Independent research. A clearer mortgage perspective.
MortgageConsensus Index

PROVIDER FIT REVIEW/

Achieve Review for HELOC Appraisal Waivers

Achieve is a good fit for homeowners who want to skip the traditional in-person appraisal when opening a HELOC. It uses automated valuation models in most cases, charges no AVM fee, and advertises funding in as little as 5–12 business days, though it does not guarantee AVM-only approval for every borrower or line size.

Multiple AI perspectivesEvidence-led comparisonsOur editorial independence

RECOMMENDATION COVERAGE

Achieve

Recommended by 5 of 7 AI platforms in this study.

71.4%Consensus coverage · not a customer rating

The research in brief

Achieve is a good fit for homeowners who want to skip the traditional in-person appraisal when opening a HELOC, but it is not an automatic best choice. Five of the seven platforms in this study named Achieve during the ranking stage, and it finished fourth overall with an average listed rank of 5.8. The strongest reason to consider it: Achieve states it uses automated valuation models (AVMs) in most cases, charges no AVM fee, and advertises funding in as little as 5–12 business days. The main limitation: Achieve does not publicly guarantee AVM-only approval for every borrower or line size, and its closing fees ($750–$10,304 depending on source) can exceed the $300–$600 a traditional appraisal costs.

Research Snapshot

FieldDetail
Platform mentions in ranking stage5 of 7 platforms
Share of included platform responses71.4%
Average listed rank5.8
Best listed rank3 (Grok)
Mortgage offeringAchieve Fixed-Rate HELOC; Achieve HELOC
Overall use-case fitStrong (1 platform); Good (4 platforms); Mixed (1 platform); Uncertain (1 platform) — 7 platforms analyzed
Research date2026-09-29

Why Achieve Qualified for This Study

Questions explored

  • Why did AI platforms include Achieve in a no-appraisal HELOC ranking?
  • Is Achieve a good choice for skipping the appraisal process for faster, cheaper approval?

Achieve qualified because it directly addresses the buyer's core objective: avoiding the cost and delay of a traditional in-person appraisal. Five platforms — Anthropic, Google, Grok, Kimi, and Perplexity — named Achieve during ranking discovery, giving it a 71.4% mention share. Achieve's own materials state that in most cases a full in-person inspection is not necessary because the company uses an automated valuation system to determine home value [11]. Achieve also states it charges no fee for the AVM when used for a HELOC application [24].

The platforms placed Achieve at an average rank of 5.8, with Grok ranking it highest at 3 and Anthropic lowest at 9. Fit ratings split: Grok called it a "strong" fit, while Anthropic, Google, OpenAI, and Perplexity rated it "good," DeepSeek rated it "mixed," and Kimi rated it "uncertain." That spread reflects a real evidence gap — Achieve markets appraisal avoidance but does not publish a universal no-appraisal guarantee or a maximum line size tied to AVM-only underwriting.

The mortgage offering in focus

Questions explored

  • Which Achieve product should a buyer choose to avoid an in-person appraisal on a HELOC?
  • Does the Achieve Fixed-Rate HELOC use an automated valuation model instead of a full appraisal?

The relevant product is the Achieve Fixed-Rate HELOC, also marketed as the Achieve Home Equity Line of Credit. Every platform in this study pointed to this product or its standard HELOC counterpart as the offering tied to appraisal avoidance (ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Grok, Kimi, Perplexity).

Achieve's HELOC page states that in most cases a full in-person inspection will not be necessary because the company uses an automated valuation system [6]. A separate Achieve page confirms that when a borrower applies through Achieve, an AVM is used at no cost [24]. Achieve's press page describes automated valuation models, no in-person appraisals, a five-year draw period, and no prepayment penalty [5].

The product is a fixed-rate HELOC with a five-year draw period followed by a no-draw repayment period, and repayment terms of 10, 15, 20, or 30 years [6]. One independent review describes it as an unconventional fixed-rate HELOC with a $15,000 minimum loan amount [17]. Note that only the amount drawn at closing is fixed; later draws during the draw period revert to a variable rate tied to Prime [29].

What the AI Platforms Agreed About

Questions explored

  • Do all the AI platforms agree that Achieve avoids in-person appraisals on HELOCs?
  • What funding speed does Achieve advertise for a no-appraisal HELOC?

The platforms agreed on four points, though not unanimously on every detail.

Achieve uses AVMs rather than in-person appraisals in most cases. This was the most consistent finding. Achieve's own materials state that a full in-person inspection is usually unnecessary because the company uses an automated valuation system [6], and that the AVM carries no applicant cost [24]. Independent coverage from Finder lists Achieve as best for fixed rates and no appraisal, noting AVM-only valuation with no fee [18].

