Independent research. A clearer mortgage perspective.
MortgageConsensus Index

PROVIDER FIT REVIEW/

Direct.com Review for Second Homes and Vacation Properties

Direct.com is a mixed fit for accessing equity in a vacation or second home. Three of seven platforms named it during the ranking stage, and those that did described a dedicated second-home HELOC with clear eligibility, a published 70% CLTV cap, and a $20,000–$200,000 line range.

Multiple AI perspectivesEvidence-led comparisonsOur editorial independence

RECOMMENDATION COVERAGE

Direct.com

Recommended by 3 of 7 AI platforms in this study.

42.9%Consensus coverage · not a customer rating

The research in brief

Direct.com is a mixed fit for accessing equity in a vacation or second home. Three of seven platforms named it during the ranking stage, and those that did described a dedicated second-home HELOC with clear eligibility, a published 70% CLTV cap, and a $20,000–$200,000 line range. The strongest reason to consider it is a purpose-built second-home product with no stated origination, application, annual, or ordinary closing fees. The main limitation is a narrow geographic footprint — parts of Massachusetts plus all of New Hampshire and Rhode Island — combined with a 70% CLTV cap below the 75–80% industry norm and no documented seasonal-occupancy underwriting.

Research Snapshot

FieldFinding
Platform mentions in ranking stage3 of 7 platforms (Claude, Gemini, Perplexity)
Share of included platform responses42.9%
Average listed rank3.33
Best listed rank1 (Claude)
Mortgage offeringDirect Federal Second Home HELOC; Home Equity Line of Credit (Second Home); Home Equity Second Home
Overall use-case fitMixed
Research date2026-09-29

Why Direct.com Qualified for This Study

Questions explored

  • Is Direct.com a legitimate lender for a second home HELOC, or just a directory site?
  • Why did only three of seven AI platforms name Direct.com for second home equity?
  • Does Direct.com offer a dedicated second home HELOC product rather than primary-residence terms?

Direct.com qualified because three platforms independently identified a dedicated second-home HELOC product during ranking discovery, and four platforms retrieved matching product pages during fit research. The entity is the online presence of Direct Federal Credit Union, and the relevant product is marketed as "Home Equity Second Home" [8].

Qualification was not unanimous. Two platforms — DeepSeek and Kimi — could not verify the product at all. Deepseek reported the official website was unreachable on 2026-06-08 and concluded fit was uncertain [6]. Kimi described Direct.com as appearing to be "primarily an online directory or lead-generation platform rather than a direct lender" and rated fit uncertain [6]. Those two assessments conflict directly with the four platforms that retrieved live product pages, and the conflict is not resolved by the supplied evidence.

The ranking-stage mention count (3 of 7) is lower than the fit-research participation count (7 platforms evaluated fit). Per the study design, platform_mentions counts only platforms that named the entity during ranking discovery.

The mortgage offering in focus

Questions explored

  • Which Direct.com product should a buyer use to borrow against a vacation home?
  • Is the Direct Federal Second Home HELOC a revolving line or a fixed-rate loan?
  • What CLTV and line-size limits apply to the Direct.com second home HELOC?

The relevant product is the Direct Federal Second Home HELOC, also listed as "Home Equity Line of Credit (Second Home)" and "Home Equity Second Home" [8]. It is a revolving line of credit, not a fixed lump-sum home-equity loan.

Published terms across platform retrievals:

  • Maximum 70% combined loan-to-value for second homes and investment properties [8]
  • Line range of $20,000 to $200,000 [9]
  • Variable rate tied to the Wall Street Journal Prime Rate at Prime + 0.00% margin, 5.00% floor, 18.00% ceiling [8]
  • 15-year draw period with interest-only payment options, followed by a 15-year repayment period [8]
  • Fixed-rate conversion option with 5-, 10-, 15-, or 20-year terms, $5,000 minimum conversion, up to three conversions [8]

The product is explicitly for second homes and excludes income-producing properties under the displayed rate terms [8]. Direct.com separately markets an investment-property HELOC, which creates a boundary question the public materials do not fully resolve [8].

