call for a self-employed borrower with 12–24 months of clean deposits and a credit score at or above the applicable floor, but it should be compared against at least one lender that publishes bank-statement HELOC margins, fees, and expense-factor rules before signing.
How This Review Was Produced
This review was produced from seven AI platform responses to a single research prompt about HELOC lenders for self-employed borrowers with complex income. Each platform independently evaluated fit and supplied citations. Five of the seven named Griffin Funding during ranking discovery; all seven evaluated fit. The study date is 2026-09-29.
Platform-reported research dates differ: DeepSeek reported 2026-02-06 while the other six reported 2026-09-29. Platform-reported dates are provenance metadata and do not independently prove freshness.
Company-owned citations materially outnumber independent citations in the underlying evidence. Company claims are labeled as such throughout and are not described as independently verified. Citations are platform-reported evidence, not independently verified facts. The supplied URLs were collected from platform responses and were not independently validated at the writing stage.
Research limitations
Several limitations constrain this review.
Pricing is the largest gap. No platform verified a borrower-specific rate, APR, margin, origination charge, or complete fee schedule for the bank-statement HELOC, and pricing confidence was rated low across platforms.
Product structure is unresolved. Platforms described the HELOC differently — variable-rate revolving, fully drawn at origination, and a 3-year draw period on a 30-year adjustable line all appeared. The company's own pages conflict on maximum loan amounts ($500,000 versus $1,000,000) and on whether self-employed borrowers qualify via bank statements or full tax-return documentation.
Credit thresholds conflict across sources at 620, 640, and 660, with regional variation reported for California. The documentation window is described as both 12 months and 12–24 months.
Independent verification is thin. Most evidence is company-owned. Kimi's most specific evidence came from a former executive quoted in a 2019-era Bankrate article, and that executive is no longer with the company. Deepseek ran without search enabled, so its findings are platform-reported rather than retrieved.
No platform reported personal testing, customer experience, or independently verified approval rates, closing speeds, or comparative pricing. Advertised speed claims are conditional on verification, property review, closing method, and county rules.
Explore more home equity loan and heloc lenders guidance in the category directory.
Sources
Company-Owned Sources
- Griffin Funding Home Equity Line of Credit Application: https://equity.griffinfunding.com/
- Griffin Funding official website: https://griffinfunding.com/
- Bank Statement Loans | Griffin Funding: https://griffinfunding.com/bank-statement-loans
- Bank Statement Loan Document Checklist | Griffin Funding: https://griffinfunding.com/blog/bank-statement-loans/bank-statement-loan-document-checklist/
- How Self-Employed Home Equity Loans Work: https://griffinfunding.com/blog/bank-statement-loans/heloans-for-self-employed-homeowners/
- Do HELOCs Have Closing Costs? Full 2026 Guide | Griffin Funding: https://griffinfunding.com/blog/mortgage/do-helocs-have-closing-costs/
- Home Equity Line of Credit Requirements Checklist | Griffin Funding: https://griffinfunding.com/blog/mortgage/home-equity-line-of-credit-requirements-checklist/
- Home Equity Loans & Lines of Credit | Griffin Funding: https://griffinfunding.com/home-equity/
- Non-QM Loans: Explore Non-Qualified Mortgage Programs: https://griffinfunding.com/non-qm-mortgages/
- Bank Statement Loans: Rates for Self-Employed | Griffin Funding: https://griffinfunding.com/non-qm-mortgages/bank-statement-loans/
- Fixed-Rate Home Equity Line of Credit (HELOC) | Griffin Funding: https://griffinfunding.com/non-qm-mortgages/fixed-rate-heloc/
- Home Equity Line of Credit (HELOC) | Griffin Funding: https://griffinfunding.com/non-qm-mortgages/heloc/
- Self-Employed Mortgage Loans: 2026 Requirements & Rates: https://griffinfunding.com/non-qm-mortgages/self-employed-mortgage/
- Self-Employed Refinancing: Bank Statement Cash-Out Refinance Loans: https://griffinfunding.com/non-qm-mortgages/self-employed-refinance/
- Self-Employed Mortgage Loans | Griffin Funding: https://griffinfunding.com/self-employed-home-loans/
- How Does A No-Income Verification HELOC Work?: https://trussfinancialgroup.com/blog/how-does-no-income-verification-heloc-work
- Official pricing and terms source: https://griffinfunding.com/terms-of-use/
Independent Sources
- Griffin Funding DSCR Review 2026: Rates as Low as 6.5% + California Expertise: https://honestcasa.com/blog/griffin-funding-dscr-review
- Home Equity Line of Credit for the Self-Employed - LegalClarity: https://legalclarity.org/how-to-get-a-home-equity-line-of-credit-when-self-employed/
- Griffin Funding No-Doc HELOC Review on LendEDU: https://lendedu.com
- Griffin Funding Review: No-Doc HELOC Features and Requirements | LendEDU: https://lendedu.com/blog/griffin-funding/
- Top No-Doc HELOC Lenders and Equity Options for Easier Approvals in 2026: https://lendedu.com/blog/no-doc-heloc/
- What Is A No-Doc HELOC Or Home Equity Loan? | Bankrate: https://www.bankrate.com/home-equity/what-is-a-no-doc-heloc-or-home-equity-loan/
- CFPB — What is a home equity line of credit (HELOC)?: https://www.consumerfinance.gov/ask-cfpb/what-is-a-home-equity-line-of-credit-heloc-en-107/
- Traditional HELOC Alternatives For Self-Employed Borrowers Are Expanding—What To Know – Forbes Advisor: https://www.forbes.com/advisor/home-equity/heloc-alternatives-self-employed-lmandp5/
- No Doc HELOC Loans, Lenders and Requirements | RefiGuide: https://www.refiguide.org/no-doc-heloc/
- Griffin Funding Reviews: https://www.trustpilot.com/review/griffinfunding.com