Achieve advertises fast funding. Achieve's HELOC page advertises a decision in minutes and funding as fast as five days once approved [6]. Achieve's press page cites closing in as little as seven days [5]. Independent reviews report 10–12 business days [29]. Achieve's own calculator page reports an average 2025 funding time of 11 business days including the rescission period [14].

Achieve accepts relatively low credit scores. Achieve states a minimum credit score of 600 [23], and one platform notes the minimum is 600 for debt consolidation and 700 for other purposes [6]. Achieve describes a holistic approach weighing credit, debt and income, home value, and overall needs [6].

Achieve expanded its maximum line to $700,000. Independent trade coverage reports Achieve raised its HELOC maximum from $500,000 to $700,000 effective June 2, with up to 90% LTV and a 50% maximum DTI, available in 31 states [26]. Achieve's own press page confirms the $700,000 limit [5].

Where the AI Platforms Disagreed or Were Uncertain

Questions explored

  • What is the maximum Achieve HELOC line size that can be approved without a full appraisal?
  • How much does an Achieve HELOC cost in closing fees, and do sources agree?

The platforms diverged on several material points, and buyers should treat each as unresolved.

Maximum line size without appraisal. No platform found a published threshold. Achieve states a maximum line of up to $700,000 [6] but does not establish that every qualifying line up to that amount receives AVM-only valuation. One platform noted that waivers are more likely for relatively small HELOC amounts, recent purchases, recent appraisals, or existing customers reopening a line, but found no universal maximum [11]. Industry sources cited by one platform indicate most bank HELOCs with AVM approval cap at $250,000–$400,000, though Achieve's policy is not disclosed [20].

Closing fee ranges conflict. Achieve's calculator page shows closing fees of approximately $750 to $10,304 depending on line amount and state law [14]. A separate review cites $750 to $6,685 [19]. One source references no closing costs on lines of $25,000 or more [29], which contradicts the detailed fee schedules. This conflict is unresolved in the supplied evidence.

Origination fee ceiling. Achieve's disclosures list an origination fee of up to 3.5% where permitted by state law [14]. One independent review states it can run up to 4.0% depending on the state [16].

Funding speed. Advertised timelines range from five days [6] to seven days [5] to 10–12 business days [29], against a reported 2025 average of 11 business days [14]. The fastest advertised figure should not be treated as typical.

APR baseline. Achieve's calculator page shows a fixed APR range of approximately 5.75% to 15.17% [14]. Achieve's press page cites APRs as low as 5.5% [5]. One platform notes a 6.24% starting APR cited in some sources (Claude). Actual pricing is assigned by underwriting.

State count. Sources state 31 states as of June 2026 [26], but the specific list is not provided in the available documentation.

Kimi's uncertainty. Kimi rated Achieve "uncertain," finding that Achieve's marketing mentions "no appraisal in some cases" without mechanism or eligibility details, and that no independent sources reviewed confirmed or contradicted Achieve's appraisal waiver practices [4].

Mortgage features for this borrowing need

Questions explored

  • What features does the Achieve Fixed-Rate HELOC offer a homeowner who wants to avoid an appraisal?
  • Does Achieve charge a fee for the automated valuation model used on a HELOC?

Valuation method. Achieve uses automated valuation models in place of in-person appraisals in most cases, at no cost to the applicant [6]. Achieve emphasizes that no-appraisal usually means no traditional in-person appraisal, not no valuation at all [11]. One industry source cited by a platform reports modern AVMs generate estimates within roughly ±5% of actual value [25].

Line size. Publicly shown line amounts are $15,000 to $700,000 [6]. The $15,000 minimum is described as on the low side of average [17].

Speed. Achieve advertises a decision in minutes and funding as fast as five days once approved [6], with a reported 2025 average of 11 business days including rescission [14]. Independent reviews report 10–12 business days [29].

Structure. Five-year draw period followed by a no-draw repayment period; 10-, 15-, 20-, or 30-year terms [6]. No prepayment penalty for the life of the HELOC [5]. Home is pledged as collateral [14].

Draw mechanics. One independent review states Achieve requires the full line amount to be drawn upfront, after which the borrower can pay down and reborrow up to the limit during the five-year draw period — meaning interest accrues on the full line from day one [19]. Another source describes a 10-year draw period [29], which conflicts with the five-year figure.