What the AI Platforms Agreed About

Questions explored

  • What do AI platforms agree on about Direct.com's second home HELOC terms?
  • Does Direct.com charge origination or closing fees on a second home HELOC?
  • What draw and repayment structure does the Direct.com second home HELOC use?

Agreement was strong on product structure and fees, and mixed on overall fit.

Unanimous or near-unanimous findings across the four platforms that retrieved product pages:

  • Direct.com offers a dedicated second-home HELOC [8]
  • Maximum 70% CLTV on second homes [8]
  • $20,000–$200,000 line range [9]
  • No promotional or introductory rate for second homes [7]
  • 15-year draw plus 15-year repayment structure [8]
  • No stated origination, application, annual, or ordinary recording fees [8]
  • $395 early-termination fee if the line is closed within the first two years [8]

Fit ratings diverged: Grok rated the fit "strong," Claude and Perplexity rated it "good," ChatGPT and Gemini rated it "mixed," and DeepSeek and Kimi rated it "uncertain." No platform rated it poor.

Where the AI Platforms Disagreed or Were Uncertain

Questions explored

  • Does Direct.com underwrite seasonal or part-time vacation home occupancy?
  • Is Direct.com a direct lender or a lead-generation platform?
  • Can a buyer exceed 70% CLTV or $200,000 on a Direct.com second home HELOC?

Three material disagreements or gaps appear in the supplied evidence.

Seasonal-occupancy underwriting. Every platform that retrieved product pages flagged this as undocumented. Openai stated the materials "do not specify minimum personal-use days, seasonal-access requirements, treatment of rental income, short-term-rental rules, or other detailed vacation-occupancy underwriting standards" [8]. Anthropic, Perplexity, Grok, and Gemini reached the same conclusion [8]. This is a gap in public disclosure, not evidence that Direct.com rejects seasonal properties.

Entity identity and business model. Deepseek reported the website unreachable on 2026-06-08 and could not confirm the product exists [6]. Kimi described Direct.com as possibly a directory or referral platform rather than a direct lender [6]. Four other platforms retrieved live Direct.com product pages with specific terms, which conflicts with those assessments. The supplied evidence does not resolve which is correct, and the DeepSeek research date (2026-06-08) differs from the authoritative study date (2026-09-29).

CLTV competitiveness. Anthropic cited independent research stating that most second-home HELOC programs land in a 75–80% CLTV band, with a small number reaching 85% for 740+ FICO borrowers [14]. Direct.com's 70% cap sits below that range. This is the only independent source in the catalog that benchmarks Direct.com's CLTV against the market.

Promotional pricing applicability. Openai noted that the general HELOC page advertises a primary-residence introductory rate while the second-home page displays separate pricing, and that applicability of any promotional offer to second homes is not stated [8]. Anthropic, Perplexity, and Gemini all reported that second homes do not qualify for promotional rates [7].

Mortgage features for this borrowing need

Questions explored

  • What features does the Direct.com second home HELOC offer for a vacation property owner?
  • Can a borrower convert part of a Direct.com second home HELOC to a fixed rate?
  • How does Direct.com's second home CLTV compare to the industry standard?

Direct.com's second-home HELOC carries several features relevant to vacation-property owners, alongside structural limits.

FactorFindingAssessment
Second-home eligibility
Dedicated product; income-producing properties excluded under displayed terms [8]
Advantage
Geographic eligibility
Eight Massachusetts counties, all New Hampshire counties, all Rhode Island counties [8]
Limitation
Rate structure
Prime + 0.00%, 5.00% floor, 18.00% ceiling; no promo rate [7]
Limitation
Maximum CLTV
70% for second homes vs. 80% for primary residences [7]
Limitation
Line size
$20,000–$200,000 vs. up to $500,000 on primary residences [8]
Limitation
Draw and repayment
15-year draw with interest-only options, 15-year repayment [8]
Advantage
Fixed-rate conversion
5/10/15/20-year terms, $5,000 minimum, up to three conversions [8]
Advantage
Fees
No stated application, origination, annual, or ordinary closing fees [8]
Advantage
Prepayment
Allowed without penalty [8]
Advantage
Closing timeline
As little as 14 days per Claude; closings at the Needham, MA branch per Perplexity [8]
Mixed
Seasonal occupancy
Not documented in reviewed materials [8]
Unclear

The 70% CLTV cap is the most consequential limit for this use case. Anthropic's independent source places the industry norm at 75–80%, with some programs reaching 85% for high-FICO borrowers [14]. A lower CLTV cap directly reduces how much equity a vacation-property owner can extract.