Eligibility. Owner-occupied property required; CLTV limits generally 75% to 90% based on credit score and property type; minimum 600 credit score with some terms requiring higher [14]. Up to 90% LTV and 50% maximum DTI as of June 2026 [26]. Product unavailable in all states [9].

Customer ratings. One review cites a 4.8 TrustPilot score based on more than 12,000 ratings as of February 2026 [19].

Rates, fees, and ongoing costs

Questions explored

  • How much does an Achieve HELOC cost in closing fees and origination charges?
  • Are there cancellation or prepayment fees on the Achieve Fixed-Rate HELOC?

Pricing is state-dependent and assigned by underwriting, so no single figure applies to every borrower.

Cost itemSupplied rangeSource
Fixed APR
~5.75%–15.17% (calculator page); as low as 5.5% (press page)
Closing fees
~$750–$10,304 (calculator page); $750–$6,685 (review)
Origination fee
Up to 3.5% where permitted; up to 4.0% per one review
Underwriting fee
$725 where permitted
AVM fee
$0
Prepayment penalty
None stated

One source states there are no closing costs on lines of $25,000 or more [29], directly contradicting the $750–$10,304 and $750–$6,685 ranges. This conflict requires direct confirmation from Achieve.

Property insurance is required, and flood insurance may be required depending on location [14]. Terms, fees, and state availability may change and require confirmation before signing [9]. The lowest advertised rates require strong conditions such as high FICO, low DTI, low CLTV, qualifying loan size, and autopay; autopay-related discounts may be removed if conditions are not maintained (ChatGPT).

Best Suited For

Questions explored

  • Who is the Achieve Fixed-Rate HELOC best suited for among homeowners avoiding appraisals?
  • Is Achieve a good fit for a homeowner with a 600 credit score who wants a fast HELOC?

Achieve is best suited for owner-occupied homeowners who want a fixed-rate home-equity line and want to avoid an in-person appraisal (ChatGPT). It fits borrowers needing $15,000 to $700,000 who meet Achieve's credit, DTI, CLTV, property, and state requirements (ChatGPT). It also fits applicants who value online processing, a stated decision in minutes, and potentially fast funding (ChatGPT).

Platforms specifically flagged fair-credit borrowers as a fit: Achieve accepts a minimum 600 credit score, which one platform notes is lower than many traditional HELOC lenders [23]. Borrowers planning medium-to-long-term HELOC use where high closing fees can be amortized over sustained borrowing were also named as a fit (Claude). Homeowners in the 31 served states seeking fast funding without traditional appraisals round out the list [26].

Probably Not Best Suited For

Questions explored

  • Who should not choose Achieve for a no-appraisal HELOC?
  • Is Achieve a poor fit for a homeowner who wants a traditional variable-rate revolving HELOC?

Achieve is probably not best for borrowers seeking the lowest total cost rather than appraisal avoidance (ChatGPT). It is also a poor fit for homeowners wanting a traditional variable-rate HELOC with maximum revolving flexibility (ChatGPT), and for investment-property owners, applicants outside Achieve's available states, or properties an AVM may undervalue (ChatGPT).

Platforms also flagged: borrowers who need only a small line where fixed fees and percentage fees materially increase cost (ChatGPT); borrowers seeking zero closing costs or minimal upfront fees (Claude); those needing flexible draws over time without upfront interest charges on the full approved amount [19]; homeowners in rural or unique properties where AVMs may undervalue homes (Claude); and borrowers outside the 31 served states [26]. Kimi added that buyers requiring confirmed no-appraisal options with transparent AVM usage and line size limits should look elsewhere [4].

When Another Option May Be Better

Questions explored

  • What is a better alternative to Achieve for a homeowner who needs the fastest no-appraisal HELOC?
  • When should a buyer choose a credit union or local bank over Achieve for a no-appraisal HELOC?

A local bank or credit union may be better when it offers a lower APR, lower fees, or a genuine appraisal waiver after comparing total cost (ChatGPT). A conventional variable-rate HELOC may be better when the homeowner needs flexible repeated draws and potentially lower initial costs (ChatGPT). A full appraisal may be worth it when the property is unusual, recently renovated, an investment property, or likely to be undervalued by an AVM (ChatGPT).

Platforms named specific alternatives. Figure Lending was identified as using AVM technology exclusively and funding in as few as five business days with $0 appraisal cost [28]. Spring EQ was cited at 11 days with no full appraisal needed [20]. Credit unions and online lenders such as Alliant and Synergy One Lending were described as waiving closing costs entirely or charging $500–$1,500 total, versus Achieve's $750–$6,685 (Claude). Homeowners outside Achieve's 31 served states must seek alternatives; Figure, Spring EQ, LoanDepot, Bank of America, and U.S. Bank were named as offering no-appraisal HELOCs in more states (Claude). Borrowers with exceptional credit (740+) may find better rates from banks or credit unions (Claude).

Questions to ask before choosing a lender

Questions explored

  • What should a buyer confirm with Achieve before signing a HELOC contract?
  • How can a buyer verify whether their property qualifies for AVM-only valuation at Achieve?

The platforms converged on a similar verification list. Buyers should confirm:

  • Whether the application will receive AVM-only valuation, or whether Achieve can require a desktop, drive-by, or full appraisal later [11].
  • The maximum line amount available without a traditional appraisal for the specific property type, state, CLTV, and requested amount [11].
  • The AVM's assigned home value and whether it can be challenged or supplemented with comparable sales or an independent appraisal (ChatGPT, Claude).
  • Exact APR, origination fee, underwriting fee, title or recording fees, and total cash-to-close (ChatGPT, Claude, Perplexity).
  • Whether lines of $25,000 or more qualify for zero closing costs as one source states, or whether the standard fee range always applies [29].
  • Whether the requirement to draw the full line at closing is non-negotiable or whether partial draws are available [19].
  • Which 31 states Achieve currently serves [26].
  • The realistic application-to-funding timeline including the federal rescission period (ChatGPT).
  • Whether the quoted APR assumes autopay enrollment and what happens if autopay is not used (Perplexity).
  • Whether the no-appraisal path applies to the fixed-rate HELOC as well as the standard HELOC (Perplexity).
  • The exact draw-period, repayment-period, minimum-draw, payment, and re-borrowing rules (ChatGPT).
  • Whether any fee or repayment obligation applies if the line is closed early or refinanced (ChatGPT, Claude).

The consensus assessment

Achieve earns a good — not automatic — fit rating for Skipping the appraisal process for faster, cheaper approval. Five of seven platforms named it during ranking, and five of seven rated it good or strong. The core value proposition is real: Achieve states it uses AVMs in most cases, charges no AVM fee, and advertises funding in as little as 5–12 business days, which directly addresses the buyer's goal of avoiding the $300–$600 cost and one-to-three-week delay of a traditional appraisal [27].

The limitations are equally real. Achieve does not publish a universal no-appraisal guarantee, a maximum line size tied to AVM-only underwriting, or a complete eligibility matrix [11]. Closing fees of $750–$10,304 can exceed the appraisal cost they avoid [14]. The product is available in only 31 states [26]. One independent review states the full line must be drawn at closing, meaning interest accrues on the entire amount from day one [19]. And Kimi rated the fit uncertain because Achieve's "no appraisal in some cases" language lacks mechanism or eligibility detail [4].

For homeowners in served states who value speed and payment predictability over cost minimization, and who plan to keep the line open long enough to amortize closing fees, Achieve merits serious consideration. For cost-focused borrowers, those outside served states, or those needing a guaranteed no-appraisal commitment in writing, alternatives such as Figure Lending, Spring EQ, or credit union no-cost HELOCs may be superior [28].

How This Review Was Produced

This review was produced from a structured research run dated 2026-09-29 covering seven AI platforms: OpenAI (gpt-5.6-luna), Anthropic (claude-haiku-4-5-20251001), Google (gemini-3.5-flash), Grok (x-ai/grok-4.3), Kimi (moonshotai/kimi-k2.6), Perplexity (perplexity/sonar), and DeepSeek (deepseek-v4-flash). Each platform was asked which providers it would recommend for a homeowner who wants to open a HELOC while avoiding the cost and multi-week delay of a traditional in-person appraisal, what the largest line size is that can be approved without a full appraisal, and what eligibility restrictions come with that convenience.

Five of the seven platforms named Achieve during ranking discovery. All seven evaluated Achieve's fit. Rankings, fit ratings, pricing, and limitations were extracted from the platform responses and normalized into the tables and sections above. No personal testing, customer interviews, or independent verification of Achieve's claims was performed.

Research limitations

Several limitations apply to this review.

Company-owned sources dominate. Of the 30 deduplicated citations, 15 are company-owned, 11 are of unclear ownership, and 4 are independent. Achieve's own pages supply most of the appraisal-avoidance, fee, and timeline claims. These are company claims, not independently verified facts.

Platform research dates differ from the run date. DeepSeek's response is dated 2026-01-10, while the authoritative run research date is 2026-09-29. DeepSeek also ran with search disabled. Its findings may not reflect current Achieve terms.