Rates, fees, and ongoing costs

Questions explored

  • How much does the Direct.com second home HELOC cost, and what is the current APR?
  • What fees does Direct.com charge on a second home HELOC, including early termination?
  • What are the draw, repayment, and rate-adjustment terms on the Direct.com second home HELOC?

Pricing is variable and time-sensitive. The displayed APR was 7.00% based on Prime as of September 18, 2026, with a Prime + 0.00% margin, 5.00% floor, and 18.00% ceiling [8]. Rates may change monthly [8].

Stated costs and fees:

  • No application fee, origination fee, annual fee, or ordinary closing costs stated [8]
  • Recording fees stated as $0 unless a trust or unrecorded discharge requires recording [8]
  • $395 early-termination fee if the line is closed within the first two years [8]
  • $295 fee for refinancing or increasing an existing Direct Federal HELOC; applicability to a new second-home HELOC is unclear [8]
  • Possible appraisal costs estimated at approximately $500–$1,100 or more depending on property type [8]
  • Possible trust-review costs if the property is held in a trust; amount not disclosed [8]
  • Property insurance required; cost not disclosed [8]

Contract terms:

  • 15-year draw period followed by a 15-year repayment period [8]
  • Interest-only payment options during the draw period [8]
  • Variable rate tied to the Wall Street Journal Prime Rate [8]
  • Prepayment permitted without penalty [8]
  • Approval subject to credit approval and other conditions [8]

Pricing confidence was rated "high" by Claude, Grok, and Gemini, and "moderate" by ChatGPT. Perplexity rated confidence "low," noting that exact borrower APR and closing costs are not fully disclosed in the reviewed excerpts [13]. The 7.00% APR figure is tied to a specific Prime value on a specific date and should be re-verified at application.

Best Suited For

Questions explored

  • Who is the Direct.com second home HELOC actually best for?
  • Is Direct.com a good choice for a Massachusetts, New Hampshire, or Rhode Island vacation home owner?
  • What borrower profile fits the Direct.com second home HELOC best?

Direct.com is best suited for a narrow, specific borrower.

  • Owners of a qualifying, non-income-producing second home located in the eligible Massachusetts counties, New Hampshire, or Rhode Island [8]
  • Borrowers who can meet Direct Federal Credit Union membership eligibility [15]
  • Borrowers seeking a revolving HELOC rather than a fixed lump-sum home-equity loan [8]
  • Borrowers needing $20,000–$200,000 and able to stay at or below 70% CLTV [8]
  • Borrowers who value interest-only payments during the draw period and possible fixed-rate conversions [8]
  • Borrowers prioritizing a transparent, low-fee structure over maximum leverage [8]

Grok rated the fit "strong" for this profile; Claude and Perplexity rated it "good" [8].

Probably Not Best Suited For

Questions explored

  • Who should not choose Direct.com for a vacation home HELOC?
  • Is Direct.com a poor fit for rental or short-term-rental vacation properties?
  • Does Direct.com work for borrowers who need more than $200,000 in equity access?

Direct.com is probably not the best fit for several buyer situations.

  • Owners of vacation properties outside the stated lending footprint [8]
  • Borrowers needing more than $200,000 [8]
  • Owners of income-producing, short-term-rental, or otherwise nontraditional vacation properties unless Direct.com confirms eligibility [8]
  • Borrowers seeking primary-residence promotional pricing or fixed pricing from origination [7]
  • Borrowers who need leverage above 70% CLTV [7]
  • Borrowers who cannot satisfy credit union membership requirements [15]
  • Borrowers who need fully remote closing, since closings reportedly take place at the Needham, MA branch [10]

When Another Option May Be Better

Questions explored

  • What is a better alternative to Direct.com if a buyer needs a higher CLTV on a second home?
  • When should a vacation home owner choose a different lender than Direct.com?
  • What should a buyer do if their vacation property is outside Direct.com's lending footprint?