No platform published a definitive AVM threshold. Achieve does not disclose the credit score, equity, DTI, or loan-size thresholds that determine AVM versus traditional appraisal eligibility. Industry standards cited by one platform suggest AVM approval caps at $250,000–$400,000, but this is not confirmed for Achieve [20].

Pricing conflicts remain unresolved. Closing fee ranges, origination fee ceilings, APR baselines, draw-period length, and state counts differ across sources. This review reports the conflicts rather than resolving them.

URLs were not independently validated. The supplied URLs were collected from platform responses and were not independently validated by the writer stage.

Agreement does not prove quality. That multiple AI platforms named Achieve does not establish that Achieve is the best or cheapest option. It reflects what those platforms surfaced from the sources they retrieved.

No-search claims require verification. DeepSeek's output was produced without search enabled and should be treated as platform-reported rather than current fact.

Explore more home equity loan and heloc lenders guidance in the category directory.

Sources

Company-Owned Sources

  1. Achieve: Personal finance products for your financial future: https://www.achieve.com/
  2. Home Equity Line of Credit (HELOC: https://www.achieve.com/heloc
  3. Achieve Help Center – Home Equity and Appraisal: https://www.achieve.com/help
  4. Achieve Home Equity Products: https://www.achieve.com/home-equity
  5. HOME LOANS: Home Equity Loans & HELOC (Apply FREE) | Achieve: https://www.achieve.com/l/home-equity-loan-icb
  6. Home Equity Line of Credit Payment Calculator: https://www.achieve.com/tools/heloc-payment-calculator

Independent Sources

  1. Achieve Loans: 2026 Home Equity Review: https://www.bankrate.com/home-equity/reviews/achieve-loans/
  2. Best No-Appraisal Home Equity Loans and HELOCs (2026: https://www.finder.com/home-equity/best-no-appraisal-home-equity-loans-helocs

Other Sources

  1. Achieve HELOCs 2026 Review: Affordable Fixed-Rate Option Open to Fair-Credit Borrowers - LendEDU: https://lendedu.com/blog/achieve-heloc-review/
  2. Best HELOC Lenders with No Appraisal Required 2026: https://mortgage-info.com/blog/best-heloc-lenders-no-appraisal-required-2026
  3. No-Appraisal HELOCs | Appraisal Process 2026: https://themortgagereports.com/97647/heloc-appraisal-requirements
  4. How AVMs Can Supercharge Your HELOC and Second Mortgage Growth Strategy: https://www.certifiedcredit.com/how-avms-can-supercharge-your-heloc-and-second-mortgage-growth-strategy/
  5. Achieve expands fixed-rate HELOC with $700,000 cap: https://www.housingwire.com/articles/achieve-fixed-rate-heloc/
  6. Home Equity Loan Without Appraisal: Everything Homeowners Need to Know in 2026 | Opendoor: https://www.opendoor.com/articles/home-equity-loan-without-appraisal
  7. Achieve vs New American Funding: In-Depth HELOC: https://www.supermoney.com/achieve-vs-new-american-funding-heloc

TRANSPARENCY BY DESIGN

The evidence behind this study

Research is a dated snapshot of AI recommendations and their supporting sources. Use the original evidence and methodology to understand what these findings can—and cannot—tell you.

Independent source records
4
Provider-owned source records
15
Direct support records
15

AI platforms in the study

ChatGPTClaudeDeepSeekGrokPerplexityKimiGemini

Study limitations

  • The study date identifies this research snapshot; dates reported by AI platforms do not independently establish source freshness.
  • Recommendation counts measure mentions during the ranking stage. Later fit assessments do not increase those counts.
  • Product names, costs, and features can differ across sources. Confirm conflicting details directly with the provider.
  • Source URLs came from AI platform responses and were not independently validated during report preparation.
  • Company-owned citations materially outnumber independent citations; do not describe company claims as independently verified.
  • Some dates reported by AI platforms differ from the study date. Those dates do not independently establish that the information is current.

Affiliate & commercial disclosure

We may receive compensation when you follow certain links, request mortgage quotes, or take another qualifying action through a commercial partner. These relationships create a potential financial conflict, but do not influence recorded AI recommendations or ranking calculations. Partner availability, rates, fees, and eligibility can vary.

Read the full Affiliate Disclosure for compensation, tracking, partner availability, and research independence details, or contact us with a disclosure question.

Verify the source snapshot

SHA-256: 69dbf91960ba54e6bb3a51fb764784241699aa2ebbb78c680f019c82ad7e460c