Another option may be better in these situations, based on platform-reported alternatives:

  • Higher CLTV needed. Independent research cited by Claude places the industry norm at 75–80% CLTV for second-home HELOCs, with some programs reaching 85% for high-FICO borrowers [14]. Direct.com caps at 70%.
  • Larger line needed. Direct.com's $200,000 second-home maximum is half the $500,000 primary-residence maximum [8].
  • Rental or short-term-rental property. Direct.com excludes income-producing properties under the displayed rate terms, and specialized underwriting may be required elsewhere [8].
  • Fixed-rate lump-sum loan needed. Direct.com's materials emphasize the HELOC product; a HELOAN alternative is not documented [8].
  • Nationwide availability needed. Direct.com's footprint is limited to parts of Massachusetts plus all of New Hampshire and Rhode Island [8].
  • Promotional second-home rate wanted. Direct.com offers no promotional rate on second homes [7].

Platforms did not name specific competing lenders in the supplied evidence, so no alternative provider can be recommended here.

Questions to ask before choosing a lender

Questions explored

  • What should a buyer confirm with Direct.com before signing a second home HELOC contract?
  • How can a buyer verify Direct.com's seasonal occupancy and rental rules before applying?
  • What rate, fee, and CLTV details should a buyer confirm in writing?

The platforms converged on a similar verification list. Confirm each item directly with Direct.com before applying.

  • Is the specific property address within the eligible Massachusetts, New Hampshire, or Rhode Island lending footprint? [8]
  • Does Direct.com classify the property as a qualifying second home if it is occasionally rented or listed on a short-term-rental platform? [8]
  • Are rental income, seasonal occupancy, access limitations, or association restrictions considered in underwriting? [8]
  • What credit score, debt-to-income, reserve, income-verification, and first-mortgage-subordination requirements apply? [8]
  • Is the 70% CLTV calculated using the requested credit limit or only the amount initially drawn? [8]
  • What exact margin, floor, ceiling, and rate-adjustment frequency will appear in the commitment documents? [8]
  • Does the fixed-rate conversion feature apply at closing to this second-home HELOC, and what fees or payment rules apply? [8]
  • What appraisal, trust-review, title, recording, insurance, or other third-party costs will apply to this property? [8]
  • Does the $395 early-termination fee apply if the line is paid off but left open, or only if formally closed? [8]
  • Can the requested amount exceed $200,000 under any exception or alternative product? [8]
  • Is Direct.com the actual originating lender and servicer, or is the loan referred or white-labeled? [6]
  • Must the borrower appear in person at the Needham, MA branch to close? [10]

The consensus assessment

Direct.com is a mixed fit for accessing equity in a vacation or second home. Four of seven platforms retrieved a live, dedicated second-home HELOC product with consistent terms: 70% CLTV, $20,000–$200,000 line range, Prime + 0.00% variable rate with a 5.00% floor, 15-year draw plus 15-year repayment, no stated origination or ordinary closing fees, and a $395 early-termination fee within two years [8].

The case against is geographic and structural. Lending is limited to eight Massachusetts counties plus all of New Hampshire and Rhode Island [8]. The 70% CLTV cap sits below the 75–80% industry norm cited by independent research [14]. The $200,000 maximum is half the primary-residence limit [8]. No promotional rate applies to second homes [7]. Seasonal-occupancy underwriting is not documented in any reviewed public material [8].

Two platforms rated fit uncertain, one citing an unreachable website and one questioning whether Direct.com is a direct lender at all [6]. Those assessments conflict with the four platforms that retrieved live product pages, and the conflict is unresolved in the supplied evidence.

AI-platform agreement here reflects consistent retrieval of the same company-published pages, not independent verification of product quality. All but two catalog sources are company-owned. Buyers should verify every term directly with Direct.com before applying.

How This Review Was Produced

This review was produced from a structured multi-platform research run dated 2026-09-29. Seven AI platforms evaluated Direct.com for fit against the use case of accessing equity in a vacation or second home: ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Grok, Perplexity, DeepSeek, and Kimi. Three of those platforms named Direct.com during the ranking-discovery stage.

Each platform returned a fit rating, use-case findings, pricing and terms, limitations, and questions to verify. The writer stage compiled those responses, preserved conflicts and uncertainties, and cited factual claims to the platform-reported source catalog. No independent testing, customer interviews, or underwriting review was performed.

The consensus index for this category is Accessing equity in a vacation or second home, which ranks all evaluated lenders for this use case.

The broader directory of home equity loan and heloc lenders covers primary-residence and other occupancy types.

Research limitations

  • Company-owned evidence dominates. Thirteen of fifteen catalog sources are company-owned; two are independent. Company claims are not independently verified.
  • Platform research dates differ. Anthropic reported 2026-01-15 and DeepSeek reported 2026-06-08, while the authoritative study date is 2026-09-29. Platform-reported dates are provenance metadata and do not independently prove freshness.
  • Deepseek ran without search. Deepseek's research capability record shows search disabled, so its "uncertain" rating reflects a no-search model response rather than a failed retrieval.
  • Unresolved entity conflict. Deepseek and Kimi could not verify the product; four other platforms retrieved live product pages. The supplied evidence does not resolve this.
  • Seasonal-occupancy underwriting is undocumented. No platform found public rules on minimum personal-use days, rental-income treatment, or short-term-rental eligibility.
  • Pricing is time-sensitive. The 7.00% APR reflects Prime as of September 18, 2026 and may have changed.
  • URLs were not independently validated. Supplied URLs were collected from platform responses and were not verified by the writer stage.
  • No competitor was named. Platforms described when alternatives may be better but did not name specific competing lenders in the supplied evidence.
  • Agreement is not quality proof. Consistent retrieval of the same company pages does not establish that the product performs as described.

See the broader Second Homes and Vacation Properties consensus index for comparisons across qualified options.

Sources

Company-Owned Sources

  1. Direct.com official website: https://www.direct.com
  2. Home Equity | Rates | Calculators: https://www.direct.com/borrow/home-equity
  3. What is the minimum or maximum home equity line amount I can apply for?: https://www.direct.com/faq/what-is-the-minimum-or-maximum-home-equity-line-amount-i-can-apply-for
  4. Get Answers to Your Questions | Direct Federal Credit Union | FAQs: https://www.direct.com/learn/faqs?9b147c65_page=4
  5. Get Answers to Your Questions | Direct Federal Credit Union | FAQs: https://www.direct.com/learn/faqs?9b147c65_page=9

Independent Sources

  1. Home Equity Loan CLTV Limits in 2026 by Occupancy Type: Primary, Second Home, and Investment Property: https://mortgagerefinancingblog.com/home-equity-loan-cltv-limits-by-occupancy-type-2026/

TRANSPARENCY BY DESIGN

The evidence behind this study

Research is a dated snapshot of AI recommendations and their supporting sources. Use the original evidence and methodology to understand what these findings can—and cannot—tell you.

Independent source records
2
Provider-owned source records
13
Direct support records
13

AI platforms in the study

ChatGPTClaudeDeepSeekGrokPerplexityKimiGemini

Study limitations

  • The study date identifies this research snapshot; dates reported by AI platforms do not independently establish source freshness.
  • Recommendation counts measure mentions during the ranking stage. Later fit assessments do not increase those counts.
  • Product names, costs, and features can differ across sources. Confirm conflicting details directly with the provider.
  • Source URLs came from AI platform responses and were not independently validated during report preparation.
  • Company-owned citations materially outnumber independent citations; do not describe company claims as independently verified.
  • Some dates reported by AI platforms differ from the study date. Those dates do not independently establish that the information is current.

Affiliate & commercial disclosure

We may receive compensation when you follow certain links, request mortgage quotes, or take another qualifying action through a commercial partner. These relationships create a potential financial conflict, but do not influence recorded AI recommendations or ranking calculations. Partner availability, rates, fees, and eligibility can vary.

Read the full Affiliate Disclosure for compensation, tracking, partner availability, and research independence details, or contact us with a disclosure question.

Verify the source snapshot

SHA-256: 33bf0529f67c96ae346ec44a0073e4db66c98f53bd06b9b217c999d8305325b0